National Student Clearinghouse Reviews | Glassdoor

National Student Clearinghouse Reviews

Updated September 21, 2017
52 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Ricardo D. Torres
23 Ratings

52 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • It is such a wonderful work environment with a strong emphasis on work/life balance (in 9 reviews)

  • NSC has a great benefits package, solid management and room to grow a career (in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • The work life balance that is bragged about isn (in 4 reviews)

  • Favoritism, nepotism, limited career path (in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "NSC--An Overview"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Herndon, VA
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Herndon, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at National Student Clearinghouse part-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    NSC is sincerely dedicated to clients' needs while continuing to be employee-centric by offering financial, educational, and professional growth benefits. NSC celebrates and honors our diversities in a variety of creative ways. There is a healthy culture of mutual respect and esprit de corps. It is a group of intelligent and pleasant professionals. Warm humor is shared with hard work.

    Cons

    The downside, at present, has a light at the end of the tunnel when the office physical restructuring is completed.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to be strong advocates and good listeners.


  2. "Growing is good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at National Student Clearinghouse full-time

    Pros

    Benefits (health, education, 401K), meaningful mission and the company is actually focused on it, management at all levels are focused on both success of the company and employees.

    Cons

    There is a lot of change, but that's not necessarily a bad thing as long as you address the people who don't want to learn new ways to do things. Right now, some really good people are making up for the shortcomings of others.

    Advice to Management

    Seeing some of the recent comments, I felt the need to share a different perspective. If you do your job and focus on supporting the organization’s mission, you will be successful. Opportunity for personal and professional growth is plentiful if you want it and will work for it.

    National Student Clearinghouse Response

    Sep 20, 2017 – Manager, Talent Acquisition & Development

    Thank you for sharing your feedback about the Clearinghouse. We are pleased to learn that you feel challenged and motivated by the transformation that is happening across the organization. We... More

  3. Helpful (8)

    "A culture of narcissism, humiliation, and intimidation."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at National Student Clearinghouse full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Some of the best benefits an employee could ask for. This is the saving grace for the company as it's likely the only reason some long time employees are staying put. HR recently opened up a new training avenue that has limitless possibilities if you can ever afford the time. Mid level management and below have a caring grasp on the mission at hand.

    Cons

    Unfortunately the Pros are so outweighed by the Cons it's hard to ever leave the building with your head ever held high. Working in the newly reformed Education Services Department is simply draining. If you got bullied in high school you may be able to endure this place on a daily basis. Verbal abuse in meetings is common place. Ed Services leadership walks around with a positive smile as if everything is marvelous but when the door closes you are treated with verbal and emotional cruelty that you wouldn't wish on your worst enemy. Somehow HR encourages the use of an email signature touting NSC as a culture of work life balance but for some groups 60 hours/week is "not enough". Evening, weekend, and middle of the night aggressive messages are the norm.

    Advice to Management

    Stand up for what is right and stop letting the workplace turn into a place of authoritarianism. Not all the good people have left.

    National Student Clearinghouse Response

    Sep 14, 2017 – Manager, Talent Acquisition & Development

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are pleased to offer the new training mechanism to staff that is available 24/7 for both professional and personal development. Employees are encouraged to own... More


  4. Helpful (4)

    "Asks For Too Much"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Coordinator
    Current Employee - Coordinator
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at National Student Clearinghouse full-time

    Pros

    There are many friendly and truly good people working here. Benefits are excellent including 401k match and help with tuition. Company cares about education and individual development. Not a strict dress code, so you can wear jeans and comfortable clothing.

    Cons

    The work life balance that is bragged about isn’t accruate across the company. The education services division often has overtime and sometimes mandatory. There is early closing holidays but only high level management and hourly staff get to leave early. I always see managers staying late. You earn vacation and personal days but it is hard to take time off so you just end up selling the hours. For the last two years, we are doing too many projects and it is usually tense.

    Advice to Management

    Don’t brag about work life balance if it isn’t offered to everyone. Undertake less projects at one time so that people work reasonable hours. It is great to make progress and take on challenging new projects but, remember that too much leads to people giving up vacations and time with their family.

