KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

National Parks Conservation Association

Is this your company?

National Parks Conservation Association

Add a Review

National Parks Conservation Association Reviews

Updated Jun 11, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 23 of over 23 reviews

4.4
89%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
National Parks Conservation Association President Tom Kiernan (no image)
Tom Kiernan
11 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Fantastic Organization Making a Real Difference

    Jun 11, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The organization is truly committed to the cause of preserving and protecting national parks and has built a wonderful morale internally. They also truly value work/life balance.

    Cons

    Having teams spread out all across the country can make it sometimes hard to connect with coworkers.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Wonderful Organization to Work For!

    Mar 10, 2021 - Communications 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The organization truly values their staff and really prioritizes work life balance.

    Cons

    Given that the organization is spread all across the country, it can be difficult to coordinate with team members or various offices.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Former Intern, less than 1 year

    Fantastic Environment, Great People

    Feb 2, 2021 - Intern in Washington, DC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Great company culture, everyone really cares about what they do - Interesting work and a great network of resources and people

    Cons

    - Work can be a little slow at times - Salary isn't great, but that's to be expected at any non-profit

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Current Employee

    It’s okay

    Apr 7, 2021 - Senior Coordinator in Washington, DC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible work schedule, nice people

    Cons

    Old people in charge have old ways of thinking, no way to move up

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Former Intern, less than 1 year

    Working here was an absolute blast!

    Jan 14, 2021 - Parks 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This was my first Nonprofit internship, and it was an absolute blast. The coworkers were awesome and friendly. The hours and pay were great.

    Cons

    Sitting out in the sun during summer can be a bit difficult

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Former Intern, less than 1 year

    Easy-going but highly focused and competent

    Jun 10, 2020 - Government Affairs Fellow in Washington, DC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Very friendly, family-focused, incredibly motivated workplace that gives plenty of autonomy but also a really great organizational culture. Everyone is friendly and inviting and they do fantastic, important work.

    Cons

    I truly can't think of any. I loved my time at NPCA.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Overall Good Place to Work

    Dec 18, 2019 - Senior Coordinator in Washington, DC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They really value work life balance here. I am RARELY asked to stay late and if I am they give me comp time to make up for it. My boss also allows me to work from home once a week, which has been a game changer for me. They also generally give employees opportunities to apply for vacant position and if you are up for doing the job they promote from within.

    Cons

    There is no way to move up unless a position opens or is created so if you're looking to move up quickly or even at a predictable pace that's not possible. The CEO also makes WAY too much money compared to the rest of our executive team (which is public info on the 990). They pay below market rate for non profits, which the market rate is already super low. Other than that the benefits are good though.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 3.0
    Former Intern, less than 1 year

    Intern

    Jul 24, 2019 - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Everyone at this office is nice, easy to work with. It’s an older company so it’s very well organized.

    Cons

    I interned here at HQ and applied to 2 positions. I did not hear back from either of them, not even a rejection containing feedback on why they rejected me. I feel like this tells a lot about company. Also the pace of NPCA is so slow and they are really getting behind on technology/science etc I just feel like it might not be a good choice for long-term careers.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Great Mission, but feeling Stagnant

    Oct 31, 2014 - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great mission, smart, passionate people. Most employees go home between 5-6 every night, and many of us get to travel to national parks as part of our jobs. Good workplace culture, especially among lower-middle levels of staff.

    Cons

    Executive leadership is mediocre. Most VPs have been at NPCA for 10-15 years, and would be hard-pressed to find top-level jobs at other organizations, so they aren't going anywhere anytime soon. Which means the up-and-coming staff rise to a certain point, then leave. New CEO comes from corporate environment and has struggled to put his imprint on the organization, as he doesn't seem sure how to contribute. When VPs disagree with one another, no one has the power to make a decision over the other's objections, so conflicts remain unsolved. Recently, the organization has been talking to oil companies involved in a new park proposal in Texas--strange bedfellows considering our focus on fracking, climate change, etc.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Former Intern, more than 1 year

    Summer Internship in Field Office-Policy Researcher

    Jul 21, 2017 - SummerWildlife Conservation and Policy 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Near complete autonomy over daily work and research project; received light direction and helpful feedback from permanent employees; field offices operate seemingly at their own discretion but in coordination with HQ plans and projects. Full-time employees are encouraged to visit national parks, and are given sabbatical leave to do so.

    Cons

    Field office can feel like a separate organization from HQ, simply as a result of the autonomy. Hard to get a sense of the atmosphere at NPCA as a whole, as each office will be different.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 23 Reviews

Popular Careers with National Parks Conservation Association Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at National Parks Conservation Association? Share Your Experiences

National Parks Conservation Association logo
or