National Vision Reviews

Updated May 11, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.3
85%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
National Vision President and CEO L. Reade Fahs
L. Reade Fahs
284 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good benefits and happy we can enjoy Sunday off(in 20 reviews)

  • "Great Benefits and Generous with Vacation days(in 19 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Low pay for entry level positions(in 22 reviews)

  • "If don’t know how to do something I have the support of upper management and corporate to overcome any obstacles that may come my way(in 21 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Best Company to Work For

      May 6, 2021 - Licensed Dispensing Optician in Alpharetta, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Not open late, great benefits, caring company that lives out their model, gives back to the community, creates a pathway for career progression

      Cons

      I don’t have any cons.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      valued as a person

      Feb 8, 2021 - General Manager in Sarasota, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      If you’re looking to work for a company that values you as a person and treat you as if your family when the chips are down and your world is crumbling around you and the company is there for you #Nationalvision is The company you should be working for I was out I work in the hospital for 55 days home with a nurse for 30 and still had a job to come back to a company that checked on me weekly if not daily during a time when I almost died several times do you have that kind of compassion and caring about you like you’re not just a number even when Covid hit caring for the associates paying them while they’re out giving them back any PTO time they had used give us giving us an extra day off before Thanksgiving just really stepping up when do you need it I have programs that’s that are free to help you give your support and your time of need hey and who else can see that the CEO of their company calls them and told them how good of a job they are doing or they were expressed her joy with something that you’ve posted or something that you’ve done and recognized you personally I can say this that’s happened multiple times I can say he has brightened my day by reaching out , most locations are closed on Sundays and the average store hours are 9 to 7

      Cons

      I as of today can’t think of any cons compared to other optical big boxes that I’ve worked for

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Great company but...

      Mar 1, 2021 - Assistant Eyeglass Manager in Toledo, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Our CEO is a wonderful wonderful man. He does great things for our company. You have room to grow, they care about their employees. Very family oriented. They strive for you and help you make this a career. PTO is great, and their focus for the community makes you proud to work here. I couldn’t say enough great things about the leaders we have at corporate! Best company I’ve worked for by far.

      Cons

      Pay. It took me 6 years to get where I am. It’s very hard to make a living out of this career with this company. Even being licensed AND and assistant manager we’re paid on the very very low end of “Licensed dispensing optician” salary rate. If the company paid more for all of their associates, we wouldn’t have the turn over rate that we do. Honestly, if it wasn’t for the company, and the people I work with, I would have to leave for more pay. Only other con is sometimes it’s hard to make your voice heard-but that’s like that at a lot of workplaces.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Core values of the Corporation are Real, Admiral and followed.

      Mar 17, 2021 - General Manager, Optician 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits, PTO, CEO Transparency Values and communication

      Cons

      Salaried worker required hours@50 hours

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Floating Optometrist

      Apr 25, 2021 - Optometrist in Bowie, MD
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      20 - 30% no show rate Do not force you to sell glasses. They expect you only to show up and do the exams Will allow you to do 3 patients/hr if it is in your comfort zone

      Cons

      Paper Charts Widely mixed variety in training of staff (may get re-checks on glasses for easy fixes) If you don't finish the exam in 15 minutes for the patient, then you will easily fall behind. *Pro or a Con: Practice model does not support more than 1 or 2 dilated fundus exams for patients without falling extremely behind your patient load.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Walmart Vision by National Vision

      May 3, 2021 - Licensed Optician/Assistant Manager in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great company to work for, opportunities to grow

      Cons

      Pay could be better than other companies

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Employment

      May 11, 2021 - Stocker 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Staff , coupon, hours, etc. OT

      Cons

      Micro management, pto, mandatory OT

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      People Centric

      Apr 14, 2021 - District Manager in Phoenix, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work/life balance. Great communication. Advancement opportunities Committed to the associates and doing what’s right

      Cons

      At the moment there is nothing

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      great place to work

      Apr 21, 2021 - Sales Associate in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      feels like family and they care

      Cons

      pay increases are small compared to other jobs

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Good start

      Apr 14, 2021 - Optometrist in Upper Marlboro, MD
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The clientele that comes to discounted opticals, such as those National vision offers, really get to benefit from talented new grads.

      Cons

      They schedule every 10 minutes. The doctor is often running behind and patients are getting impatient. Depending on your location, the staff can be unsupportive and aloof at work.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 459 Reviews

    Popular Careers with National Vision Job Seekers

    Receptionist
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at National Vision? Share Your Experiences

    National Vision logo
    or