    National Student Clearinghouse Response

    Sep 13, 2017 – Manager, Talent Acquisition & Development

    Thank you for you sharing your feedback with the Clearinghouse. As the education landscape of the nation changes, we have been called upon to serve and respond in ways never before and in doing so... More


  5. Helpful (2)

    "Growing is Good...If you are in the club."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at National Student Clearinghouse full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    The company basically has a monopoly on the market. The non-profit status is extremely beneficial.

    Cons

    The old boys club 2.0. Revised, but the same tactics. Employees that are "loyal" have a horse in the race.

    Advice to Management

    Diversity training should be required just like sexual harassment is.


  6. Helpful (7)

    "Senior Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Herndon, VA
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Herndon, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at National Student Clearinghouse full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Close knit culture and mutual respect for employees

    Cons

    Lack of execution and too much of organizational hierarchy management kills innovation and impact of employees

    National Student Clearinghouse Response

    Aug 23, 2017 – Manager, Talent Acquisition & Development

    Thank you for your feedback. The Clearinghouse prides itself in having a culture that fosters trust and mutual respect. The past year has been a year of transformation across the entire NSC... More


  7. Helpful (7)

    "What started out as a great entry level career move has turned into the most turbulent experience yet."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at National Student Clearinghouse full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    I honestly can't thinking of anything at the moment but there's a 20 word minimum so here we are, typing.

    Cons

    Upper management looks at you like a pawn in chess- disposable. What started out as a great entry level career move has turned into the most turbulent experience yet. At first, it seemed as though this company offered many opportunities for professional development. However in a span of a TWO years, I've had 3+ managers, no manager at one point, and nearly three different positions. It's exhausting.

    I understand there are organizational changes being made and that it's for the best of our clients, but where do we draw the line? At what point does upper management decide your position is no longer needed and that you are disposable? Sad to say- I don't feel valued at the Clearinghouse and will definitely be looking elsewhere.

    Advice to Management

    Nothing. They panic about these reviews but as noted by past reviews- this cycle of relocating and laying off employees hasn't changed in years. Perhaps they should lay off the laying off.

    National Student Clearinghouse Response

    Sep 11, 2017 – Manager, Talent Acquisition & Development

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and feedback. Next year is the Clearinghouse’s 25th anniversary, and we are currently in the midst of an organizational transformation. New... More

  8. Helpful (3)

    "Great people and great mission"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at National Student Clearinghouse full-time

    Pros

    My colleagues are inspiring and hardworking and the vast majority are bought into the mission of the Clearinghouse.

    Cons

    There is a resource strain at the moment, mostly due to the challenging goals the organization has set for itself. This has lead to long work hours for some.

    National Student Clearinghouse Response

    May 11, 2017 – Manager, Talent Acquisition & Development

    NSC is glad to have so many dedicated employees working for our organization who support our mission. Goals that challenge our staff will help develop their careers and propel the organization... More


  9. Helpful (1)

    "Architect"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Architect in Herndon, VA
    Current Employee - Architect in Herndon, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at National Student Clearinghouse full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Good pay, excellent employment benefits, bonus, work-life balance, genuine people, great learning opportunities if interested in IT and/or education sector.

    Cons

    Being small sized company there are not enough ladders to climb but it enhances visibility and company does believes in promoting internal employees as leaders.

    National Student Clearinghouse Response

    May 10, 2017 – Manager, Talent Acquisition & Development

    Thank you for choosing the National Student Clearinghouse as your employer! At our organization, every employee has the opportunity to make a difference, and we value your contributions!


  10. "Administrative Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Herndon, VA
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Herndon, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at National Student Clearinghouse part-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Best manager in the world
    People like to work here and with each other--
    Positive attitudes
    Employee-centric atmosphere
    Respect regardless of level of employment

    Cons

    Time constraints due, in part to part-time status--my choice.

    Advice to Management

    Please continue the great work.

    National Student Clearinghouse Response

    May 15, 2017 – Manager, Talent Acquisition & Development

    Thank you for the positive feedback about your manager and employment at NSC! We are thrilled to hear that your experience at NSC has been enjoyable, and happy to be able to offer part-time... More


Showing 52 of 57 reviews
Reset Filters