National Student Clearinghouse Reviews in Herndon, VA | Glassdoor

National Student Clearinghouse Herndon Reviews

Updated October 13, 2017
32 reviews

Filter

Filter

Herndon, VA

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Ricardo D. Torres
18 Ratings

32 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • It is such a wonderful work environment with a strong emphasis on work/life balance (in 9 reviews)

  • NSC has a great benefits package, solid management and room to grow a career (in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • The work life balance that is bragged about isn (in 7 reviews)

  • Employees have little to no faith in upper management and/or HR (in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (4)

    "NSC--An Overview"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Herndon, VA
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Herndon, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at National Student Clearinghouse part-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    NSC is sincerely dedicated to clients' needs while continuing to be employee-centric by offering financial, educational, and professional growth benefits. NSC celebrates and honors our diversities in a variety of creative ways. There is a healthy culture of mutual respect and esprit de corps. It is a group of intelligent and pleasant professionals. Warm humor is shared with hard work.

    Cons

    The downside, at present, has a light at the end of the tunnel when the office physical restructuring is completed.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to be strong advocates and good listeners.

    National Student Clearinghouse Response

    Sep 26, 2017 – Manager, Talent Acquisition & Development

    Thank you for sharing your feedback about the Clearinghouse. We are glad to hear that the commitment to our clients and our employees is something that you value. We remain committed to providing a... More


  2. Helpful (14)

    "Sad what is happening, truly sad!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Director Services in Herndon, VA
    Current Employee - Executive Director Services in Herndon, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at National Student Clearinghouse full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    These are dwindling down these days. Free coffee.....I am not sure what else to say. We are no longer " a best place to work" burn that award.

    Cons

    This once amazing company with a great work-life balance and work from home has crumbled. People have spoke up to HR, to directors, to The President and no one cares. We are struggling to stay afloat with no rescue in sight. I feel the only people left to speak to are the Board of directors or outside legal council. Working here is draining now. IT staff are worked until early hours of the morning. Ed Services, forget having a life or making a decision. Those are now made for you. Even managers and Directors do not have to make decisions, the just answer to the great and powerful. The good news is if you suck up enough you do not have to work but can have a high paying position and work from home. We all are praying for a miracle to happen, but the candle is flickering out. I now struggle to get out of bed everyday and stopped smiling. I guess in the end hostility and threats win out!

    Advice to Management

    This section holds no value. We have tried speak up and they copy and paste responses, we have tried this site and the responses are the same, HR directs you back to the aggressor, the president only cares about numbers.

  3. Helpful (7)

    "Smart People, Do Not Work Here."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Herndon, VA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Herndon, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Cool lunch places in the area. Lake near by. Walking trails near by.

    Cons

    Ed Services and Customer Support/call center managers and VP are extremely rude and disrespectful to employees. They have hidden performance ratings on everyone and ONLY share it among themselves. Manipulation is a tactic used by truelly insecure leaders and most likely not that smart. There is pent up anger that is palatable in the environment but covered up by really big phony smiles. Delores from Harry Potter is working as a manager in ED Services. Its a cruel place to work.

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of your Ed Services managers and Directors and start fresh. There is no other way!

    National Student Clearinghouse Response

    Oct 16, 2017 – Manager, Talent Acquisition & Development

    The Education Services Division has been implementing a Transformation of the ways of working, strategy, and goals that has resulted in considerable change, evolving culture and heightened level of... More


  4. Helpful (7)

    "Senior Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Herndon, VA
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Herndon, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at National Student Clearinghouse full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Close knit culture and mutual respect for employees

    Cons

    Lack of execution and too much of organizational hierarchy management kills innovation and impact of employees

    National Student Clearinghouse Response

    Aug 23, 2017 – Manager, Talent Acquisition & Development

    Thank you for your feedback. The Clearinghouse prides itself in having a culture that fosters trust and mutual respect. The past year has been a year of transformation across the entire NSC... More


  5. Helpful (1)

    "Architect"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Architect in Herndon, VA
    Current Employee - Architect in Herndon, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at National Student Clearinghouse full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Good pay, excellent employment benefits, bonus, work-life balance, genuine people, great learning opportunities if interested in IT and/or education sector.

