National Life Group Reviews | Glassdoor

National Life Group Reviews

Updated Aug 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 132 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
86%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
National Life Group CEO Mehran Assadi
Mehran Assadi
96 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great culture and people to work with(in 15 reviews)

  • "The Vermont campus is absolutely beautiful, especially in the summer months(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "The Vermont campus location isn’t made for particularly everyone(in 17 reviews)

  • "you would need to live anywhere between Burlington and Montpelier and make the somewhat long commute into(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "so far so good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Classification Specialist I in Montpelier, VT
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at National Life Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    friendly environment, professional atmosphere, clean campus

    Cons

    none yet- but I haven't been here long

    National Life Group2019-08-01
  2. "Is a great opportuniy to grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Advisor in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at National Life Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Hepping people with 403B and Life insurance

    Cons

    is a 100% commission base salary

    National Life Group2019-07-22
  3. "it was great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Operations Manager 

    I worked at National Life Group full-time

    Pros

    culture was great at this company

    Cons

    none I really enjoyed working with National Life

    National Life Group2019-07-29
  4. "Great Overall Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at National Life Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    great Culture overall. People are really friendly and want to work

    Cons

    Not a lot of growth after customer service

    Advice to Management

    Hire and believe within the company

    National Life Group2019-07-25
  5. "“A lot of platitudes with virtually no substance.""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at National Life Group

    Pros

    There truly are none that have any lasting impact

    Cons

    Culture of lies with no conscience — lies are the norm

    Advice to Management

    Pull the fake book that literally is simply a rewrite of another book from a few years ago

    National Life Group2019-08-11
  6. Helpful (2)

    "All Talk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at National Life Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There are some amazing and kind people that work here.

    Cons

    Pay is not competitive. No path for growth.

    National Life Group2019-06-21
  7. "Great Culture + Great People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Reinsurance Administrator in Montpelier, VT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at National Life Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Co-workers are very easy to work with and always willing to help. The culture of the company is amazing and I love coming to work every day.

    Cons

    I would have to say dealing with the harsh winters of Vermont, but otherwise my experience has been great.

    Advice to Management

    Continue with improving the culture and making coming to work fun every day.

    National Life Group2019-06-08
  8. "Wonderful Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Montpelier, VT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at National Life Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Leadership, Driven, We have a cause, Development

    Cons

    As everywhere there is at time IT issues.

    National Life Group2019-05-30
  9. "Great Benefits!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Montpelier, VT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at National Life Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great culture to work in, constantly letting you improve yourself with classes in house, and tuition reimbursement.

    Cons

    Unfortunately I left because a change in management - I wouldn't hold it against NLG, these things happen.

    Advice to Management

    I have heard several people including Mehran the CEO himself say.... "people do quit jobs, they quit managers." They should audit some of them.

    National Life Group2019-06-11
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Don't waste your time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Underwriter in Burlington, VT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at National Life Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots to keep you busy

    Cons

    Sweatshop , harrassing director, values production over employees yearly scheduled vacation time

    Advice to Management

    Send anonymous surveys to underwriters to determine director bullying behavior tactics. Fact check resume!

    National Life Group2019-06-21
Found 132 reviews