Navient Reviews | Glassdoor

Navient Reviews

Updated Dec 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
60%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Navient President & CEO John (Jack) F. Remondi (no image)
John (Jack) F. Remondi
133 Ratings
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "Best Job I've Ever Had"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Care Specialist in Fishers, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Navient full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Unlimited overtime, monthly performance bonuses, generous PTO, team environment, out of work activities, amazing supervisors and management

    Cons

    Stressful at times, back to back calls, rude customers, bad company reputation from most customers

    Advice to Management

    Navient has been the greatest job I have ever had. If you like to work and make money this is a great job for you. Between bonuses and overtime I have made almost 70k this year. The management at my location is amazing and always willing to help when problems do come up.

    Navient2019-11-30
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Going to retire from here!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor in Horseheads, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Navient full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    A team atmosphere that gets you involved and keeps you wanting to come to work. Goal oriented that makes you push to do your best. Continued / ongoing training keeping you informed and educated.

    Cons

    Can be stressful at times.

    Advice to Management

    Keep in mind that you weren't always a manager and most of you started as a collector, allow your under management to learn to manage by being a good example.

    Navient2019-10-09
  3. "Diverse Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Compliance in Wilkes-Barre, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Navient full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Invests in their employees and promotes from within. Competitive wages.

    Cons

    There is a high turnover rate.

    Navient2019-10-09
  4. "This Company Cares About It's Employees AND its Customers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Wilmington, DE
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Navient part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    flexible hours, good pay, responsive to work with, great team, and they are very diligent about being fair to their customers

    Cons

    I've had a great experience working with Navient,

    Navient2019-10-09
  5. "Operations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Wilkes-Barre, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Navient full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great benefits offered to employees.

    Cons

    Gets a lot of attention in the media due to work with the Department of Education.

    Navient2019-09-18
  6. "A Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor II in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Navient full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I have been employed with Navient 10 years. I am glad to be a part of such great company. The leadership team allows you to make decisions and learn from mistakes you may make a long the way.

    Cons

    I do not have any cons.

    Advice to Management

    Great job supporting your teams.

    Navient2019-07-31
  7. "Great company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Compliance Analyst in Wilmington, DE
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Navient full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Working in the Wilmington site allows you to see the Senior Management of the company on a daily basis. They are all personable and many know your name which gives you a feeling of a small company. Additionally the flexibility to allow a good work life balance is always a top priority.

    Cons

    Living out of the Wilmington area creates a commuting problem at times. The future I95 project will make this even more of a daily nightmare.

    Advice to Management

    Our company allows for many employees to work from home which is a great benefit. Consider opening that up even more with the pending I95 project to begin in 2021.

    Navient2019-07-18
  8. "Great People, Positive Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Wilmington, DE
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Navient full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I've made lifelong friends here, including many of my management team. Compensation is very competitive and recognition of individual contributions are meaningful and worthwhile.

    Cons

    Navient has (seemingly) been under attack by regulators, which has caused downward pressure on stock prices and operating expenses. I've found that the majority of the regulatory actions have been unfounded and politically motivated.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing the good work you're doing to help students and borrowers to achieve their goals!

    Navient2019-07-17
  9. "Great Opportunity for Advancement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Supervisor in Jeffersonville, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Navient full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Opportunity for advancement & to be apart of a team. Salaries & benefits are above the industry. Promoted twice in a 3 year period. Large organization with many opportunities.

    Cons

    Large organization with many moving parts.

    Advice to Management

    Increase the amount of incentives at the local offices.

    Navient2019-07-17
  10. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Reston, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Navient full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great work life balance. Open door policy. Management is very approachable and open to new ideas.

    Cons

    Growth within a department can take years.

    Navient2019-05-27
Found 279 reviews