National Life Group Intern Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Intern

National Life Group Intern Reviews

Updated Oct 2, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
National Life Group CEO Mehran Assadi
Mehran Assadi
17 Ratings
  1. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern in Montpelier, VT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at National Life Group for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing culture. Lots of stuff to do. If you want more there is always more to job for you.

    Cons

    Every company isn't perfect. They all have small things to improve.

    National Life Group2019-10-02
  2. "Awesome Internship Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Strategy Intern in Montpelier, VT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at National Life Group for less than a year

    Pros

    The employee culture at National Life is second to none. As an intern, I felt like I was an integral part of the team from the day I got here. The internship program is excellent. I was able to get exposed to several different aspects of the company. The collaborative work environment is very empowering. National Life sets their employees up to succeed in the moment, and down the road.

    Cons

    I don't have many bad things to say aside from the fact that I wish there was a more deliberate effort to educate interns on the life insurance and annuity products the company offers. Life insurance products are complex and I think it would be worthwhile for all interns to learn about what National Life offers.

    National Life Group2019-08-07
  3. "Great work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern in Montpelier, VT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at National Life Group for less than a year

    Pros

    The company cultures is great. There is something there for everyone. Senior leadership is willing to make time for you. NLG cares about their employees and customers.

    Cons

    There are none at the moment.

    Continue reading
    National Life Group2019-08-20
  4. "Excellent Culture and Organizational Communication"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern in Montpelier, VT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at National Life Group for less than a year

    Pros

    The Vermont campus is absolutely beautiful, especially in the summer months. The company makes it very clear that they care about the mental, and physical health of their employees. The VT campus has a full work out and yoga studio, as well as onsite physician care. The benefits of this company compare highly compared to other companies I have worked for or experienced. Working for this company is fun. Each department area has it differences, but I found it extremely easy to become acquainted with the organization, contact top-level or executive level management, and to connect work being done in one work area with another, thus increasing the collaboration of the company altogether.

    Cons

    Though the company is certainly growing, it is only so big, and there only so many positions you can move up into (depending on the area of work you are in). The Vermont campus location isn’t made for particularly everyone. Vermont is an exceptional state, but Montpelier is not a city by any means. If you are looking to live near attractions, events, venues, larger communities, etc. you would need to live anywhere between Burlington and Montpelier and make the somewhat long commute into Montpelier everyday. For some, this is not a commute they are willing to do (~45mins one way).

    National Life Group2019-01-29
  5. "They invest in their interns"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Actuarial Intern in Addison, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at National Life Group for less than a year

    Pros

    Positive culture Great office Decent structure for work

    Cons

    Occasional downtime Need to find work

    National Life Group2019-01-23
  6. Helpful (1)

    "National Life Group Internship Program"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern in Montpelier, VT
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at National Life Group for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing Culture Everyone is willing to answer questions Real learning environment Hire a lot of interns as long as they're high quality

    Cons

    More women should be represented in upper management

    National Life Group2018-08-14
  7. "Great company to introduce a college student to the working world!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern in Montpelier, VT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at National Life Group for more than a year

    Pros

    The company has a great office culture that makes everyone feel welcomed. The intern program was challenging, educational, but still fun. I got a lot of skills and experience that I don't think I would've gotten elsewhere.

    Cons

    They have limited office locations so you have to choose between Vermont or Texas. As a college graduate they have an excellent talent acquisition team and program that makes the company interesting to me, but I'd like to see a wider variety of entry level positions available.

    National Life Group2018-02-27
  8. "Intern Salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - IT Intern in Addison, TX

    I have been working at National Life Group for more than a year

    Pros

    Good People, Culture, and working enviorment.

    Cons

    Not very diversified, senior management is not very cooperative.

    Continue reading
    National Life Group2018-03-09
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great overall experience."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Intern in Montpelier, VT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at National Life Group for less than a year

    Pros

    Great overall experience. Very structured and meaningful internship program where interns work on real, crucial work. Plenty of scheduled development seminars. Did I mention the amazing culture.

    Cons

    For cons, there really aren’t any, for me at least. I can however point out that accommodation in the surrounding Montpelier is difficult to find, if you’re lucky to find it, it is expensive.

    Continue reading
    National Life Group2017-10-01
  10. "One-Of-A-Kind Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at National Life Group

    Pros

    -GREAT internship program to develop students in overall financial literacy, personal branding, and real-life work tasks -UNIQUE transparency within the organization from top-down -committed sense of COMMUNITY and FAMILY within teams, departments, floors, and across the entire company

    Cons

    -very Vermont centered and focused

    Continue reading
    National Life Group2017-08-04
Found 21 reviews