National Life Group Reviews | Glassdoor

National Life Group Reviews

Updated Oct 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
87%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
National Life Group CEO Mehran Assadi
Mehran Assadi
96 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "It doesn't make sense to pay you."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at National Life Group full-time

    Pros

    HQ people seemed genuine and helpful whenever I asked for their assistance. Thoroughly enjoyed the city view. Great office location. Occasional free lunches. There were a couple times the company bought entire staffs a dinner. Interesting products. Learned a great deal about the life insurance industry and products that I can potentially utilize for financial planning for the future.

    Cons

    Although I had some pretty good benefits like ones listed on Pros, ultimately this company turned out to be the worst company I have worked for. For the first couple months, I wasn't paid at all and the company didn't provide me with employment contract. Training hours were also not paid. When I asked the company to get paid, I was literally told "It doesn't make sense to pay you." When I heard this, I was... appalled and felt threatened. In the end, I had to file a wage claim with a labor department to win the wage claim settlement. Also, during the company training I was shocked to learn from my trainers that Asians were exempt from taking a test that was required for certain job positions in the office, due to "cultural" reasons. I hate to say this, but this really sounded like a racial discrimination and serious that I actually contacted the top management team for further investigation on this matter. Other than that, this was the first company ever to reprimand me for taking notes, asking questions, and being too American. The office I worked at had a Korean-style rigid hierarchical corporate culture. I can't speak what the office culture is like for other offices.

    Show More
    National Life Group2018-08-17
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Team Manager in Montpelier, VT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at National Life Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible, everyone is very friendly and personable regardless of role (entry level to executive).

    Cons

    Not enough data, standard work, or attention on analytics. Seem to be working on it but slow moving and behind industry norms.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to be approachable and flexible but in a way that doesn’t impact business results negatively. There is such a thing as being too flexible.

    National Life Group2018-07-23
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. Helpful (2)

    "More than a company, a cause"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Montpelier, VT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at National Life Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    We understand the impact of what we do, and management empowers us to make it happen.

    Cons

    Small scale can be seen as an inhibitor, but it can also be a great driver.

    Advice to Management

    Make sure all levels of management get the big picture and live Servant Leadership. And keep evolving, not just growing.

    National Life Group2018-06-04
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Management in Montpelier, VT

    I worked at National Life Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Friendly employee base and somewhat of a family feel

    Cons

    Little structure and execution

    Advice to Management

    Be transparent

    National Life Group2018-06-17
  6. Helpful (1)

    "National Life Group: ESI"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Montpelier, VT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at National Life Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Small firm with a family Vibe, Career growth opportunities, Great work life balance

    Cons

    Overshadowed by insurance business, lack of young talent retention

    Advice to Management

    Be more aggressive

    National Life Group2018-05-01
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Lack of Guidance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Annuity Specialist in Addison, TX

    I worked at National Life Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Family oriented, Great benefits, very chill work atmosphere, nice people, flexible work hours, a lot of food venues in the area.

    Cons

    Every other week you had a new Manger, over seer, or some sort of supervisor.. which all had different expectations. .. poor training. Constant drama.

    Advice to Management

    Take the time to listen to your employees, they aren’t just complaining.

    National Life Group2018-03-05
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at National Life Group

    Pros

    Impressive amount of freedom and autonomy. Oodles of opportunity to contribute real value to the growth of a very good company.

    Cons

    I think we suffer from “form over substance syndrome” at times. A flashy PowerPoint deck can win the day over one’s ability to actually drive results.

    Advice to Management

    Become a learning organization. Encourage experimentation not in words, but actions. Learn from our mistakes and reward those who put those learnings to good use.

    National Life Group2018-02-26
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Operations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Addison, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at National Life Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great culture, great vision, great people. I love this company.

    Cons

    Some systems are antiquated. Makes work more difficult than it needs to be.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to walk the walk.

    National Life Group2018-02-11
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Financial Services Professional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at National Life Group part-time

    Pros

    You get an opportunity to earn your own clients and keep them as your clients. the commission from this company is going to be higher than other companies most reps start out with. For selling life insurance for example, you may get 70% commission. Usually starting at a company, you get 50% of the commission. Plus with this company, you keep your own clients. They're yours.

    Cons

    Not high in skill-sets and professionalism. If you want someone to mentor you, this is not it. If you want someone that you want to learn from, this is not it. It's right if you want to just work independently without any assistance. This is good for seasoned representative.

    National Life Group2018-01-05
  11. Helpful (3)

    "Customer Service Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at National Life Group for less than a year

    Pros

    They are very welcoming when you first begin

    Cons

    Little support in training, they'll let you go if you aren't progressing. Won't give you the help you ask for when you need it

    Advice to Management

    Keep your word and help your employees

    National Life Group2017-12-13
Found 134 reviews