National Seating & Mobility Reviews | Glassdoor

National Seating & Mobility Reviews

Updated Jul 3, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 70 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
58%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
National Seating & Mobility CEO Wlliam Mixon
Wlliam Mixon
6 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Pays is awful, benefits are the worst I've ever seen, the work environment is hell(in 6 reviews)

  • "I used to love being an ATP, but NSM took all the life out of that(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "A rewarding place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technician in Marquette, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at National Seating & Mobility full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You help people live better lives.

    Cons

    Can be frustrating to deal with insurance.

    National Seating & Mobility2019-04-15
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Little Reward within Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Processor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at National Seating & Mobility full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Rewarding working with the patients to make sure they're getting the care and equipment they need.

    Cons

    Guilt you to work holidays & allow the same people to take off every holiday, regardless of how early you put in your request. Even when mine got approved, I was called by the manager because I didn't have kids to see if I could work since the others had children. Your work will NEVER be covered when you take a sick day or vacation, whether they assign someone to assist or not. ATP's are the "gold" of the company,...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Read the Cons and maybe learn from them.

    National Seating & Mobility2019-07-03
  3. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Technician 

    I have been working at National Seating & Mobility full-time

    Pros

    Friendly Staff Management gives you space Music is allowed

    Cons

    Not well organized at times

    National Seating & Mobility2019-05-23
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Interesting Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - N/A 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at National Seating & Mobility full-time

    Pros

    Customer Need; Access to Customers; Small Industry; Underlying Moral Premise

    Cons

    Top Heavy; Ownership Disconnect; Management Disconnect

    Advice to Management

    Listen, Be Interested.

    National Seating & Mobility2019-03-05
  5. "Great job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Wheelchair Technician in Montgomery, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at National Seating & Mobility full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours and a small company. This makes them easier to work for than a corporate conglomerate.

    Cons

    Pay is lower than with a big company but stress level is low as well.

    Advice to Management

    Look to increase product lines but keep the small company feel.

    National Seating & Mobility2018-09-21
  6. "Sales Support Specialist - intake custom wheelchair assessments, & process for claim submittal and purchasing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Support Specialist in Mountlake Terrace, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at National Seating & Mobility full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Family company, family atmosphere. A great place to work!

    Cons

    The ratings are actually for Dependable Medical Equipment of Mountlake Terrace, WA. (since they are acquired, the name wouldn't input above) The company was acquired by a national chain, eliminating my "duplicate" position.

    Advice to Management

    "Thanks for the Memories"!

    National Seating & Mobility2018-09-20
  7. "NSM GM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in Anaheim, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at National Seating & Mobility full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great company who cares about their employees

    Cons

    Pay rates aren't as comperable

    Advice to Management

    Invest more money into current employees

    National Seating & Mobility2018-08-30
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great People and Service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at National Seating & Mobility full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Employees are very nice and enjoyable to work with; the service we provide changes lives!

    Cons

    If you’re not a manager, you’re not important. Elitism and favoritism rampant. If you aren’t a revenue producer, you aren’t important or valued. The company profits are soaring, but don’t count on getting more than a crumb. Benefits aren’t good - just 6 holidays a year - who does that?!?! mgmt pats each other on back and ignores everyone else’s efforts;

    Advice to Management

    you don’t offer profit sharing, you don’t give bonuses (except to yourselves) and your “raises” are less than the national cost of living increases. If you want to retain your employees, give 7-10% like the majority of companies do. Very discouraging, demotivating and disappointing.

    National Seating & Mobility2018-08-27
  9. "Growing Company - Awesome Mission"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at National Seating & Mobility full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Passionate leadership, huge growth potential

    Cons

    The company is growing rapidly. Change is the only constant. As a result, there are many opportunities for improvement. But, there is no lack of support for that change

    National Seating & Mobility2018-03-06
  10. "Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at National Seating & Mobility full-time

    Pros

    Flex time is amazing and my manager really works with me

    Cons

    Office politics and not culturally diverse (although they are trying) ! Slow advancement opportunities but they are available due to growth once you become a supervisor I have noticed they don’t move those people up much

    Advice to Management

    Post manager jobs, allow ALL staff the ability to move up

    National Seating & Mobility2018-03-07
Found 70 reviews