Natural Grocers by Vitamin Cottage Employee Reviews about "employee discount"

Updated Dec 26, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
62%
Recommend to a Friend
52%
Approve of CEO
Natural Grocers by Vitamin Cottage Co-President  Kemper Isely  (no image)
Kemper Isely
373 Ratings
Pros
  • "The employee discount is decent(in 52 reviews)

  • "Great benefits and a fun environment(in 31 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Home office is very disconnected from store level operations(in 71 reviews)

  • "Store managers and assistants will work ridiculous hours(in 50 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Natural Grocers by Vitamin Cottage and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "employee discount"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Amazing Coworkers, Compassionate Employer

      Nov 22, 2020 - Customer Care Representative in Denver, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Employee discount, free groceries and samples, monetary performance bonuses, friendly crew, good management, never a dull moment, lots to learn, great exercise, and awesome customers

      Cons

      Long hours on your feet if you have any back issues and, of course, navigating the COVID crisis and its impact and changes to the business

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Former Employee

      They'll squeeze the life from you.

      Dec 26, 2020 - Store Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They provide good employee discounts.

      Cons

      They expect 10 - 12 hours a day and/or more than 5 days a week from store managers.

      2 people found this review helpful

      Natural Grocers by Vitamin Cottage Response

      Recruiting Administrator

      We have about 20-25 employees in each store and it is an all hands on deck approach on most days. We do appreciate the hard work of our crew. Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.

    3. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Doesn't care about store employees

      Jul 22, 2020 - Grocery Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They have good employee discounts

      Cons

      Denied some employees their Hero Bonus for Covid-19 because of write-ups that happened even before the pandemic began.

      2 people found this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Terrible for Work/Life balance

      Jul 6, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Employee discount, Medical, Dental and vision insurance

      Cons

      No set schedule, constant schedule changes, worked four months straight during the pandemic and now requesting time off and several weeks are blocked out. Don't know when I will be able to take a rest. No regard for employee health.

      2 people found this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Phoenix Location Needs Improvement

      Oct 18, 2018 - Crew Member in Phoenix, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Vitamin Bucks were a great benefit, (though I do think it should have been $2 for every hour worked rather than $1). -Employee discounts are decent (10% off for produce, meat, dairy and frozen. 20% off for grocery and bulk. 30% off for body care and supplements.) 50% off everything would be much better, but at the end of the day, it's still a greedy corporation. -Shared beliefs amongst coworkers and customers. -Good core values and standards as far as products go. Definitely better than other large health food stores in this regard. -Has potential to be a great workplace.

      Cons

      -Management takes advantage of their position. Manipulative behavior, condescending remarks and a general snarky attitude are normal. -Scheduling was poorly thought out/insufficient. -Work/life balance was nonexistent. -HR didn't seem to do much of anything about issues that were brought to their attention. -Wages need to be higher. Company thinks it deserves a pat on the back for paying crew members $0.50 more than AZ minimum wage to start. Not even livable. A company that prides itself on the high standards they set for the products they offer should raise their standards in terms of wages and benefits.

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful

      Natural Grocers by Vitamin Cottage Response

      Recruiter

      We're sorry to hear that you did not have the best experience with Natural Grocers. Thanks for giving us this feedback, it will help us improve.

    6. 4.0
      Current Employee

      NG

      Aug 16, 2019 - Good4UCrew 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The employee discount is decent

      Cons

      The VitaBucks program seems a bit shady to me, $1 store credit for each hour worked. They could easily increase the hourly rate by $1 to spend as you please, but they pay you $1 less, and mask it as getting something for free. At least that is my perception.

      3 people found this review helpful

      Natural Grocers by Vitamin Cottage Response

      Talent Acquisition Strategist

      Thank you for taking time to give your feedback. We appreciate your thoughts and will continue to grow with the best interest of our Good4u crew in mind. We use the VitaBucks as a way for the employees to try out all the amazing products in the store without it coming out of their pay.

    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great company to work for!

      Oct 10, 2019 - Vitamin Manager in Colorado Springs, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Growth opportunities, excellent benefits, employee discount and other perks like birthday pay, incredible integrity behind business model

      Cons

      None that I have experienced.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Overall a disapointing experience

      Feb 11, 2019 - Store Support in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Employee discount is good, great coworkers and some nice customers. Provides great products for customers.

      Cons

      They refuse to hire extra workers but expect the employees they do have to work extra hard to make up for that. This has led to burnout, low morale, and depression among among the staff but corporate doesn't care. They claim that their employees are a priority in their core values but that is just lip service. Management can't really help the workers in this regard and they just recite the corporate excuse about not having money for extra help. Essentially your expected to run 110 percent on a skeleton crew. Extremely high turn over is the result. Unless your a store manager or assistant store manager, it's impossible to motivate yourself to work here long term.

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful

      Natural Grocers by Vitamin Cottage Response

      Recruiter

      Thanks for your feedback. We'e always open to listening to our good4u Crew on ways we can improve. Please reach out to your management team to see if we can improve your experience.

    9. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Keeps Geting Worse

      May 13, 2019 - Department Manager in Tucson, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great co-workers. Good employee discount. Vitamin Bucks.

      Cons

      Extremely understaffed & overworked. No overtime. Underpaid. Very stressful. Poorly trained store managers. Pointless training videos. People don't learn by watching videos, they learn hands on.

      Continue reading
      13 people found this review helpful

      Natural Grocers by Vitamin Cottage Response

      Recruiter

      Thanks for sharing your input on your experience, we will pass along your feedback. Please reach out to your direct management team so they can help shape your day-to-day experience in a positive way. Natural Grocers is committed to the employees and our training is always evolving and improving as we implement progressive retail technologies, including our Store Simulation Center for new managers in our beautiful hometown of Golden, CO. We're glad to hear you're enjoying the discount and Vitamin bucks.

    10. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      I wish the employees were valued as much as the company claims they are.

      Jan 3, 2014 - Systems Developer in Lakewood, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good employee discount, and I loved the thought that I would be helping make a difference in the organic/natural foods area. In-store training is a great idea.

      Cons

      As an employee in the home office I felt it to be, quite frankly, depressing. It's mostly a dark, windowless warehouse space with rooms partitioned off to be offices. The lighting and environment feels terrible, so in this sense employees are sacrificed to keep costs down. As a salaried employee I was still forced to punch in and out, which I found to be unusual. Upon being hired I was never really given a proper tour or explanation of how things were run, and never once met the CEO or any other executives. For such a small corporate office it seems like a given that I would have been introduced and welcomed, but there appears to be an us/them division between the executives and everyone else. I think that trickles down, because nearly everyone else I came across was reluctant to introduce themselves to me and make me feel welcome.

      Continue reading
      16 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 52 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Natural Grocers by Vitamin Cottage Job Seekers

    Nutritional Health Coach
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Natural Grocers by Vitamin Cottage? Share Your Experiences

    or