National Park Service "beautiful places" Reviews | Glassdoor

National Park Service Employee Reviews about "beautiful places"

Updated Feb 27, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
81%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
National Park Service Acting Director  Michael T. Reynolds (no image)
Michael T. Reynolds
49 Ratings
Pros
  • "You work in beautiful places and at some parks even live inside the park(in 31 reviews)

  • "Visitors are so grateful for the work you do(in 25 reviews)

Cons
  • "Salary is below private sector and to achieve success one must work at various parks(in 26 reviews)

  • "Low pay, no opportunities for advancement or performance based compensation(in 23 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "beautiful places"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great agency to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Computer Applications Analyst 

    I have been working at National Park Service full-time

    Pros

    -Wonderful staff throughout the park -Beautiful place to be -Felt welcome and at home from day one

    Cons

    There is not one that I can think of.

    National Park Service2020-01-15
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Run, don’t walk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at National Park Service

    Pros

    Beautiful places to work, when you’re outside

    Cons

    Untalented leadership, bullying is common amongst managers, and high performers are ridden like rented mules because they are relied upon for everything, yet not rewarded. I’ve worked for a few different federal agencies, and this is my second trip with the Park Service. I will NEVER work for his agency again, and I would never recommend it to anyone else either.

    Continue reading
    National Park Service2020-02-28
  3. Helpful (1)

    "You have to love the mission"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Park Guide in Big Bend National Park, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at National Park Service full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You work in beautiful places and at some parks even live inside the park. Housing can sometimes be sub par but at Big Bend National Park its pretty great and super affordable. You get to work with people on vacation so usually all the visitors are in a good mood.

    Cons

    As with probably and federal career, it can be super tricky to actually start working and sometimes even when you think you are hired you aren't which is really frustrating when moving to a new place for a job.

    National Park Service2019-09-15
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Stay as far away as possible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bio Tech 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at National Park Service full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The seashore is a beautiful place to work and live.

    Cons

    Upper management is extremely disfunctional - you need to be in a personal relationship with someone in the superintendent's office to be considered for any type of promotion.

    National Park Service2019-07-24
  5. "Assateague national Seashore"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Biological Science Technician in Berlin, MD

    I worked at National Park Service for less than a year

    Pros

    Beautiful place! Decent housing. I did research on the salt marshes. Best summer ever.

    Cons

    No phone service at housing. Permanent admin employees are incompetent. They seem not to care about seasonals and are unreachable.

    Continue reading
    National Park Service2019-05-10
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Park Ranger Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at National Park Service full-time

    Pros

    It really is a beautiful place to work

    Cons

    Virtually impossible to get a permanent position; poor communication between supervisors and field rangers; superintendents have a god complex. We recently had one of the chief interp rangers come to our location and immediately complained about how stained the carpet was. We were told we had to stay longer to clean - we don't even have access to carpet cleaning paraphernalia in our district (aside from a crappy vacuum that does not really work).

    National Park Service2018-12-12
  7. "Nice Weekends"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Anonymous Intern 

    I have been working at National Park Service

    Pros

    I get to live in one of the most beautiful places on earth! The people I work with are also wonderful.

    Cons

    The work can be very repetitive. I'm often sitting and staring at screens all day. Government bureaucracy can be frustrating.

    National Park Service2018-04-06
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Work in Beautiful Places...but struggle to keep them beautiful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Park Ranger in Penn, PA
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at National Park Service full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work in beautiful places with people who love the outdoors. See and do amazing things on a daily basis. Not difficult work, plenty of opportunities to do a variety of different jobs and details

    Cons

    Jobs drying up as we "do more with less," lack of manpower and funding to make needed repairs, many employees are very cliquish depending on where they work and how much they "bleed green and gray"

    Continue reading
    National Park Service2018-04-10
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great team, few opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Visitor Use Assistant in Berlin, MD
    Recommends
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at National Park Service full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I really enjoyed working with like-minded people and serving the public. OK housing and decent benefits. Beautiful place. My direct manager was very supportive and always willing to let us cross-train with other departments.

    Cons

    Not feeling supported by upper management. Very limited growth opportunities. Easy to burn out during busy season.

    Continue reading
    National Park Service2017-11-28
  10. "Ranger"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at National Park Service full-time

    Pros

    work outdoors in beautiful places

    Cons

    low pay for the type of work required

    National Park Service2017-10-11
Found 31 reviews