KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

National Nurses United

Is this your company?

National Nurses United

Add a Review

National Nurses United Reviews

Updated Mar 18, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 46 of over 48 reviews

3.6
63%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
National Nurses United Co-President Deborah Burger  (no image)
Deborah Burger
23 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Good pay.(in 5 reviews)
  • "You get an amazing salary, per diem for meals, hotel stay is covered, rental car, etc.(in 4 reviews)
  • "The pay and benefits are also great.(in 4 reviews)
Cons
  • "Management constantly tells you that 'you are doing great' and 'its not about the numbers' but take that with a grain of salt because they do care.(in 4 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Greatest job I ever had

    Mar 18, 2022 - Union Labor Representative in Washington, DC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    We get paid to organize workers to fight back against oppression.

    Cons

    It is very hard work.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Good Principles. Good Pay. Workload is heavy

    Dec 21, 2021 - Union Labor Representative 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You get to work for an organization with great morals and principles. You have meaning in your work. There can be a sense of fulfillment doing the work.

    Cons

    Workload is heavy. At times, unmanageable. You need tough skin.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Changes

    Aug 16, 2021 - Organizing Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Used to be a real fighting union, but all of the leadership with union bona fides have left. Now they struggle and the infighting between the various divisions is vicious. Money is really good, the benefits are excellent. Some of the directors are terrific.

    Cons

    Office politics are rough and the mindset is cultish. You're either with them or the enemy. There is no debate on anything, so just take your marching orders and do as youre told.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Senior

    Mar 9, 2021 - Organizer in San Diego, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Pay and time off was excellent

    Cons

    Work from home can be very stressful

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Challenging but rewarding

    Aug 1, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in Oakland, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    A job you can believe in. One of the most militant and successful unions in the country. Extremely rewarding. Good pay.

    Cons

    Can be high pressure and exhausting at times. Regularly long hours and never really off the clock. Be prepared to sacrifice for the work.

    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    HORRIBLE

    Feb 10, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in Oakland, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Decent pay and free on-site parking in Oakland

    Cons

    Hmmm interesting that eleven 5 star reviews were posted in the month of October. Do yourself a favor and click through and read the actual reviews left by employees over the years. Management constantly denies work-life balance. They advocate for nurses well being and rights, while ignoring their staff's concerns. The internal politics are distracting from the real work that needs to be done. Over-involved upper management leaves people walking on egg shells and unable to make decisions without being worried of repercussions. Lastly, there is a better use of members dues than sending the executive board to a fancy resort with steak and lobster for a "meeting".

    Continue reading
    8 people found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Challenging but most importantly Rewarding

    Nov 11, 2019 - Labor Representative in San Diego, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    One of the most important aspects of a good work life for me is having great coworkers. I work with an amazing team of labor representatives who help each other and are supportive of one another. As I’m gaining more experience in navigating through a tumultuous time in the labor movement, my lead and director have given me guidance and support. I feel like my work as well as my voice is respected and that has helped the quality in my work. Additionally, the new Executive Director, who is an RN, is taking the organization towards a more inclusive path which I appreciate.

    Cons

    While I do work with amazing people that I highly regard, the work is naturally challenging. It is a rollercoaster of experiences when being a labor rep because of the anti union environment that we are all in. However, if you’re up for a challenge, can maintain a good work life balance, and want to work with amazing people this is the place for you!

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Professional, radical, supportive

    Oct 22, 2019 - Labor Representative in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I've worked for several different unions and CNA has provided me with the best experience by far. I've been here one year and have always felt supported and that my contribution is valued. I believe in our mission and see that CNA is a nurse-driven union that puts the movement first. I feel fortunate to work here every day.

    Cons

    As with any union job, the travel and irregular hours can be challenging

    3 people found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    I feel valued and respected

    Oct 23, 2019 - Organizer in Tampa, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    National Nurses United really values all staff members. I am a father and the leadership of the union is very supportive when It comes to taking time off to be with the kids. I was most surprised when I started working here how much freedom I have to do my work. I never felt like I am being micromanaged. The leadership has trust in the staff to be able to get the work done. Whenever I need help I have always gotten the support that I need. I like that National Nurses United is a large organization so there is the ability to relocate to a number of states if I wanted to. Another perk of working for a large organization is the ability to transfer to a different position to learn new skill sets.

    Cons

    I can not think of any.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    I feel lucky to work here!

    Oct 21, 2019 - Labor Representative in Oakland, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Nurses are the best people to represent. They are smart, hard working, and no nonsense. There's a reason why they are the most trusted professionals every year. I never have to worry if I'm in the wrong side of issues, which is not always the case in every union. My division is diverse and full of amazing staff who cares about everything that human beings should and have the talent and smarts to get things done! I always feel like my superiors want me to succeed. Reading some of the more negative reviews, it makes me think that it's a completely different organization than the one I see every day. If you are considering a job at CNA/NNU, know that you will be valued, you will learn a lot, and you will have one of the most rewarding work you'll ever have.

    Cons

    Really none so far.

    3 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 46 Reviews

National Nurses United Reviews FAQs

National Nurses United has an overall rating of 3.6 out of 5, based on over 48 reviews left anonymously by employees. 63% of employees would recommend working at National Nurses United to a friend and 68% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -9% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, National Nurses United employees rate their compensation and benefits as 4.4 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at National Nurses United. This rating has decreased by -5% over the last 12 months.

63% of National Nurses United employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated National Nurses United 3.0 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.7 for culture and values and 3.6 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at National Nurses United to be coworkers, benefits, compensation and the cons to be management, diversity and inclusion, senior leadership.

Work at National Nurses United? Share Your Experiences

National Nurses United logo
or

Reviews by Job Title

National Nurses United Photos

+ Add Photo
National Nurses United photo of: convention

Have you worked here?

See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

National Nurses United Job Seekers Also Viewed

Sharp HealthCare Logo
Sharp HealthCare

4.1

1,142 Reviews
Compare