Nautilus Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Aug 5, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 18 of over 119 reviews

4.1
81%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Nautilus Chief Executive Officer James Barr
James Barr
13 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work life balance, they provode ample opportunity to interact with other employees(in 15 reviews)

  • "Great culture - everyone cares so much about customer experience and employee experience(in 11 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "communication between departments could stand some improvement(in 4 reviews)

  • "Fast pace of the job can be challenging at times(in 3 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "work life balance"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great products, great work environment

      Dec 19, 2018 - Senior Applications Developer in Vancouver, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Talented people - Approachable leadership - Good work/life balance - Regular Blazers/concert ticket giveaways - Working on products that help people live healthier and happier lives - Company brands Nautilus, Bowflex, Schwinn Fitness, Octane, have great recognition and reputation. - Employee discounts on fitness equipment.

      Cons

      - The company is still pretty new to making software products, and still getting used to Agile processes. - They are primarily a hardware company, and are still learning about software development cycles, and how much faster they can be. - The east Vancouver location can be a tough commute for people coming from the Portland west side. - There is some resistance to allowing people to work remotely. Some of the folks working on the hardware side don't really have that option because of all the equipment the need to do their work. Remote working isn't really an option for them, and there can be some hard feelings about it. - Health insurance options are decent, but not outstanding.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Great Company

      Aug 5, 2020 - Customer Service Representative 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Culture and management, fun place to work

      Cons

      Work life balance and growth

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Needs New Guidance

      Jul 24, 2019 - Operations 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits and Culture are awesome as is work life balance.

      Cons

      Dysfunctional Management needs to be overhauled.

      2 people found this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Analyst

      Aug 25, 2015 - Washington in Vancouver, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nautilus was such and amazing company to work for, the culture is the best I have ever encountered. The company really cares for their employees and backs up their dedication by offering great work life balance, a focus on employee health and fitness, lots of events and activities balancing hard work with a little company ‘fun time’. This type of culture promoted a company wide cohesiveness that lead to a natural inclination towards teamwork. I feel like the level of employee engagement was incredible supported by lots of communication and opportunities for employees to provide feedback. In addition, the company encourages innovation and embraces well-vetted change in processes to propel the business towards the future. I will forever value my years spent working for Nautilus.

      Cons

      The biggest downside to my time at Nautilus is that it is a relatively small company. Despite the small company size, I still was able to advance within my department receiving lots of mentorship, learning opportunities, promotional opportunities, and overall I gained tons of valuable cross-functional exposure that boosted my experience way beyond my role. Eventually though, after many years, my career needs outgrew the company.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      It’s been better...

      Mar 28, 2019 - Direct Sales Representative in Vancouver, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good product, good work-life balance.

      Cons

      Execs jumping ship, stale product.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Care Manager

      Oct 10, 2016 - Customer Care Manager in Vancouver, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nautilus is one of, if the not the best, employer I have had in my 30 years of being in the workforce! The company culture is second to none. Collaboration and empowering team members is absolutely encouraged. Work life balance is also encouraged, and I cannot say that for most companies. Having fun and taking care of the customer is a part of each and every day. At Nautilus, we take care of the customer and coach our team members on a regular basis. We also encourage our team members to make suggestions for improvements! We also just celebrated Customer Service Appreciation Week last week and ensured our team felt how much our team is appreciated for the hard work they put in each day. Treats and games everyday for a week- and not during lunch or after hours, but while the team is being paid! There are so many things that Nautilus is doing right! I know I have made the right decision joining this company!

      Cons

      Honestly, I cannot think of one!

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Overall Great Experience, Though They Have Some Big Challenges

      Dec 22, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in Vancouver, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Talented and hard working team -Couldn't have asked for a better and more flexible boss -Friendly and enthusiastic team members across all departments -Clear goal setting -Relatively good work/life balance

      Cons

      -Serious challenges in compensation increases for the strongest performers in the company -Can sometimes feel like a "boy's club" in certain departments, with some folks unexpectedly receiving promotions, while others who should be promoted are not -Limited brand vision

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Company

      May 4, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Vancouver, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Manager is truly caring, smart, and wants their employees to grow. I have opportunities to move up in the Company. Great work/life balance. People listen to each other and work together.

      Cons

      Compensation is on the low end. Pay increase format needs improvement. Great performers are not always paid what they should be.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great company to learn and grow

      Aug 25, 2015 - Anonymous Employee in Vancouver, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Amazing company culture, incredible health benefits, supportive work-life balance, on-site gym, business casual environment, great place to learn (continuing business education programs), investment opportunities. The CEO knows everyone's name and has an open door policy. You want to do good work for him, he's just a great guy! Yearly reviews with merit increase, great employee perks like employee happy hour, patio parties, employee kickball league with finale BBQ (family friendly), entry to Tough Mudder, family friendly Halloween event and so much more.

      Cons

      While the CEO is a fantastic guy, it's a very male dominated business with a classic business hierarchy. Difficult to get ahead, different pay scales for like-mined employees. The employees are fun to work with however upper management can be fake and not very genuine. Lots of meetings.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Fun company culture... depending on your location.

      Feb 16, 2014 - Supervisor 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nautilus encourages and supports employees who want to live a healthy lifestyle. The corporate headquarters in Vancouver WA has a very nice on-site gym (free for employees + family members) and vending machines that have healthy snack options. Employees who work at the Vancouver location can participate in several (free) activities like kickball, hood-to-coast/Portland-to-coast, Tough Mudder, weight loss and fitness challenges, and BBQs. Most (but not all) of the positions in the company have decent/competitive pay. The benefits package is good, but not great (partially paid by employee), but the 401k match is very generous. The company usually promotes from within, so there is opportunity to grow within the company. They currently have the best CEO and executive management team of any company I've ever worked for. Casual attire is a nice perk. Jeans are acceptable for most departments/positions. Good location... easy to get to and within walking distance to several stores and restaurants.

      Cons

      Some departments have cliques and make you feel like you're back in high school, meaning if you fit in you will enjoy work and will probably advance/get promoted. But, if you don't "fit it" you will not get promoted, no matter how good or qualified you are for the job. This is not just my personal opinion, it's a well known fact and talked about openly amongst employees. Job satisfaction may depend on your location. The Portland, Oregon location (the company's distribution facility) does not have the same culture as the Vancouver, WA (corporate headquarters) location. Employees at the Portland location don't have an opportunity to participate in most of the activities with the Vancouver employees. The Portland location is mostly all work, no play/no fun. Also, the Portland location has a lot of mandatory overtime, including many weekends and holidays. Definitely not family oriented or work/life balance. Most employees at the Vancouver location sit in small windowless cubicles.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 18 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Nautilus Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Nautilus? Share Your Experiences

    Nautilus logo
    or