KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Natural Grocers by Vitamin Cottage

Is this your company?

Natural Grocers by Vitamin Cottage

Add a Review

Natural Grocers by Vitamin Cottage Employee Reviews about "home office"

Updated Nov 30, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 71 of over 696 reviews

3.4
62%
Recommend to a Friend
52%
Approve of CEO
Natural Grocers by Vitamin Cottage Co-President  Kemper Isely  (no image)
Kemper Isely
373 Ratings
Pros
  • "The employee discount is decent(in 52 reviews)

  • "Great benefits and a fun environment(in 31 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Home office is very disconnected from store level operations(in 71 reviews)

  • "Store managers and assistants will work ridiculous hours(in 50 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Natural Grocers by Vitamin Cottage and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "home office"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Dairy/Frozen Manager

      Sep 19, 2017 - Dairy Manager in Missoula, MT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Amazing company to work for. They take very good care of their employees. They are very willing to work with you on a positive work/life balance.

      Cons

      The home office is not big enough or adequately staffed for how many stores they have. I think they are expanding to quickly.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Natural Grocers by Vitamin Cottage Response

      Recruiting Admin

      Thank you for your feedback! We appreciate our good4u employees and the passion you have for creating a positive workplace.

    2. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Good intentions, terrible execution

      Nov 30, 2020 - Produce Manager in Phoenix, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Decent pay, in store discounts

      Cons

      Do the job of 3 people. Never enough staff on hand, high turn around. Home office is very disconnected from store level operations.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Beware of Becoming a Salaried Employee in Management

      Jun 30, 2020 - Store Manager in Tucson, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The team the you work with is friendly. This is a great place to work if you stick to a department manager role or below.

      Cons

      The Home Office is manipulative. There is no support or grace from the store “support” center. As a manager, when you are working hard to keep up with all of their unrealistic and expectations in the midst of not being able to freely lead a team, you become burnt out and it gets more difficult to do the job. The manager positions are set up for you to fail and I hope that the Isleys and the rest of them in their ivory tower realize that some day. I felt like the benefits were good and the pay was decent but I felt so miserable and burnt out- it was like Stockholm Syndrome. I am thankful that they let me go.

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Good Principals Poor HR And Politics

      Jul 14, 2020 - Store Manager in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Vision and goals are really good. -Genuine commitment to better families and the community they serve. -Store hours are very good for retail. -Work and be fun and challenging. -True team environment.

      Cons

      Small company growing pains. -HR inconsistent and unsupportive, needs a lot of improvement. -Small time home office and family politics to contend with - store support not held accountable as stores are. - Very disorganized at times. -Allow your managers to run their stores and respond to their concerns promptly. -Task hours are at minimal. -Minimal local support for managers.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      What you see isn't what you get

      Aug 9, 2020 - Department Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The company itself has very altruistic and grandiose goals. Very environmentally friendly, cost friendly, and attempt to maintain an educated staff.

      Cons

      This company operates so poorly it's amazing it's still in operation today. For as long as it's been around, it should be much further developed than it is currently. Probably because from a home office perspective down, they are way more concerned about minute issues that can be, or in some cases were, resolved successfully and throwing people under the bus instead of managing the big picture. The company postures itself as caring for it's "crew" but in fact could care less what you bring to the table as far as talent, work ethic, consistency is concerned. You're paid little and your benefits are poor. The technology they use is so out dated, they can't keep up. If you do leave, pray that your cobra information was entered correctly, because apparently they can't even manage that. As a part of their team, you are nothing more than a disposable cog in a rusted machine just trying to get by. Employees barely have the tools, if at all, to do their jobs well and if those tools fail, it's the employees that are held accountable. Did i mention that there are a number of complaints and suites filed with the BBB, and yet the same core issues remain. It takes very little digging once you're employed to start finding all the skeletons in the closet and that is disheartening for a company that could achieve so much.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Run

      Dec 10, 2019 - Assistant Store Manager in Olathe, KS
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Vitamin Bucks, PTO, nothing else that I can think of

      Cons

      Home Office, HR, Rewards Program, Company wide sales with little knowledge before hand, system crashes

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Company

      Mar 1, 2019 - Store Manager in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great Pay. Great Perks such as Birthday Pay and Vitamin Bucks Card

      Cons

      Horrible Human Resource Department, Company Threatens Managers doesn't support them, Colorado stores are ran different than all others, constant turn over in home office, Outdated POS and ordering systems

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful

      Natural Grocers by Vitamin Cottage Response

      Recruiter

      Thanks for your feedback, we're always reviewing areas to improve. Our perks & benefits help support our good4u Crew to grow and thrive as they advance their career.

