National Mortgage Field Services Reviews | Glassdoor

National Mortgage Field Services Reviews

Updated Aug 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 20 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
63%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
National Mortgage Field Services CEO Michael Evangelo (no image)
Michael Evangelo
13 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great people to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at National Mortgage Field Services

    Pros

    I enjoyed the flexibility of the schedule. And, after several years in a confined cubicle I loved working on the road. They were always so kind when answering my questions. I didn't get to stay long due to family needs. But I loved my short time with them.

    Cons

    No cons. Everything you need to know is spelled out in advance in emails and reviews of the company. There are no surprises. Everyone I had contact with via phone or email was very kind.

    National Mortgage Field Services2017-09-10
  2. "Great Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at National Mortgage Field Services

    Pros

    Interaction with CEO, very helpful

    Cons

    Low pay and wear and tear on your personal vehicle

    National Mortgage Field Services2017-02-25
  3. "Ok place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Independent Contractor 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at National Mortgage Field Services for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexibility in work hours Great communication Reasonable staff

    Cons

    Not to understand of emergencies Pay is low

    National Mortgage Field Services2015-05-30

    National Mortgage Field Services Response

    August 10, 2016CEO

    "Low Pay" is probably relevant to how much money you need to make. There are certainly low fee companies in this business, often paying as low as $3 to $4 per inspection. But then they provide their contractors with hundreds of jobs a week so that an inspector can complete 40 to 60 inspections a day. NMFS is known for being on the upper scale for paying higher fees. We pay higher fees because we want our contractors to spend about 5 to 10 minutes at each inspection so they can provide better inspection results before moving on to the next property. Nothing wrong with having other lower fee companies as your clients. Sometimes they will be right next door or just around the corner from one of our inspections.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (3)

    "contractor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Contractor in Lake Charles, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at National Mortgage Field Services full-time

    Pros

    I have been with the company for almost a year, on many occasions I have spoken with the owner of the company. he is very understanding and very compassionate to his employees or contractors I give him 5 stars because on many occasions he is been like one of closest friends

    Cons

    like in all businesses we have had a bumpy ride the only thing I can say that's negative about working for this company is the industry standard long hours and far off places.

    National Mortgage Field Services2015-04-10

    National Mortgage Field Services Response

    August 10, 2016CEO

    All of our inspectors are Independent Contractors meaning they are self employed and owners of their own business. Like many small businesses these days you have to work long hours to make it all work. This is not a 9 to 5 job that you clock into. When you you work for NMFS or any other Mortgage Field Services company like ours, we become your client, your customer. As a small business owner you do what you must to keep the business including long hours and doing what it takes to please your customers.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Independent Contractor in Clarksville, TN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at National Mortgage Field Services full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great work/life balance, make your own schedule, Work Independently from home. Being able to work for multiply companies or having another job.

    Cons

    Depending where you live might not be a lot of inspections. This type of work you are an independent contractor. You need to work for multiply companies if you don't want it to be part time.

    Continue reading
    National Mortgage Field Services2014-10-19
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Positive Experience, Engaged Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Field Inspector in New Orleans, LA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at National Mortgage Field Services for less than a year

    Pros

    CEO, Michael Evangelo is communicative and proactive concerning changes or concerns within the company. This is a refreshingly inclusive management approach to a contracted position. This job allows you to manage your own time and offers you the freedom to work independently. The Account Managers are supportive and responsive. If you are going accept a position as a Field Inspector. this company is the place to obtain a positive work experience.

    Cons

    As a field inspector you must be able to manage your, that time is constrained by varied due dates that you must be able to commit to. You will be budgeting your income to accommodate for taxes and work related expenses. The income can fluctuate on a weekly basis.

