Natixis Developer Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Developer

Natixis Developer Reviews

Updated Jul 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 14 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
44%
Recommend to a Friend
50%
Approve of CEO
Natixis CEO François Riahi
François Riahi
2 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Good benefits, too beaurocratic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - UI/User Experience Developer in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Natixis full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Benefits are pretty good, 401K match, with the same amount contributed to company's own retirement plan. 5 years to get vested in the latter. Vacation time grows of up to 6 weeks. Knowledgeable people, but some of the hires and promotions are highly questionable.

    Cons

    Management does not want to listen to good ideas & proposals. Agile projects structure is only working within particular groups, & only b/w some of the departments, not as overall company policy. The projects would get approved from the higher level, without consulting people who might propose something better. Even if something better is proposed & might be favorably viewed of up to the highest possible level of, the proposals are generally dis-regarded in favor of old approved structure, even if it makes no sense. If the proposal are disregarded, it usually takes a very long time to build something and the problems with delivery and workflow are becoming "a bad taste in the mouth" for a long time. The lessons however are NOT learned & the same story usually repeats on a different project. Work from home is generally not approved, but it's up to the manager.

    Continue reading
    Natixis2018-04-25
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great company to start your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Junior Java Developer in Porto, Oporto
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Natixis full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good working conditions; Dynamic, exciting and prospering teams; Flexible schedule; Occasional trips to Paris

    Cons

    A lot of bureaucratic processes, slowing down efficiency; Too many layers of management; Overwhelming amount of legacy applications

    Continue reading
    Natixis2019-07-08

    Natixis Response

    August 5, 2019HR project manager

    Thank you for sharing your feedback on Natixis in Portugal. We are delighted to hear that you are having a positive experience in our company. We are very committed to create an inspiring work environment and we want to thank you for being part of it!

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (6)

    "Awful work environment, no work-life balance, lack of recognition, lack of respect and discriminatory treatment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer in Porto, Oporto
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Natixis full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Good facilities even though sometimes it rains inside, there's a small ceiling leak

    Cons

    - I had to make my personal money available to cover for professional expenses when travelling to Paris and I was only reimbursed after 2 months. - No overtime pay or compensatory rest when you are spending most of your Sundays at the airport because of business trips. - While some people had Porto Business School and certified Scrum Master Trainings, I was sent to Paris for several weeks, something that had a high negative impact on my personal life, to have training in Natixis' proprietary tools. This kind of training only benefits the company, the acquired knowledge becomes totally useless for the employee once he leaves the company since those tools aren't used anywhere else. - There's the possibility of working remotely from home once a week but they won't pay you the meal allowance - Obsolete and outdated technology (Prolog and waterfall development in 2019). - Incompetent people are being hired and the colleagues have to fix their mess. At a certain point my work was deleted and I had to redo it from scratch. Competent people's efforts are not recognized. - The environment in the department where I worked is absolutely awful. Some people are constantly telling lies and talking behind other people's backs. - The company gave tickets to a music festival during an after work event. The ticket distribution was completely unprofessional, they didn't ask for any ID. I wasn't able to attend the (non-mandatory) event for personal reasons so HR told me to pick up my ticket the next day. I found out that someone had impersonated me to STEAL my ticket. This happened to several people. There were absolutely no consequences for the thieves. - Only employees with children are eligible to receive circus tickets at Christmas. So people with children in their thirties receive multiple (3 or more) tickets while people with 9-year old nephews receive nothing. - Sometimes Natixis has a very small number of tickets for the employees to attend tech conferences. The tickets are almost always given to the same people despite the fact that the company has around 500 employees - Desktops are being replaced by more modern laptops and dual screens are being replaced by wide, curve monitors. There is absolutely no criteria to deliver the new equipment. People that joined after me received it. People that joined before me received it. Some co-workers even received the new equipment on day one. I was one of Natixis first employees and I left the company without receiving the new equipment. The work conditions, right and duties are not the same to everyone.

    Continue reading
    Natixis2019-04-15

    Natixis Response

    May 7, 2019HR project manager

    Thank you for your review on Natixis in Portugal. In Natixis, we truly appreciate feedback and transparency. It is key for us to have a clear vision of our employees’ insights and ideas, so we can create an increasingly better environment within our company. It would have been very helpful if you have discussed your perspective and suggestions with HR and/or your manager before leaving the company. Natixis wishes you all the best in your new challenges.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great environment, lack of challenging initiatives"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Junior Software Developer in Porto, Oporto
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Natixis full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very good environment, good work/life balance

    Cons

    Bad salary, lack of challenging initiatives.

