National Youth Services Corps Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

National Youth Services Corps Reviews

Updated Oct 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
76%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
National Youth Services Corps CEO Nnamdi Thomas Okore-Affia (no image)
Nnamdi Thomas Okore-Affia
51 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Most corp members are being posted to classrooms which won’t enhance their skills, and out of line with what they studied in the university(in 16 reviews)

  • "it seems to be a waste of time and resources(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "cook"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cook in Greensboro, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at National Youth Services Corps part-time

    Pros

    love to cook for people and do other thing in kitchen

    Cons

    need more hours to get by just need full time job

    Advice to Management

    none

    National Youth Services Corps2015-04-27
  2. "Data Entry Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at National Youth Services Corps full-time

    Pros

    There is a flexible work hours and great culture.

    Cons

    Its more of a routine job, nothing challenging.

    National Youth Services Corps2017-02-28
  3. "My experience during NYSC was okay."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
     

    I have been working at National Youth Services Corps

    Pros

    A new environment, meeting new people, and opportunties to better community.

    Cons

    It was disorganized and the original purpose has been defied.

    National Youth Services Corps2015-03-31
  4. "Physics/Mathematics Tutor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at National Youth Services Corps

    Pros

    Was a great experience with new challenges everyday. Working during the NYSC period was a life changing experience.

    Cons

    I cant particularly point out any nerve wrecking cons per se.

    Advice to Management

    That a better framework be structured to help people want to give more to the communities they find themselves in.

    National Youth Services Corps2015-03-09
  5. "I gained the experience on how budget is being processed and presented"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at National Youth Services Corps

    Pros

    I discovered it is a place where i can achieve my dreams and a place where i can build my dreams

    Cons

    The challenges i might be facing is to meet up with the required target being assinged to me

    Advice to Management

    My advice is to allow room for research and sending the employees on all training that might be useful for the growth of the organization

    National Youth Services Corps2015-01-22
  6. "Wonderful Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at National Youth Services Corps

    Pros

    The allowee is good In Lagos, the SAED program is a welcome program for youtth development

    Cons

    Really needs restructuring and better management

    Advice to Management

    Treat Corpers well, Move Nigeria forward Give Corpers meaningful jobs to do

    National Youth Services Corps2015-02-06
  7. "review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at National Youth Services Corps

    Pros

    necessary and good for rural experience

    Cons

    pays poorly and with few opportunities for career advancement

    National Youth Services Corps2014-10-11
  8. "It made me to discover some of my potential, such as been a business orientated, able to face challenges under pressure."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in South Ozone Park, NY

    I have been working at National Youth Services Corps part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Contributing my attribute to the company, creating ideas and awareness to the public for the growth of the company

    Cons

    For me to be diligent at work and my benefit is not been paid to me, in time policies, an always time conscious

    Advice to Management

    A company were their is team work among the workers, there will always be rapid growth, and cooperation among the workers

    National Youth Services Corps2014-07-19
  9. "Mandatory Service Year"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at National Youth Services Corps

    Pros

    Got to meet new people, shared new experiences, went places.

    Cons

    Disrespectful staff, no care for staff.

    Advice to Management

    The working conditions for employees should be improved upon.

    National Youth Services Corps2013-09-19
  10. "To allocate specific tasks to technicians, to coordinate, supervise and report to line manager."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Supervisor in Lagos

    I have been working at National Youth Services Corps full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It gives opportunity to take responsibilities

    Cons

    micromanagement of staff and not considering or putting your ideas to work.

    Advice to Management

    provision should be made for what ever is required for staff to carry out their duties.

    National Youth Services Corps2019-10-18
Found 153 reviews