National MI Reviews

Updated Apr 30, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.2
86%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
National MI Chief Executive Officer Claudia Merkle (no image)
Claudia Merkle
5 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Excellent Company

    Apr 30, 2021 - Senior Underwriter in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great management, great team building, relax work environment

    Cons

    Compensation is not competitive enough in the current market

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Great company

    Feb 11, 2021 - Account Manager in Portland, OR
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    My experience working at National MI has been very positive. I'm found the comp to be generous, the culture positive and the career development opportunities significant.

    Cons

    Normal pain points of working for a swiftly growing and changing company

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    National Mi

    Feb 16, 2021 - Account Manager in Seattle, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This company pays very well.

    Cons

    Growing fast and there are a lot of changes.... Longevity is no longer true for this position.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    The concept of "culture" is just window dressing

    Mar 4, 2019 - Analyst in Emeryville, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Looks great on paper! People seem to care & can even be very nice when you first get there. But if you need something from your leadership like training, help, guidance or what to advance... Watch out... You just made an enemy of your supervisor & they will throw you under the bus first chance they get... There's your real culture...

    Cons

    Executive team is very disconnected from the reality of what the real culture is in the departments (trenches) and what they envision they have created. Everyone with a director title or higher is really just a "yes man" (or woman) that shields the challenges they face with their staff from upper management & honestly just looks out for them selves. There is no real care, direction, or concern of what happens to any of their subordinates, as long as they look good. So the real culture is "Every man for themselves" & "Do what ever it takes to look good & take credit, no matter what..." And yet somehow the executive team is duped into believing all is good? "The great SVP con"

    Continue reading
    9 people found this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great company to work for

    May 11, 2020 - Developer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good perks, food, good salary package, plenty PTOs.

    Cons

    None as of now and i hope they keep doing great work.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Great Organization

    Dec 14, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great income, bonus plan, equity and benefits!

    Cons

    Expensive area to work from the corporate office, but plenty of opportunity as a remote employee

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Love the Community

    Dec 2, 2019 - Operations 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Friendly place to work. Great team work. The company stays competitive with other companies for their employee benefits.

    Cons

    Not much room for promotion.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Salesforce Architect

    Sep 6, 2018 - Salesforce Architect in Emeryville, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    my hiring manager was great, but they let him go 2 weeks into my tenure. free parking, manager offices have nice views (but the cubes dont get to see sunlight).

    Cons

    This is a warning to those who care: NMI is the least innovative company I have ever seen. There is no passion. Too vertical; too many managers and nobody knows what they are doing. Values are backwards and there is no governance. Changing roles, managers, staff every few weeks. People get hired for job A, but end up doing something else. Only interested in hype like stock gets added to an index (while the building is on fire). They are so far down the wrong path technologically that nobody can save them. Which is fine for them because NMI is built to collapse when the next recession hits. How do I know this? Because thats how they collapsed last time. In 2008 PMI went bankrupt. But the executives were OK, they just formed NMI a couple years later and kept going. They are lying through their teeth when they say they are innovative. Ask how many employees have been there longer than 5yrs, and watch the body language in the response.

    Continue reading
    8 people found this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    A great culture in most departments

    Oct 4, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fast-paced, challenging work. Culture is respectful and camaraderie and teamwork is encouraged. Most of management make an effort to keep employees happy.

    Cons

    It's a small company so growth opportunities are limited. Not all of leadership appears to embrace the culture - some departments seem pretty unhappy.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Small company that is BIG on Teamwork and Communication

    Oct 7, 2015 - Anonymous Employee in Emeryville, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I really enjoyed my interview process--took about a month from start to finish and I met some great people on my team and other teams I'd be working with. I've already moved up in my job and I haven't been with the company 3 years yet. Fast paced and innovative work environment which is unusual in financial services companies-SO GLAD there is not too much red tape involved to get things done and different departments really try to help each other really quickly. The Emeryville office is one of the most beautiful settings I have ever seen and the Buena Vista meeting room where we have lunch and meetings, with its ocean views, is breathtaking. Enjoy the fitness facilities and MANY employee meetings with lots of company updates and other info from CEO & execs. The leadership team is great and there are also fun employees and fun employee events.

    Cons

    Seems like lots of change and lots of projects happening really quickly so some days it's hard to keep up.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 25 Reviews

Popular Careers with National MI Job Seekers

Human Resources Business Partner
Learn About the Job
JobsSalariesInterviews
Information Security Manager
Learn About the Job

Work at National MI? Share Your Experiences

National MI logo
or