KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Natural Grocers by Vitamin Cottage

Is this your company?

Natural Grocers by Vitamin Cottage

Add a Review

Natural Grocers by Vitamin Cottage Employee Reviews about "store managers"

Updated Dec 26, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
62%
Recommend to a Friend
52%
Approve of CEO
Natural Grocers by Vitamin Cottage Co-President  Kemper Isely  (no image)
Kemper Isely
373 Ratings
Pros
  • "The employee discount is decent(in 52 reviews)

  • "Great benefits and a fun environment(in 31 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Home office is very disconnected from store level operations(in 71 reviews)

  • "Store managers and assistants will work ridiculous hours(in 50 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Natural Grocers by Vitamin Cottage and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "store managers"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Good company

      Nov 16, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Amarillo, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      This company offers employee discounts and training. For a retail store they offer great benefits and holidays off and advancement from within.

      Cons

      Depending on the store management it can be a great place to work or a stressful place to work.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Natural Grocers by Vitamin Cottage Response

      Talent/Social Media Coordinator

      Glad you have had such a positive experience at Natural Grocers! We appreciate all of our team members and are proud to offer some industry leading perks like Vitamin Bucks and closing our doors on holidays so our employees can spend time with their friends and family. We appreciate your feedback and will continue to grow with the best interest of our employees in mind, because our employees are what makes us great!

    2. 2.0
      Former Employee

      They'll squeeze the life from you.

      Dec 26, 2020 - Store Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They provide good employee discounts.

      Cons

      They expect 10 - 12 hours a day and/or more than 5 days a week from store managers.

      2 people found this review helpful

      Natural Grocers by Vitamin Cottage Response

      Recruiting Administrator

      We have about 20-25 employees in each store and it is an all hands on deck approach on most days. We do appreciate the hard work of our crew. Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.

    3. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Good Values, weird Owners

      Jan 2, 2020 - Vitamin Manager in Denver, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I love a lot of things the company promotes and overall I think they're doing good for communities and the world. For example they only sell organic produce, they don't use plastic bags, they promote natural health and really want to educate the community.

      Cons

      Getting time off can be very challenging. Management can be very bad depending on what store you work at. Store managers and assistants will work ridiculous hours. They hire a lot of weird people. The owners are a family and they seems very strange in all my interactions with them. Their commercials are terrible. Overall I don't think that real talent is valued and that people are treated as disposable.

      1 person found this review helpful

      Natural Grocers by Vitamin Cottage Response

      Talent Acquisition Strategist

      Sorry to hear that you didn't get the level of support you expected. Thank you for taking the time to give us your honest feedback! We care deeply about our people and go above and beyond to provide the support that you need.

    4. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Not a Career Friendly or Family friendly company.

      Oct 2, 2019 - Grocery Manager in Oklahoma City, OK
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Okay Pay Good discount That’s it...

      Cons

      No training for management Bare Bones staff, yet demanding daily task lists Incompetent Store managers hired repeatedly Sales that make 0 business sense

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful

      Natural Grocers by Vitamin Cottage Response

      Talent Acquisition Strategist

      Sorry to hear that you didn't get the level of support you expected. Thank you for taking the time to give us your honest feedback! We care deeply about our people and go above and beyond to provide the support that you need.

    5. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Lots of rules that don't apply to everyone

      Nov 3, 2019 - Department Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Discounts, good starting pay, managers that care

      Cons

      Training was incomplete, store managers work too much, serious problem employees are not dealt with very fast

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Quick to promote, even quicker to fire management!!!

      Dec 12, 2019 - Store Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Discounts, fun coworkers, occasional free samples.

      Cons

      Absolutely no support from upper management. Store Managers are not allowed to act as store managers & when we do, we are the ones who get "disciplinary actions"! My advice; do not accept a position higher than dept. mgr.!

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful

      Natural Grocers by Vitamin Cottage Response

      Talent Acquisition Strategist

      Sorry to hear that you didn't get the level of support you expected. Thank you for taking the time to give us your honest feedback! We care deeply about our people and go above and beyond to provide the support that you need. If you are not getting that support from your manager, please contact HR at HR@naturalgrocers.com so that we can help.

    7. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Keeps Geting Worse

      May 13, 2019 - Department Manager in Tucson, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great co-workers. Good employee discount. Vitamin Bucks.

      Cons

      Extremely understaffed & overworked. No overtime. Underpaid. Very stressful. Poorly trained store managers. Pointless training videos. People don't learn by watching videos, they learn hands on.

      Continue reading
      13 people found this review helpful

      Natural Grocers by Vitamin Cottage Response

      Recruiter

      Thanks for sharing your input on your experience, we will pass along your feedback. Please reach out to your direct management team so they can help shape your day-to-day experience in a positive way. Natural Grocers is committed to the employees and our training is always evolving and improving as we implement progressive retail technologies, including our Store Simulation Center for new managers in our beautiful hometown of Golden, CO. We're glad to hear you're enjoying the discount and Vitamin bucks.

    8. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Double standards

      Jun 13, 2019 - Assistant Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Let's you be creative, great benefits, above average pay

      Cons

      Home office creates an environment for double standards. They can treat anyone however they like, but hold store managers and assistant managers to a higher standard. Proper communication is leaving

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Worst Company Ever

      Aug 26, 2019 - Merchandiser in Salem, OR
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It's easy to get fired so you don't have to work there anymore.

      Cons

      This place is run by total lunatics from the very top down to the store managers.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful

      Natural Grocers by Vitamin Cottage Response

      Talent Acquisition Strategist

      Sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy working with us at Natural Grocers. We are proud of our commitment to our employees; it’s one of our Five Founding Principles. We encourage good4u crew members to be direct with the Store Support Center about their concerns. Reach out to HR@naturalgrocers.com or the HR Hotline if you would like to discuss your concerns further.

    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      ASM

      Nov 8, 2015 - Anonymous in Denver, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The company tries to maintain the small-town, family owned feel from bygone years and it works hard to stay competitive with larger companies like Whole Foods and Sprouts. Their product pricing is always at or below the prices of their competitors; for the most part, significantly lower. The potential for advancement in this organization is wild and easily attainable. The pay for entry level positions is much higher than minimum wage and the benefits are desirable. Upper level management from outside, experienced recruitment is happening more frequently and it's changing the way the stores operate, for the better. The ability to get involved with the community by participating in store sponsored events and cooking demos is not seen in many other like businesses. It feels great to work for a company that has such high standards for health and wellness.

      Cons

      Management conference calls with Home Office don't accomplish as much as store management could do on the product floor, yet they are mandatory. Managers don't feel much support from their HO team. I believe store management would benefit the company more with regularly scheduled off site training provided by quality & experienced contractors. Npower reward program is a great way to stay competitive and interactive with customers, but there is not enough support for stores for the program to be successful. Customers experience too many glitches for them to see the value behind it and store employees suffer because they have no way to solve Npower problems- we look unprofessional and uncaring because we have to defer the customers to manage the problem directly with an outside agency.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 50 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Natural Grocers by Vitamin Cottage Job Seekers

    Nutritional Health Coach
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Natural Grocers by Vitamin Cottage? Share Your Experiences

    or