National University of Health Sciences Reviews | Glassdoor

National University of Health Sciences Reviews

Updated 4 Apr 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 12 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
60%
Recommend to a Friend
National University of Health Sciences CEO Joseph Stiefel
Joseph Stiefel
0 Ratings
  1. "Work Study Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at National University of Health Sciences

    Pros

    Worked in several departments as a part of work study program. Everyone at the university is friendly and understands school comes before work.

    Cons

    It's work study, nothing glamorous. But no complains about the school or my immediate supervisors.

    Advice to Management

    None.

    National University of Health Sciences2018-04-04
  2. "Outreach Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Outreach Specialist in Chicago, IL
    Recommends

    I worked at National University of Health Sciences full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great staff to work under, great mentors!

    Cons

    minimal supervision, have to be a self starter if that affects your work capabilities

    National University of Health Sciences2017-05-09
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Good people who care"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at National University of Health Sciences full-time

    Pros

    I enjoyed working with most of the administrators, faculty and staff at NUHS. Most cared and sincerely wanted to have in impact on the future of healthcare. I didn't have issues getting tasks accomplished and collaborating with my peers.

    Cons

    There were some challenging individuals to work with. I subscribe to reason that they had a doctor's ego. Administration does want the best for the institution, but some hard decisions were made at the expense of the employee (salary freezes).

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your people, there is an innovative bunch within your ranks that will help push the mission of university.

    National University of Health Sciences2017-10-20
  4. "Overall Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Outreach Specialist in Lombard, IL
    Recommends

    I worked at National University of Health Sciences full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great stepping stone. a lot to learn and grow from.

    Cons

    not a lot of micromanaging for those who like that

    National University of Health Sciences2017-05-10
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Top Heavy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at National University of Health Sciences for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Nice people, great benefits, lovely campus, closes for a week over Christmas.

    Cons

    Most of the actual work is done by a small handful of diligent workers. Lots of managers and administrators, few producers. No merit raises.

    Advice to Management

    Thin out non-performing deadwood. Identify real workers and reward them.

    National University of Health Sciences2017-01-21
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Could be so much better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at National University of Health Sciences for more than a year

    Pros

    The coworkers were great - people want to do good work.

    Cons

    The clinic is a mess. It is poorly run and there is a low morale. The university thinks this is not their problem and that is unfortunate.

    Advice to Management

    Wake up.

    National University of Health Sciences2014-03-14
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Only if you're desperate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at National University of Health Sciences full-time

    Pros

    The people and faculty are the only things making this place tolerable.

    Cons

    Salaries are frozen at a wage that most can't live on to even pay their most basic bills. No promotions.

    Advice to Management

    I wouldn't call it the "Executive Office" when no one has any experience being an executive. Try stepping out of your offices for a bit and actually having candid dialogue. And when do you, don't interrupt them because you need to head over to the food truck.

    National University of Health Sciences2017-06-06
  8. Helpful (8)

    "New administration house-cleaning lost >100 years of institutional history through forced departures"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Instructor in Lombard, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at National University of Health Sciences full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Training new physicians to be the best they can be.

    Cons

    Salaries mediocre and frozen; absent leadership from executive office.

    Advice to Management

    Get out of the ivory tower and communicate with the folks in the trenches.

    National University of Health Sciences2014-03-28
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Boring"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at National University of Health Sciences full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy work nice were nice

    Cons

    Not enough work to do

    National University of Health Sciences2014-03-08
  10. Helpful (4)

    "HH"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Faculty in Lombard, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at National University of Health Sciences full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Faculty is dedicated to improving their professions.

    Cons

    Administration takes shortcuts in salaries. Shady hiring practices include failure to post administrative job openings and hiring family members and spouses into positions that were never posted to university community or general public.

    National University of Health Sciences2013-09-06
Found 12 reviews