Nautilus Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Nautilus Reviews

Updated Oct 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 91 reviews

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
84%
Recommend to a Friend
Nautilus CEO James Barr (no image)
James Barr
1 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work life balance, they provode ample opportunity to interact with other employees(in 15 reviews)

  • "Great culture - everyone cares so much about customer experience and employee experience(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "Since the creation of the chat department 4 years ago, sales and customer service still draw blanks as to all we can do/not do on chat(in 3 reviews)

  • "The employees are fun to work with however upper management can be fake and not very genuine(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "Tough to Get in for a Reason"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Communications Specialist in Vancouver, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nautilus full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fantastic people all around, AMAZING company culture, CEO is accessible to anyone, genuinely cares about its product quality and customer satisfaction.

    Cons

    Nothing that I can think of or have experienced myself.

    Continue reading
    Nautilus2018-10-25
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Life @ Nautilus Month 2"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Program Manager in Vancouver, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nautilus full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The culture from executive leadership down is exceptional! I also appreciate the onboarding process, the organization has made me feel welcome and given me all the tools I need to be successful.

    Cons

    It's a relatively small company, perhaps not a lot of growth potential. I do not have enough experience to know yet.

    Continue reading
    Nautilus2019-01-08
  3. "Mismanaged Company with VERY Limited Growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Professional Position in Vancouver, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Nautilus full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There is a small, but decently equipped workout room on site. Convenient, if you live in Vancouver or Camas. Free entry into Tough Mudder once a year.

    Cons

    Horribly managed. From the top down, the company seems to value janky as-seen-on-TV type experience vs. people who are experienced professionals in the fitness industry. That is not to say that there aren't some folks who are enthusiastic about fitness that also happen to work there, but just take a look at the executive suite and their front line. NOT ONE actual fitness person and the results speak for themselves. The stock price has dropped 95% since 2016 with Peleton basically eating their lunch while they scramble and try to come up with a compelling product and play catch up with technology adoption. The bottom line is that this place should not be called "Nautilus" since they basically sell this brand to a more capable company, and should instead call themselves the "Bowflex Company" since that's really their bread and butter. Hocking gimmicky products on late night television to people who probably shouldn't taking on debt with false promises of losing weight. It's also no secret that they've had to lay off a significant portion of their workforce, all of the senior leaders have abandoned ship and they have no clear direction on how to right the ship since their competition is leaps and bounds ahead of them. Also worth noting that they generally do not promote from within, so if you take a job there, you better love it because you won't be promoted...which leads to high turnover and a lack of in-depth industry experience across the remaining staff. Steer Clear the place is a loser with abysmal prospects to grow.

    Continue reading
    Nautilus2019-10-12
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Grteat Benefits, Not So Good Direct Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Digital Support Specialist in Vancouver, WA
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nautilus full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The company tries to attain a family culture and available amenities. While the high school cliquish feeling takes some of that away, it is nice to see that they try.

    Cons

    1. Backdated my bereavement leave for the loss of a child. I was cautioned to not use PTO as we were understaffed already before needing the time off. 2. Management frequently forgot/misplaced instruction, and would have us pull up emails to show past instruction. 3. Direct management overworked, team lead meant to take some of her work not properly trained to assist. 4. No support from management on the weekend. 5. Weekend employees had been locked out of the building on a few occasions (15+) unable to get hold of management to unlock the automated doors. 6. Many policy and marketing strategies are extremely confusing to customers, and when an intern CEO tried to rectify some of them, marketing flips it back over with more confusing tactics. 7. More duties with same pay. Since joining, my duties had increased by $400% easily - however pay only changed with the uptick of minimum wage every year to keep you the same distance ahead. 8. Since the creation of the chat department 4 years ago, sales and customer service still draw blanks as to all we can do/not do on chat. We are the same when it comes to stats, but we are so much different, not really belonging to any other department. 9 -> When you are told by your bosses boss that there will be no room to move up in the company, it is time to spread your wings and fly to better opportunities.

    Continue reading
    Nautilus2019-07-31
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Needs New Guidance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Nautilus full-time

    Pros

    Benefits and Culture are awesome as is work life balance.

    Cons

    Dysfunctional Management needs to be overhauled.

    Nautilus2019-07-24
  6. "Great stepping stone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Personal Trainer in Sherman, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Nautilus full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Close Knit employees Laid back atmosphere

    Cons

    Long hours/days Commission heavy compensation

    Nautilus2019-06-17
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Good company but not adapting to the industry dynamics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Vancouver, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Nautilus full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing culture. Great products. Good people and work environment.

    Cons

    Not quick enough to adapt to industry changes.

    Nautilus2019-05-30
  8. Helpful (1)

    "The worst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Nautilus full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The cons outweigh the pros-no sense in mentioning any.

    Cons

    -Departments work in silos -Incompetent management -Conformity is a requirement - there is no creative problem solving allowed. It’s either their way or the highway. Take the highway! -You are just a body filling a seat, your worth is defined by how much of a robot you can be.

    Continue reading
    Nautilus2019-06-14
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Be ordinary. Folks don't like it when you are a MAX!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Nautilus full-time

    Pros

    Good onboarding process Friendly teammates Learning opportunity for new grads

    Cons

    Departments are siloed. People do not want to share critical information across different teams working on similar projects. No opportunity for career growth No ownership- Be prepared to let a few main teams take away your best work. Folks do not like being challenged here for a good outcome

    Nautilus2019-04-30
  10. Helpful (3)

    "It’s been better..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Direct Sales Representative in Vancouver, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Nautilus full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good product, good work-life balance.

    Cons

    Execs jumping ship, stale product.

    Continue reading
    Nautilus2019-03-29
Found 91 reviews