Nautilus Insurance Reviews | Glassdoor

Nautilus Insurance Reviews

Updated February 20, 2017
23 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

3.6
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Thomas M. Kuzma
12 Ratings

23 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

  1. "Great Place to Work"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Scottsdale, AZ
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Scottsdale, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Nautilus Insurance full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    - stable company
    - 30+ years in business
    - career development and advancement opportunities
    - flexibility in hours (most departments will allow you to choose your core hours)
    - supportive management to move around internally, if desired
    - culture has been improving with new leadership
    - better than average performance bonuses and/or profit sharing

    Cons

    - lower salaries than competitors
    - middle of the road health benefits

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees. Many of those that are leaving are for either higher salaries or promotion opportunities.

    Nautilus Insurance Response

    Aug 1, 2016 – Vice President of Human Resources

    Thank you for your review and input! We appreciate hearing from you and strive to improve!


  2. "BA"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nautilus Insurance full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Good Company Benefits & Compensations

    Cons

    Management does micro management. Overall people are nice, but management needs to set clear expectations

    Advice to Management

    Please trust your employees.
    Clear company communication processes to new employee.


  3. "Positive Working Experience"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Nautilus Insurance full-time

    Pros

    Being a part of the Nautilus team is being part of the Nautilus family! As an employee of Nautilus, I truly feel appreciated. When you look around Nautilus, you see lots of longevity!!There are smiling faces everywhere and people enjoy what they do. The employee presence emits energy. I enjoy and love working at Nautilus!!

    Cons

    Nothing to add for cons.


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "Great Place to Work"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in Scottsdale, AZ
    Current Employee - Analyst in Scottsdale, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Working towards common goals, with everyone playing a valuable part. Nautilus has chosen not to rest on our successes, but to work together to become even more successful. The CEO hosts monthly meetings with all associates to keep everyone informed. Our technology team is working to deliver the best rating & issuance solution in our field. Providing outstanding service to our General Agents is always top of mind. We are able to effectively work with our WR Berkley parent, while retaining localized autonomy and expertise. Very stable company who know where they are going!

    Cons

    The perception of our product offering is that it is more limited than some competitors. However, we are always refining what we offer, so I hope our general agents always think of us first for their account needs. We help create solutions.

    Advice to Management

    Keep pushing us all to be our best, work hard to retain the family like culture you have created.

    Nautilus Insurance Response

    Jun 29, 2016 – Vice President of Human Resources

    Thank you so much for your input! We're glad you're with us!


  6. "Great talent, clear vision, and positivity is growing in their culture!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nautilus Insurance (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Strong, focused goals for a path of continued success called Vision 2020!
    Great benefits, facility, stability, and talent on board.
    Nautilus promotes a healthy lifestyle, has fun events for its employees, does a great job of giving back to the community, and promotes a work/life balance to ensure people can and DO enjoy their family and friends.
    Nautilus is becoming a more positive environment.
    Not afraid of change.

    Cons

    Need more defined career paths (along with coaching, follow-up, and encouragement) for all employees (in all departments).
    At times, it can be difficult to feel appreciated if you are not in Underwriting.

    Advice to Management

    Stay calm, focus on professional development and career paths for your employees, and motivate/appreciate your people like crazy! Recognize it takes ALL employees to make it work. It will all pay off, as this is a great Company!

    Nautilus Insurance Response

    Jun 29, 2016 – Vice President of Human Resources

    Thank you so much for your service and your review! We appreciate you!!


  7. "Great Company"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nautilus Insurance (More than a year)

    Pros

    Nautilus Insurance Group has a clear vision with an eye on reaching a specific goal by the year 2020. They are listening to the market and adjusting accordingly. Management seems to be more focused than ever on creating an atmosphere that supports positive change through empowerment and accountability.

    Cons

    Management seems to be recruiting from a single source. This seems to taint the culture more than I like to see. While the company seems to be adopting a very progressive tone, the music played throughout the building is very down beat and old style elevator music. Rarely if ever do employees receive marketing junkets to help promote product lines or morale.

    Advice to Management

    Continue advancing efforts to become the company of choice in the E&S market place and the employer of choice in the phoenix area.

    Nautilus Insurance Response

    Jun 27, 2016 – Vice President of Human Resources

    Thank you for your review and feedback! We appreciate it!


  8. "Leader in the industry, best is still ahead"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Great office, casual work environment, great reputation in the market, a culture that loves working with their partner MGA's, a ton of learning opportunities and continuing education. Very stable inside and out, and a leader in Berkley Group.

    Cons

    They can be very slow to make changes, but any company of this size is. Higher management can be too detached from front lines at times.

    Advice to Management

    Embrace the future

    Nautilus Insurance Response

    May 23, 2016 – Vice President of Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback! We appreciate it!


  9. "Interesting work, growing/changing organization, great place to work"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nautilus Insurance full-time

    Pros

    Nautilus is a strong, solid business, has visionary leadership in Tom Kuzma (CEO), amazing benefits, great backing from W. R. Berkley (Fortune 500 parent company) and has lots of growth potential.

    Cons

    Nautilus is going through some initiatives around business growth and culture change. While those items are appearing to be successful, change isn't always easy and there has been some pain about it.

    Nautilus Insurance Response

    May 13, 2016 – Vice President of Human Resources

    Thank you for your review and feedback!


  10. "Positioned for Success"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Underwriter
    Current Employee - Underwriter
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nautilus Insurance full-time

    Pros

    Innovative and forward-thinking
    Values its employees
    Close-knit culture with strong corporate backing
    High-energy environment

    Nautilus is an excellent place to work. The company is small and nimble enough to seize opportunities and implement ideas quickly, and the contributions and voices of its employees are acknowledged and valued. Opportunities for growth and advancement are evident as the company is positioned for significant growth over the next several years.

    Cons

    Maintaining adequate staffing has been a challenge in Underwriting. Nautilus has been referred to in the local market as a "sweatshop" which has hurt its ability to retain and draw in talent; however, this is an unfair labeling of the corporate culture fueled by dissatisfied former employees. This is a wonderful company to work for that provides ample opportunity and work/life balance; give it a chance!

    Advice to Management

    Keep supporting your "worker bees" on the production floor and encouraging growth and advancement from within.

    Nautilus Insurance Response

    May 11, 2016 – Vice President of Human Resources

    Thank you so much for your review! We're excited you're at Nautilus!


  11. "Nautilus Feedback"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Nautilus Insurance full-time

    Pros

    Great Benefits and Beautiful Facility in great Scottsdale location

    Cons

    Mindset and mentality of senior leaders make it difficult for new employees; very structured

    Nautilus Insurance Response

    Jun 27, 2016 – Vice President of Human Resources

    Thank you for reviewing us! We appreciate your constructive feedback as we are always working toward improvement.



Showing 23 of 23 reviews
Reset Filters