    Cons

    Being small sized company there are not enough ladders to climb but it enhances visibility and company does believes in promoting internal employees as leaders.

    National Student Clearinghouse Response

    May 10, 2017 – Manager, Talent Acquisition & Development

    Thank you for choosing the National Student Clearinghouse as your employer! At our organization, every employee has the opportunity to make a difference, and we value your contributions!


  6. "Administrative Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Herndon, VA
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Herndon, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at National Student Clearinghouse part-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Best manager in the world
    People like to work here and with each other--
    Positive attitudes
    Employee-centric atmosphere
    Respect regardless of level of employment

    Cons

    Time constraints due, in part to part-time status--my choice.

    Advice to Management

    Please continue the great work.

    National Student Clearinghouse Response

    May 15, 2017 – Manager, Talent Acquisition & Development

    Thank you for the positive feedback about your manager and employment at NSC! We are thrilled to hear that your experience at NSC has been enjoyable, and happy to be able to offer part-time... More


  7. "Worthwhile internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern in Herndon, VA
    Former Intern - Intern in Herndon, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at National Student Clearinghouse as an intern (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great learning environment. Friendly people.

    Cons

    Terrible traffic/commute around the area

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the intern program. It's great opportunity for Sophomores, Juniors in college.

    National Student Clearinghouse Response

    Apr 26, 2017 – Manager, Talent Acquisition & Development

    Thank you for providing feedback and interning at our organization. We are glad that you learned a lot during your internship! Our internship program is valued throughout the organization because it... More

  8. Helpful (3)

    "Great sense of community, boring work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Support Representative in Herndon, VA
    Former Employee - Client Support Representative in Herndon, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at National Student Clearinghouse full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    - The location (Herndon, VA) is right by affordable apartments and traffic isn't too bad for NOVA
    - They internally promote so there's lots of opportunity for growth even without a degree
    - In customer service there's plenty of opportunity for overtime
    - There's a good amount of community, most people are very friendly

    Cons

    - The work (Client Support Rep) was deadly boring and consisted of a lot of data entry/email response
    - Many people work an early shift (7-4) and personally I hate mornings
    - No cell service in the building
    - Most customers hate dealing with NSC and frequently colleges use NSC as their whipping boy for transcript issues. Very frustrating getting screamed at for problems you have no power to fix.

    Advice to Management

    Allow employees more flexibility in responding for customers/explaining why their transcripts may be late! Relaxing rules for hand signatures would remove so many problems.

    National Student Clearinghouse Response

    Dec 7, 2016 – Manager, Talent Acquisition & Development

    Thank you for taking the time to provide this valuable feedback about your experience with the organization. NSC is a learning organization and accepts all feedback as an opportunity to learn from... More


  9. "Great Summer Internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Summer Intern in Herndon, VA
    Former Intern - Summer Intern in Herndon, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at National Student Clearinghouse as an intern (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Close personal mentor, relevant work (I worked in software development), good work-life balance, decent pay

    Cons

    The only con I can think of is if you are looking for a position to work for a corporation that is highly innovative whereas NSC is more laid back and the culture is obsessed with creating new things

    National Student Clearinghouse Response

    Oct 11, 2016 – Manager, Talent Acquisition & Development

    Thank you for choosing to spend last summer with the National Student Clearinghouse! We are glad to hear that you had a great experience, and we appreciate your contributions!


  10. "Great benefits and fun culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Herndon, VA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Herndon, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at National Student Clearinghouse full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Robust benefits, fun events, meaningful work tied to a strong mission, and business casual work attire.

    Cons

    Many different initiatives at once stretches employees thin.

    Advice to Management

    Spend some time focusing on technical debt, and give IT staff a chance to work on one project a month of their choice.

    National Student Clearinghouse Response

    Oct 11, 2016 – Manager, Talent Acquisition & Development

    Thank you for your suggestions and feedback! We will share your idea with our IT leaders.


Showing 32 of 62 reviews
Reset Filters