    Continue reading
    National Mortgage Field Services2014-05-22

    National Mortgage Field Services Response

    August 10, 2016CEO

    Our United States Congress passed a Bill a few years ago that gave mortgage companies 45 days to make contact with delinquent home owners. After such time without contact the banks and mortgage companies are required to send out an inspector to see if the property is occupied or vacant. Sometimes we leave a letter at the door for the homeowner to call their mortgage company. 45 days is basically the 15th day of the month. The week after the 15th is when our industry receives the most amount of inspections, probably around 70%. There are always inspections but some times of the month there are more than other times. There are busy times and slow times in this industry.

    Continue reading
  7. "Very detailed and organized"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Field Inspector in Oklahoma City, OK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at National Mortgage Field Services for less than a year

    Pros

    No 9-5 m-f job it's ever changing

    Cons

    Not always a lot of work

    Continue reading
    National Mortgage Field Services2014-05-23

    National Mortgage Field Services Response

    August 10, 2016CEO

    These are residential property inspections. In metro areas there is enough work to complete 40 to 50 inspections a day. In rural areas of the state there are fewer inspections because there are fewer houses. On average, at least for 2015-16, there is less that 4% of our nations mortgages that are more than 2 months behind. Those are the properties we take photos of. The volume of work depends on where you live as well as how many clients you have. It's up to you the contractor to sign on with as many other companies like ours as will have you.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Lots of driving, little money"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Field Representative in Woodward, OK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at National Mortgage Field Services for less than a year

    Pros

    flexibility, you're on your own

    Cons

    No benefits, little money, potentially serious liabilities--entering abandoned properties, lawsuits, dealing with angry tenants and landowners, etc. They try to get you to travel great distances to do inspections for $10.

    Continue reading
    National Mortgage Field Services2013-10-03

    National Mortgage Field Services Response

    November 15, 2013CEO

    The reason there are no benefits is because this person was not an employee, they were an Independent Contractor. $10 per inspection is within a 10 mile radius and there are always more than one inspection. Neither our company or any of our contractors working for our company have ever had a law suit. We NEVER enter abandoned properties. That is why this rep is no longer working for our company.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (6)

    "The Ceo of NMFS is very unprofessional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Inspector in Leesville, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at National Mortgage Field Services part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I'm not sure yet! If I do get paid for the numerous inspections I have done so far I would say its a way to make some easy money for yourself. Especially if your physic and can predict where an address is.

    Cons

    You are really out there driving around in circles looking for different properties in different areas. Don't expect much help from your inspection manager if you can't find an address. They expect you to ask around or stop off at local businesses to find directions. When I looked for guidance the management tried to make me feel dumb. They also are not genuinely concerned with your issues. If you have poor work ethics and expectations then this is probably the job for you.

    National Mortgage Field Services2013-09-22

    National Mortgage Field Services Response

    November 15, 2013CEO

    We had to terminate the contract agreement with this person because he was continually past due in completing inspections. He did get paid as do all 1200 of our contractors, on-time, every time. We do expect our reps to continue our online training on how to locate and find properties. We pay for services that our reps can use to find the properties they are looking for online. This rep never took advantage of our training and therefore...was driving around in circles. NMFS has the utmost standards of ethics and pay higher fees than the national average for this line of work. Our company is strong and doubling in size every 3 months. We apologize if this rep was made to feel dumb. Our documented records show that we tried to teach him how to use the County Assessors as well as several other resources on how to locate properties. We actually say in our training NOT to stop at local businesses or even the Post Office for that matter. But rather to do it the smart way and use online resources so you do not waste your time and gas.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Very professional and quick to meet clients needs."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Property Inspector 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at National Mortgage Field Services for more than a year

    Pros

    Great staff support and very respectful..

    Cons

    Unpredictable scheduling of properties, may be unavoidable

    Continue reading
    National Mortgage Field Services2013-08-13

    National Mortgage Field Services Response

    November 15, 2013CEO

    The short lead time is based on who our client is. Our solution is to bring on-board clients who will give us longer turnaround times to complete inspections and drop those clients who do not give us a reasonable amount of time to accomplish our task.

    Continue reading
Found 20 reviews