Nationwide "upper management" Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Nationwide Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Nov 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
63%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Nationwide CEO Steve Rasmussen
Steve Rasmussen
1,336 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "upper management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Sr Administrative Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nationwide full-time

    Pros

    Nationwide places a lot of emphasis on diversity and inclusion.

    Cons

    Upper management is not in touch with the people who do the actual work, yes people get promoted more quickly.

    Nationwide2018-01-06
  2. "Good starter company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Web Developer in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nationwide full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good starter company Great work/life balance Room for growth and learning opportunities

    Cons

    A lot of reorganization going on in the company The upper management doesn't completely have a sense of what's going on at the ground level Compared to other companies, salaries are are lower, they do that because of the work/life balance and relaxed culture/environement

    Nationwide2019-11-12
  3. "Job Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Infrastructure Engineer in Columbus, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Nationwide full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    room to grow and advance flexibility

    Cons

    upper management does not listen lots of cut back and elimination of job roles

    Nationwide2019-10-10
  4. "Enjoy Working There"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Information Specialist in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nationwide full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great Culture nice place to work

    Cons

    Turnover in upper management is high

    Advice to Management

    Keep Experience

    Nationwide2019-09-26
  5. Helpful (1)

    "I wouldn’t recommend an enemy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Analyst in Scottsdale, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nationwide full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice place to work overall. Considering the convenience of having a cafeteria on site and work hour flexibility, depending on your position of course.

    Cons

    A lot of people seem to not have anything to do at times. Which sounds great but the company lays people off frequently. In my short period of time working here I recall two separate times that large amounts of people were let go. Upper management in my experience seems to let the people they manage run the show. You’re either running the show, or you’re not even getting spoken to. I had a manager that would pass me... to say hello to everyone in my aisle and not speak to me. I wouldn’t recommend.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Manage...

    Nationwide2019-09-17
  6. "Pretty good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Developer in Columbus, OH
    Recommends

    I have been working at Nationwide full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work life balance Nice gym Room to grow

    Cons

    Lots of upper management A little old school Cheap laptops

    Nationwide2019-08-21
  7. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Underwriter in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nationwide full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great place to work a lot of nice perks.

    Cons

    Upper management has trust issues

    Advice to Management

    Trust the people that work for your department

    Nationwide2019-08-19
  8. "Good work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Contract Technical Underwriter Assistant 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Nationwide full-time

    Pros

    Definitely a good work place. Everyone is very professional.

    Cons

    Upper management could do better at communication changes and actually providing details instead of brief overviews.

    Nationwide2019-07-30
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Fall from grace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nationwide full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Work life balance Emphasis on diversity and inclusion Supports educational pursuits Some decisions consider many perspectives

    Cons

    Takes a lot of $ to do IT projects, which are also long and delayed with many sacrifices made in functionality Career movement/mobility takes twice as long as smaller insurance firms or comparably sized banks Upper management, leadership often highered based on their lack of threat to the next higher level rather than selecting smart, technically sound leaders

    Advice to Management

    Change they way you think about the organizational hierarchy and realize that someone who is sharp beneath you isn't a threat to you

    Nationwide2019-05-23
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Good job but too many chiefs not enough Indians."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Planning Analyst in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nationwide full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good culture, laid back atmosphere

    Cons

    Politics are sycophantic, people get ahead by just agreeing with upper management and being “Nationwide nice”

    Advice to Management

    Encourage more open communication, don’t promote sycophants.

    Nationwide2019-03-14
Found 73 reviews