National Urban League Reviews | Glassdoor

National Urban League Reviews

Updated 9 de Apr 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 60 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
National Urban League CEO Marc H. Morial (no image)
Marc H. Morial
18 Ratings
  1. "It's an ok place if you are not looking for much responsibility"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at National Urban League

    Pros

    Co-workers, at times you feel as if you are making a difference

    Cons

    Poor management, Highly stratified pay, little to no room for advancement

    National Urban League2015-09-09
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Columbus chapter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Social/Field Work in Columbus, OH
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at National Urban League full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Hard working team and comraderie

    Cons

    Very high turnover and termination rate.

    National Urban League2015-08-31
  3. "Maintenance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Maintenance Associate in Boston, MA

    I worked at National Urban League

    Pros

    Fair and honest were very helpful with my assignments.

    Cons

    No cons at this writing

    Advice to Management

    None

    National Urban League2015-08-10
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Working for NUL"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at National Urban League full-time

    Pros

    Very collegial atmosphere Offers professional development opportunities Flexible

    Cons

    Hard to move up in the organization

    National Urban League2015-06-02
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Poor organization, Knowledge, and Treatment. Focus on the students!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teacher, Secondary School in Aurora, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at National Urban League full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work with students that need support and patience. Able to develop relationships that promote students to earn credits and prepare to transition back to their homeschools.

    Cons

    Mistreatment and lack of support for staff, inconsistent expectations and implementation of policies, understaffing, poor compensation.

    National Urban League2015-01-15
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Important non-profit with typical non-profit challenges."

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at National Urban League

    Pros

    You will be directly addressing some of the most important issues around race and poverty in Madison. If you aren't successful it will have a direct community impact - the work matters.

    Cons

    ULGM has a history of inconsistency and poor management decisions. It is also way too dependent on grants. That means it has a tough time changing its program mix to address the most pressing community needs today. Finally, most salaries are in the bottom quartile compared to like sized organizations in the community. A lot these issues are driven by funding. Have not hired the strongest managers as CEOs.

    Advice to Management

    Easier said than done - but diversify your funding, next time you hire a CEO the board should look for talent with management and desire to work through systems instead of personalities.

    National Urban League2014-08-16
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Many ups and many downs, but still gained a lot"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cincinnati, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at National Urban League full-time

    Pros

    Great impact. Great Friends. Overall, the people who work there have wonderful intentions and huge hearts. There really is an air of empowerment and those who were served can sense it. Camaraderie is strongest among direct service and non-managerial staff.

    Cons

    The workplace culture that is established, feed and driven by management is -- in a word -- horrible. If you're aware of the news stories that have circulated in the African American community about the leadership challenges being faced my HBCUs right now, then you can imagine the issues staff are experiencing. Enough said.

    Advice to Management

    The turnover you all are experiencing should never be passed off as a consequence of general trends in the nonprofit sectors. No. The workplace culture really is just that horrible. I can't even begin to list recommendations. Hire a consulting firm. This is not something that can be fixed internally without assistance and intervention.

    National Urban League2014-07-29
  8. "Fair"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in New York, NY
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at National Urban League full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    -Great people and good culture

    Cons

    -no clear path for advancement -women and men are paid differently

    Advice to Management

    -Don't lose valuable talent -Treat everyone the same across the board

    National Urban League2014-07-02
  9. Helpful (2)

    "between 2009 and 2013 this company had severe leadership issue creating a toxic work environment that continues today"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Director in Wichita, KS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at National Urban League full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    the staff are motivated to assist clients

    Cons

    leadership is poor and financial position makes it difficult to work

    National Urban League2014-01-14
  10. "Educational"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Various Programs in Las Vegas, NV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at National Urban League full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I loved working with the community to help make a better life.

    Cons

    Employees are more worried about helping themselves then helping the community

    Advice to Management

    We are all created EQUAL - and that we should treat each employee by their expertise instead of what race we are from

    National Urban League2013-11-23
Found 60 reviews