    Continue reading
    Natixis2019-01-27

    Natixis Response

    February 28, 2019HR project manager

    Thank you for your feedback on Natixis. We are very committed with our people’s feedback and ideas to create a better environment within our IT Center of Expertise in Portugal. It would have been very helpful if you have shared your vision and insights with HR and/or your manager before leaving the company. Natixis wishes you all the best in your new challenges.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (11)

    "Kids who thinks they rule with 2nd class managment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Developer in Porto, Oporto
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Natixis full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    No work. Good facilities. Good location

    Cons

    It almost appears as a shell company was all that matters is hiring. If you don't have work to do, know one cares. If you do have work prepare for double management (Paris will give you work and regular management as Porto will do micro-management without adding nothing to your work). Prepare to be an underlining of HR (they act like if they are the gods). I would recommend anyone who gets a call from them to hang up ASAP.

    Continue reading
    Natixis2018-10-01

    Natixis Response

    October 3, 2018HR project manager

    Thank you for your feedback on Natixis in Portugal. We truly appreciate constructive feedback and transparency within our company. It would have been very helpful if you have shared your vision with HR and/or your manager before leaving the company. Natixis wishes you all the best in your new challenges.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (7)

    "Bad company to work in Porto Portugal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Net Developer in Porto, Oporto
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Natixis full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Don't have any pros. Please ask an college before accept a job. My advise

    Cons

    A bad company to work. Very unrespect to the collaborators. A company based in lies and bad environment. Very political. So bad...Please ask before aceppt any proposal.

    Continue reading
    Natixis2018-08-26

    Natixis Response

    September 7, 2018HR project manager

    Thank you for your feedback on Natixis in Portugal. We truly appreciate constructive feedback and transparency within our company. It would have been very helpful if you have shared your vision with HR and/or your manager before leaving the company. Natixis wishes you all the best in your new challenges.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (11)

    "Great opportunity to work for a large bank in Porto"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Porto, Oporto
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Natixis full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    .Great team spirit between all .Brand new office and equipments to work .Trainings during working hours .Possibility to work remotly from home .Same benefits for juniors and seniors developers with contract .Startup mindset - not usual for a Bank

    Cons

    .Some projects still uses legacy systems. Even though, many new tecnologies like DevOps, Big Data are being transfered to Porto.

    Continue reading
    Natixis2018-05-13

    Natixis Response

    May 7, 2019HR project manager

    Thank you for writing a review on Natixis in Portugal. It is a great honour for us to have such a positive and constructive feedback on our company. We are very committed to create an inspiring work environment and we want to thank you for being part of it!

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (6)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Porto, Oporto
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Natixis full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Great installations - Awesome people, everyone is really nice and the team spirit is great - You get to know different cultures and experience a lot of different views and opinions. Everyone is taken into account and respected - Flexible work hours and remote work - Free coffee and fruit - Trips to Paris :)

    Cons

    - HR lacks efficiency. Everything is a bit slow. - No free parking (the cost is a bit high)

    Continue reading
    Natixis2018-05-16

    Natixis Response

    August 16, 2018HR project manager

    Thank you for your review on Natixis in Portugal. In Natixis, we truly appreciate feedback and transparency within our company and we invite you to discuss your perspective and suggestions with HR and/or your manager. It is key for us to have a clear vision of your insights and ideas, so we can create an increasingly better environment within our company.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (20)

    "Natixis Porto - think twice or you will regret it..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Porto, Oporto
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Natixis full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Flexible workhours -Games, babyfoot, ping-pong, PS4 (you have a lot of freetime) -Free-coffee -Nice installations -Nice co-workers

    Cons

    -HR just don't know what they are doing -Their are recruiting like there is no tomorrow but there is no work to do, it's just to achieve HR goal.. 600 people -people is starting to leave... more want to and waiting for an oportunitity -managers don't really know what to do -everything is political always trying to get in the good grace of someone and nothing happens.. -when you have something to do is never challenging.. always crap that in France don't what to do... -everything is blocked.. to do something most of the time the problem is unblock access to some repository or something like that..

    Continue reading
    Natixis2018-04-24

    Natixis Response

    May 17, 2018HR project manager

    Thank you for your feedback on Natixis. We truly appreciate feedback and transparency within our company and we invite you to discuss your situation with HR and/or your manager. Our goal is to work with you, in order to create a more productive environment within our IT Center of Expertise and for its continuous growth. Again, your opinion is very useful to us.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent team and amazing people to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Applications Developer in Hong Kong
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Natixis full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great team, lots of new things to learn (if this is your first banking experience), excellent employee benefits, good remuneration (aligned with market standards)

    Cons

    Lack of opportunity to move to different teams within IT.

    Continue reading
    Natixis2017-12-09
Found 14 reviews