    8. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Okay job, but terrible "career"

      May 29, 2019 - Department Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      1. Discounts: You will receive 10% off meat, dairy, and produce, 20% grocery, 30% vitamins and body care 2. Coworkers: You will meet some awesome people here, unfortunately, the morale is so low, you'll watch them find other jobs one by one. 3. Environmental stewardship: this company actually recycles, unlike places like Whole Foods, who have bins for recycling, but just throw recyclables away. With the exception of the "founding principle" that says employees are well treated, they actually seem to care about their goals. They do not care about their staff at all though, beyond a silly show. 4. Laid back atmosphere as far as dress code. 5. Local management at my location is actually excellent, despite working for a company that sets them up for failure by chronic understaffing. Here is a number: our store saw its sales increase by 46% over the past year, but our labor didn't increase by a single hour.

      Cons

      1. Lowest pay in the industry: Here is what you will make: general staff $11, assistant managers $12, and department managers $15. There is no pay based on experience here. You could have a phD and ten years of management, and you'll still start at $15 for a department manager. Raises are a maximum of 3% each year, and you won't be getting 3%. You can get paid at least $3 a hour more anywhere else in the grocery industry for the same job. Half of our employees are on public assistance. 2. The very worst benefits package I've ever seen at any job. The health insurance packs a $3500 deductible, and they will match your HSA to maximum of $20 a month. This insurance is so useless that most don't carry it at all. If you have a family, you'll want to avoid this catastrophic only plan, where you need to break both legs for help, because one won't meet the deductible. Nothing is covered until the deductible is met, and unlike most companies with these two bit high deductible health plans, they don't contribute anything significant to your HSA. Every year for the past three, the health insurance has plummeted despite huge company growth, so it will get worse! They will send you this insulting HR memos that say things like "with our wonderful insurance, you get a free wellness visit each year, because we care!" like people don't realize they are required to do that by federal law. There is NO GUARANTEED 401K CONTRIBUTIONS! Every year, they throw out the possibility of a "401K match" but it is discretionary, and even if you do get it, they will only match 25% of what you do. This means you have to set back 10% for them to put in 2.5%, then they act like they are so magnanimous in giving it. Even Walmart cares more than this. 3. The myth of the "family owned company": they recite this mantra like this is some mom and pop operation instead of a billion dollar corporation. What that translates to is the Isely family takes care of themselves and treats their employees like they are giving them alms instead of offering them a career. You'll get to hear the cringeworthy unrehearsed announcements from one of the Isely family constantly, for example, on the PA. The reality is this family thinks they know everything and doesn't listed to their employees at all. This is not a company that welcomes feedback or criticism. You are not paid to think! 4. This is a great part time job, but an awful career. With the poor salary prospects, horrible insurance, and practically non-existent retirement planning, you might think about working here part time for the discount, which is really the only thing to appreciate. 5. Micromanagement from the top down by incompetent corporate home office. 6. Natural Grocers has a zero enforcement policy for shoplifting. Despite hemorrhaging thousands upon thousands of dollars of shrink every week, they do nothing except blame employees. If they simply had adequate loss prevention tactics, this alone would pay for several more employees in our store alone. Instead, they care more about thieves than employees. Indeed, even when drunk homeless people come in and harass employees and customers, we aren't allowed to eject them without getting approval from the Isely family.

      Continue reading
      12 people found this review helpful

      Natural Grocers by Vitamin Cottage Response

      Recruiter

      Thank you for your detailed feedback. We'll definitely pass this along to management as we're always looking to improve and we recommend reaching out to your management team. We're glad you're enjoying the discount and working alongside like-minded peers in a sustainable industry.

    9. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Double standards

      Jun 13, 2019 - Assistant Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Let's you be creative, great benefits, above average pay

      Cons

      Home office creates an environment for double standards. They can treat anyone however they like, but hold store managers and assistant managers to a higher standard. Proper communication is leaving

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      ASM

      Nov 8, 2015 - Anonymous in Denver, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The company tries to maintain the small-town, family owned feel from bygone years and it works hard to stay competitive with larger companies like Whole Foods and Sprouts. Their product pricing is always at or below the prices of their competitors; for the most part, significantly lower. The potential for advancement in this organization is wild and easily attainable. The pay for entry level positions is much higher than minimum wage and the benefits are desirable. Upper level management from outside, experienced recruitment is happening more frequently and it's changing the way the stores operate, for the better. The ability to get involved with the community by participating in store sponsored events and cooking demos is not seen in many other like businesses. It feels great to work for a company that has such high standards for health and wellness.

      Cons

      Management conference calls with Home Office don't accomplish as much as store management could do on the product floor, yet they are mandatory. Managers don't feel much support from their HO team. I believe store management would benefit the company more with regularly scheduled off site training provided by quality & experienced contractors. Npower reward program is a great way to stay competitive and interactive with customers, but there is not enough support for stores for the program to be successful. Customers experience too many glitches for them to see the value behind it and store employees suffer because they have no way to solve Npower problems- we look unprofessional and uncaring because we have to defer the customers to manage the problem directly with an outside agency.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 71 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Natural Grocers by Vitamin Cottage Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Natural Grocers by Vitamin Cottage? Share Your Experiences

    or