National Urban League Reviews | Glassdoor

National Urban League Reviews

Updated Apr 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 60 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
National Urban League CEO Marc H. Morial (no image)
Marc H. Morial
18 Ratings
  1. "Intern @ Washington D.C. Bureau"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at National Urban League

    Pros

    This was a critical career journey and juncture for me in the midst of a trying time of the campaign trail that ended with unfavorable results. The value of quality leaders was stressed and the proper policies to guide urban communities was at the focus of my work and accessible through amazing mentors and co-workers that greeted interns as equals and valued your their insight along the way. I empowered and given... the opportunity to chart my own course. As long as I remained humble and actively engaged, my flexibility gave me more opportunities that I could have never imagined. If your so blessed with the opportunity be sure to reach back.

    Show More

    Cons

    I realized this was but a taste of the breathe and depth of the work scope engaged by leaders in NUL. Unfortunately, there was not enough time to properly engage and be impactful, tho not impossible. Going viral takes the trigger. #EngageViral #NUL #Spongebob

    Advice to Management

    Keep building and empowering the future leaders of our urban cities. #DCBureau #Policy

    National Urban League2019-04-09
  2. "Remain Flexible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at National Urban League full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Wonderful team and truly focused on educating the community!

    Cons

    Nonprofit financial woes are a serious issue.

    National Urban League2019-04-07
  3. "Mediocrity Rules"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at National Urban League full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Large national presence; historic organization

    Cons

    If you are loyal, don't care about making professional advancement, this place is perfect. You could be absolutely terrible at your job and spend a lifetime at this place without a problem. Fundraisers and VPs always got a bonus while rest of the employees are denied even a cost of living increase for years.

    National Urban League2019-02-07
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great population, Decent organization, Horrible foundation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at National Urban League

    Pros

    The work we do in the community feels good and we are making a difference. A lot of employees here have great intentions.

    Cons

    The benefits are horrible and promotions are based on favoritism. The pay is about average of what you would expect from a smaller non profit, but raises are almost non existent. Communication leaves much to be desired. The foundation is extremely shaky. No direct deposit and limited quality professional development. No real HR department.

    Advice to Management

    Find better benefits. Truly listen to direct service staff. Get a strong HR department so that grievances can be addressed appropriately. Sometimes there is fear of retaliation if grievances go above certain managements' heads.

    National Urban League2018-12-27
  5. "Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teacher in New Orleans, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at National Urban League full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    It is a great place to work and co workers become family.

    Cons

    The benefits was my only issue.

    Advice to Management

    Management was great and dependable. Everyone was always able to approach management with problems or solutions. Overall, it's a great place to work.

    National Urban League2018-09-15
  6. "Program Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at National Urban League full-time

    Pros

    Lots of growth and feels like things are moving in the right direction.

    Cons

    A series of bad years have made many staff members despondent.

    Advice to Management

    Capable CEO and Program Director. Elevate the Program Director to take more management duties.

    National Urban League2018-08-18
  7. "Internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Intern in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at National Urban League for less than a year

    Pros

    Hard hitting issues to tackle Conference offers a lot of opportunity Get to be connected to many corporations and foundations

    Cons

    Depending on role you may not have a lot to do

    National Urban League2018-07-26
  8. "Vice President, Communications"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at National Urban League full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great mission and great leader

    Cons

    I have no advice to offer to this employer.

    National Urban League2018-03-28
  9. "Employer Specialist/ Case Management."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Employment Specialist/Case Manager in Miami, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at National Urban League part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Love the job, get along very well with Supervisor and Co-Workers.

    Cons

    Is only a part time job, need a fulltime.

    Advice to Management

    Need to hire full time jobs.

    National Urban League2018-03-09
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Columbus Ohio chapter - Unethical, Unprofessional, Unprepossessing and Unbelievable!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Columbus, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at National Urban League full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Competitive salary Clean floors (I'm struggling to meet the 5 word minimum)

    Cons

    Unethical practices Poor professional coaching Unstable leadership Falsification of documents and contractual obligations for grants Hostile workplace High turnover “Clickish” Low moral

    Advice to Management

    Resign.

    National Urban League2018-01-23
Found 60 reviews