National Life Group Reviews | Glassdoor

National Life Group Reviews

Updated Oct 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
87%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
National Life Group CEO Mehran Assadi
Mehran Assadi
96 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Good place to start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Services Representative in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at National Life Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very friendly workplace culture, good place to start a career in financial services.

    Cons

    Not much guidance and training for new hires. Essentially on your own to figure out how to close cases.

    Advice to Management

    Offer a more structured training program to help new hires keep afloat

    National Life Group2017-12-10
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Currently working here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Front Desk Manager in Sunrise, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at National Life Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great company with great benefits... Paid vacation, everyone is super nice. A pleasure to work with.

    Cons

    There are no cons for this company.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing!

    National Life Group2017-11-27
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Outstanding Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at National Life Group full-time

    Pros

    National Life Group lives its values everyday, from offering 40 hours of paid volunteer time to every employee, to hosting the Do Good Fest, a music festival that benefits National Life's own cancer foundation at Central Vermont Medical Center to the charitable donation match.

    Cons

    I don't feel like salaries are all that competitive, especially given Vermont's high cost of living.

    National Life Group2017-11-24
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at National Life Group full-time

    Pros

    The culture of National Life group is genuine - where people are truly committed to living the values and creating a positive and healthy employee experience. Very impressed with the high caliber of talent in the company.

    Cons

    Limited office locations- Vermont and Texas.

    Advice to Management

    Thank you for investing in the creation of a culture team - made up of volunteers from across the company to carry the culture to every colleague in our company- with a mission of 1,000+ delighted employees.

    National Life Group2017-10-31
  5. "Contracting Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Contract Specialist in Montpelier, VT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at National Life Group full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Excellent place to work with great benefits. NLG also cares about the surrounding communities they operate out of and support worthy causes within those communnities.

    Cons

    There are no cons to working at NLG - it is a great place with great people and great values.

    Advice to Management

    My only advice to management is continue to promote within your teams and continue to work with your employees to allow them to work from home.

    National Life Group2017-11-07
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great overall experience."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Intern in Montpelier, VT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at National Life Group for less than a year

    Pros

    Great overall experience. Very structured and meaningful internship program where interns work on real, crucial work. Plenty of scheduled development seminars. Did I mention the amazing culture.

    Cons

    For cons, there really aren’t any, for me at least. I can however point out that accommodation in the surrounding Montpelier is difficult to find, if you’re lucky to find it, it is expensive.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work

    National Life Group2017-10-01
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing in Montpelier, VT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at National Life Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People are amazing, pay is pretty good for starting out, lots of activities to do with the company

    Cons

    Didn't necessarily learn much about Life Insurance Industry

    Advice to Management

    None that I can think of

    National Life Group2017-09-20
  8. "Executive Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Montpelier, VT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at National Life Group full-time

    Pros

    Great culture with hard-working employees where everyone acts as an owner.

    Cons

    None at this time, thank you.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to break down silos, cross-team, focus on partnership vs patriarchy by continuing to distribute ownership and accountability

    National Life Group2017-09-11
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent culture and great CEO."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Financial Analyst in Essex, VT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at National Life Group full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Culture, CEO, and people. The work life balance is good and the CEO leads by example. The people make the company great

    Cons

    Salaries and promotions seem to lag a little. Lots of opportunity though. Lots of reorg change over the past few years, but likely for the better.

    National Life Group2017-09-18
  10. Helpful (5)

    "IT Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Systems Engineer in Montpelier, VT
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at National Life Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Great company that seems to really care about it's employees and community - Fair salary and average benefits - Rapidly growing organization

    Cons

    - Health benefits are not on par with other companies. Employees have to pay the first $4K out of pocket. - Work from home is frowned upon except when senior leaders work from home - Mistakes are generally not forgiven and follow people between roles and departments. There's lots of examples there.

    Advice to Management

    - Stop managing by fear and intimidation. The people I worked with were overloaded, stressed and terrified to make a mistake. People have been fired on the spot for making one mistake. - The lack of major employers in Vermont should not be a retention technique. - Leaders that follow National Life's so called "servant leader" culture should not be chastising people in public or talking behind their backs. -... Your experience will really depend on what department you work in. I didn't leave the company, I left the leader. It's too bad because National Life is actually a good company.

    Show More
    National Life Group2017-09-08
Found 134 reviews