National University of Health Sciences Reviews | Glassdoor

National University of Health Sciences Reviews

Updated Oct 19, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

Found 11 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
55%
Recommend to a Friend
National University of Health Sciences CEO Joseph Stiefel
Joseph Stiefel
0 Ratings
  1. "Outreach Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Outreach Specialist in Chicago, IL
    Recommends

    I worked at National University of Health Sciences full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great staff to work under, great mentors!

    Cons

    minimal supervision, have to be a self starter if that affects your work capabilities

    National University of Health Sciences2017-05-09
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Good people who care"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at National University of Health Sciences full-time

    Pros

    I enjoyed working with most of the administrators, faculty and staff at NUHS. Most cared and sincerely wanted to have in impact on the future of healthcare. I didn't have issues getting tasks accomplished and collaborating with my peers.

    Cons

    There were some challenging individuals to work with. I subscribe to reason that they had a doctor's ego. Administration does want the best for the institution, but some hard decisions were made at the expense of the employee (salary freezes).

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your people, there is an innovative bunch within your ranks that will help push the mission of university.

    National University of Health Sciences2017-10-20
  3. Helpful (4)

    "NUHS – keep looking, don't apply here."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lombard, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at National University of Health Sciences full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Unfortunately, I can't think of any pros to list aside from interacting with some really unique people via the student body… There's nothing else to comment on regarding my employment there that was positive.

    Cons

    There are a some good folks in the bunch at national, but they are very few in number. those in upper management are horribly qualified for the roles that they hold and run the institution poorly. Inter-office relationships between upper level management and their direct reports runs rampant as well as promiscuous behavior between faculty members and students. It's sad to see such a once well respected institution...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Please stop acting like prepubescent teenagers

    National University of Health Sciences2017-07-12
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Only if you're desperate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at National University of Health Sciences full-time

    Pros

    The people and faculty are the only things making this place tolerable.

    Cons

    Salaries are frozen at a wage that most can't live on to even pay their most basic bills. No promotions.

    Advice to Management

    I wouldn't call it the "Executive Office" when no one has any experience being an executive. Try stepping out of your offices for a bit and actually having candid dialogue. And when do you, don't interrupt them because you need to head over to the food truck.

    National University of Health Sciences2017-06-06
  5. "Overall Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Outreach Specialist in Lombard, IL
    Recommends

    I worked at National University of Health Sciences full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great stepping stone. a lot to learn and grow from.

    Cons

    not a lot of micromanaging for those who like that

    National University of Health Sciences2017-05-10
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Top Heavy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at National University of Health Sciences for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Nice people, great benefits, lovely campus, closes for a week over Christmas.

    Cons

    Most of the actual work is done by a small handful of diligent workers. Lots of managers and administrators, few producers. No merit raises.

    Advice to Management

    Thin out non-performing deadwood. Identify real workers and reward them.

    National University of Health Sciences2017-01-21
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Trench warfare"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at National University of Health Sciences

      Pros

      Nice faculty, complacent and powerless to effect any change whatsoever.

      Cons

      Top heavy administration with executive staff members without real world experience demonstrating a lack of situational awarness. No budgets, no growth, no faculty support, loss of identity, decreased student enrollment.

      Advice to Management

      Resign to some, cut lose ties with previous administration and reconstitute board. Too much to add here.

      National University of Health Sciences2015-07-08
    • Helpful (8)

      "New administration house-cleaning lost >100 years of institutional history through forced departures"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Instructor in Lombard, IL
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I worked at National University of Health Sciences full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      Training new physicians to be the best they can be.

      Cons

      Salaries mediocre and frozen; absent leadership from executive office.

      Advice to Management

      Get out of the ivory tower and communicate with the folks in the trenches.

      National University of Health Sciences2014-03-28
    • Helpful (1)

      "Could be so much better"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend

      I worked at National University of Health Sciences for more than a year

      Pros

      The coworkers were great - people want to do good work.

      Cons

      The clinic is a mess. It is poorly run and there is a low morale. The university thinks this is not their problem and that is unfortunate.

      Advice to Management

      Wake up.

      National University of Health Sciences2014-03-14
    • Helpful (1)

      "Boring"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook

      I worked at National University of Health Sciences full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Easy work nice were nice

      Cons

      Not enough work to do

      National University of Health Sciences2014-03-08
    Found 11 reviews