Native Instruments "upper management" Reviews | Glassdoor

Native Instruments Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Oct 31, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
2.0
20%
Recommend to a Friend
11%
Approve of CEO
Native Instruments CEO Daniel Haver
Daniel Haver
85 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "No clear direction from upper management(in 10 reviews)

  • "middle management busier protecting a sub-optimal status quo that benefits them than making the changes the organization desperately needs(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "upper management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (16)

    "Fear Based Workplace & Lack of Transparency"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Native Instruments full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The core employees are extremely talented and inspirational to work alongside. Music technology is a dynamic field to work in. The benefits package was greatly improved and competitive. Dog friendly environment.

    Cons

    The environment is prefaced on fear and secrecy. There is a massive lack of transparency and trust. Goals by upper management are not shared honestly with teams and as a result teams are set up for failure. Management does not focus on the larger strategy and makes hasty decisions without taking the time to understand. Time differences and extensive European vacation allowances make globally dependent deliveries impossible in a timely matter as all progress is stagnant while people are out of office. As a result collaboration is slow and technology can not move fast enough.

    Continue reading
    Native Instruments2018-11-25
  2. Helpful (10)

    "Shame on NI"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Berlin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Native Instruments full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Some really cool people used to work at Native Instruments, a lot are music makers themselves so if you're into production you'll have enough brains to pick for coffee chat. People at NI have been proactive in organising community projects.

    Cons

    Too bad the talent of aforementioned cool people is wasted on this company. They don't know how to streamline their offices. Career opportunities are nonexistent and pitching is like shouting against a wall, you will be working with new teams but you're stuck working with methodologies from the 00s. They will replace middle management but never upper management where the problems are. Normative and uninspiring environments were anyone that thinks beyond the status quo is ridiculed. The redundancies were painful and embarrassing with absolutely no ounce of respect towards our colleagues. These things can be handled in ways so that there is a mutual understanding. Unfortunately, NI is incapable of this. I'd be surprised if there's still anyone left by Summer.

    Continue reading
    Native Instruments2019-10-31
  3. Helpful (20)

    "Sinking star"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Order Management in Berlin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Native Instruments full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Free coffee and drinks, nice surroundings

    Cons

    Organisational structure changes once a year or with every personel change in upper management. Customer‘s or employee‘s opinion isn‘t of any importance. Payment is very low.

    Continue reading
    Native Instruments2019-09-18
  4. Helpful (21)

    "A disappointing experience I'm glad I had"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Berlin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Native Instruments full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Modern offices with some nice perks like free beer on Fridays and good coffee, etc. A lot of the people I worked with on a daily basis were very friendly and it's great to be surrounded by people who really love music.

    Cons

    The whole time I was working there, the teams I worked with didn't release anything innovative or particularly exciting. This is because upper management were micro managing our backlog and forcing us to build whatever feature they had dreamt up that morning, a feature that had no connection what so ever to anything our users were asking for. By being completely out of touch with the entire actual user base, they managed to squander the largest amount of capital that had ever been invested into the music tech industry, and have absolutely nothing to show for it.

    Native Instruments2019-09-16
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Toxic!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Direct in Berlin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Native Instruments full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Really absolute nothing these days.

    Cons

    It has been going downhill since a few years now. This company is in a devastating, irreparable state. Upper management has proven its incompetence again and again. Burned a 50M€ Investment with a pipe dream. they are so disconnected from reality and their employees, it's absolutely ridiculous. I have never seen such a terrible, incompetent management in my entire career. This has been the least professional company I have ever worked for. The new CPO and rest of the C-Level management have absolutely no clue what they're doing, in which business they're in. They don't give a damn about the customers, or employees, the only thing they care about is their own career. I have seen some of the most talented people in this industry being fired without any explanation or social selection. NI was a good place to work a long time ago, but everyone who contributed to the success is gone, because the most loyal employees are treated without any respect. The biggest joke is the "Chief Innovation Officer" who doesn't have the slightest clue about the products, the customers, technology, or the business.

    Continue reading
    Native Instruments2019-09-21
  6. Helpful (22)

    "Used to be a great company, looks more and more like a sinking ship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Native Instruments full-time

    Pros

    - working on interesting products - no overtime, good work/life balance - interesting and talented colleagues (as long as that lasts, company's been letting talented people go for a couple of years now and the trend is likely to continue)

    Cons

    - upper management is completely disconnected and lives in an ivory tower - middle management busier protecting a sub-optimal status quo that benefits them than making the changes the organization desperately needs - very little opportunities for career development and lots of office politics involved in getting these opportunities - company strategy changes every 3 months, lack of transparency in how and why these changes are justified - agile dogmatism: agile coaches with little understanding of the tech or the challenges the teams face have more influence in the company than the teams actually building the products

    Continue reading
    Native Instruments2019-03-21
  7. Helpful (9)

    "Great company with middle-age stagnation on the horizon"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Berlin
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Native Instruments

    Pros

    Great co-workers, nice office space, good work/life balance. Very little micromanagement and a culture that encourages rather than squeezes output from you. Very creative product and gives you premier access to the music industry. Your work is appreciated and the CEO takes a personal stake in congratulating all team members for their hard work. Employees care deeply about the product.

    Cons

    Cult-like dedication to SCRUM that stifles innovation, lower salary and fewer perks than a lot of other software jobs. Middle and upper management don't like boat-rockers and put very little stock in engineer's opinions. Few opportunities to "climb the ladder".

    Continue reading
    Native Instruments2016-01-06
Viewing 1 - 7 of 7 Reviews

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.