National Oilwell Varco "oil and gas" Reviews | Glassdoor

National Oilwell Varco Employee Reviews about "oil and gas"

Updated Jan 14, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
69%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
National Oilwell Varco President and Chief Executive Officer Clay C. Williams (no image)
Clay C. Williams
585 Ratings
Pros
  • "lots of good benefits, world wide company, able to learn new things and progress(in 116 reviews)

  • "Big company, great benefits, learn a lot, nice colleagues(in 106 reviews)

Cons
  • "Must start investing in renewable energy as the oil and gas industry goes opposite the sustainable world we want to build(in 61 reviews)

  • "Certain positions are prone to layoffs during the downturn in the industry(in 48 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "oil and gas"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Wonderful Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at National Oilwell Varco full-time

    Pros

    Emphasis on teamwork and very progressive.

    Cons

    Ups and downs of a business impacted by Oil and Gas industry.

    National Oilwell Varco2017-11-02
  2. "Good company to work for if you know someone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accountant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at National Oilwell Varco full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I started my career at this company with high hopes- fellow employees were great to work with, culture amazing and ability to move within the company fairly easy. Healthcare was amazing when i first started too. Even got several raises too.

    Cons

    It is impossible to move up at NOV unless you know someone or are related to someone. Or are willing to wait 10 15 years for your turn. Also, certain upper management are known to be horrible people and are given a free pass because they get the job done. Pay is much lower than other oil and gas companies for majority of employees and as a consequence many departments have issues remaining staffed (management also makes it a practice to understaff to save money). This means that more likely than not you will be underpaid and overworked. Depending on the location, this may or may not be coupled with either incompetent management or mean horrible bosses. You might get lucky and have a good boss though.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Uphold standards for all your employees not just those at the bottom; pay people fairly and provide a clear path forward. Make people want to stay.

    National Oilwell Varco2019-11-17
  3. "Depends on who you work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Representative in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at National Oilwell Varco full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent culture (some team outings, birthday celebrations, etc.)

    Cons

    NOV employees are highly underpaid. They have reputation for this among the oil/gas industry.

    Advice to Management

    People don't leave jobs, they leave managers.

    National Oilwell Varco2019-10-11
  4. "Anonymous Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at National Oilwell Varco full-time

    Pros

    Flexible Schedule Flexible Schedule Flexible Schedule

    Cons

    Oil and Gas Market is constantly up and down

    National Oilwell Varco2019-07-08
  5. "You can do better..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Processor in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at National Oilwell Varco full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company for someone who has a degree in mechanics..

    Cons

    Working for any oil and gas company is a horrible human game. Layoffs will happen.

    Advice to Management

    There is one person who manages 11 employees and does not have any management training. Management needs training, and upper management needs to realize who the hard working people are.

    National Oilwell Varco2019-02-04
  6. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at National Oilwell Varco full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    They have great benefits and salary is good.

    Cons

    They are a service provider for oil and gas companies so when no one is drilling they will start laying people off.

    National Oilwell Varco2018-12-16
  7. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at National Oilwell Varco full-time

    Pros

    Flexible schedule Friendly management

    Cons

    Oil and gas stability

    National Oilwell Varco2018-10-19
  8. "Engineering Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Intern in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at National Oilwell Varco for more than a year

    Pros

    Fair pay, lots of opportunity for learning and training. Very good training for those entering the oil and gas industry with little to no experience (they will train give you a broad overview of the industry aswell as teach you your duties)

    Cons

    Large corporation, so sometimes your work feels less impact in the grand scheme of things. Lots of red tape and slowness

    National Oilwell Varco2018-02-19
  9. "Oil and Gas"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at National Oilwell Varco full-time

    Pros

    Large company in the oil and gas field

    Cons

    Due to layoffs my workload keeps increasing but pay does not.

    Advice to Management

    At this time we pay bills weekly gives me no time to follow up on vendors questions. If we went to paying every two weeks would allow us time to follow up on questions and emails.

    National Oilwell Varco2017-10-09
  10. "Sr. Contracts Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at National Oilwell Varco

    Pros

    Good manager, flexible manager. Lots of resistance to change from other support functions, especially Legal Dept.

    Cons

    Instability in the Oil & Gas industry is causing NOV lots of instability as well.

    Advice to Management

    Have a better system for evaluating and retaining your top performing employees, even during the O & G downturn.

    National Oilwell Varco2017-04-27
Found 79 reviews