Navient Reviews | Glassdoor

Navient Reviews

Updated Jan 21, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
60%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Navient President & CEO John (Jack) F. Remondi (no image)
John (Jack) F. Remondi
133 Ratings
  1. "Good company for mid-level employees."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Air Traffic Control Specialist in Fishers, IN

    I worked at Navient full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice benefits package which includes fitness program.

    Cons

    Frequent company restructuring leads to many job eliminations/layoffs.

    Navient2020-01-21
  2. "Good People, Budget Constrained"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Managing Director 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Navient full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good People, and Good Experience

    Cons

    Budget Constrained and Cost Cutting

    Navient2019-12-17
  3. Helpful (1)

    "NOT GREAT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Portfolio Specialist in Fishers, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Navient full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    you are not the only miserable person, and misery loves company

    Cons

    management is not held to any behavioral standard, its an HR nightmare

    Advice to Management

    value your employees and invest in them

    Navient2019-12-11
  4. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "Best Job I've Ever Had"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Care Specialist in Fishers, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Navient full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Unlimited overtime, monthly performance bonuses, generous PTO, team environment, out of work activities, amazing supervisors and management

    Cons

    Stressful at times, back to back calls, rude customers, bad company reputation from most customers

    Advice to Management

    Navient has been the greatest job I have ever had. If you like to work and make money this is a great job for you. Between bonuses and overtime I have made almost 70k this year. The management at my location is amazing and always willing to help when problems do come up.

    Navient2019-11-30
  5. "Twrrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Education Specialist in Wilkes-Barre, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Navient full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Cafe and gym on sight.

    Cons

    Pay, having to deal with irate people on the phones all day. Little room for advancement

    Navient2019-11-11
  6. "Cheap"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Corporate Trainer 

    I worked at Navient full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    lots of PTO and great benefits

    Cons

    the company is always making large cuts and laying off people

    Navient2019-10-30
  7. "Hard work, but good pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Computer Engineer in Fishers, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Navient full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    You will be appreciated if you perform well

    Cons

    You will work hard (and long) hours

    Advice to Management

    adding a few staff would not be a bad thing

    Navient2019-10-16
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Going to retire from here!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor in Horseheads, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Navient full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    A team atmosphere that gets you involved and keeps you wanting to come to work. Goal oriented that makes you push to do your best. Continued / ongoing training keeping you informed and educated.

    Cons

    Can be stressful at times.

    Advice to Management

    Keep in mind that you weren't always a manager and most of you started as a collector, allow your under management to learn to manage by being a good example.

    Navient2019-10-09
  9. "Diverse Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Compliance in Wilkes-Barre, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Navient full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Invests in their employees and promotes from within. Competitive wages.

    Cons

    There is a high turnover rate.

    Navient2019-10-09
  10. "This Company Cares About It's Employees AND its Customers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Wilmington, DE
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Navient part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    flexible hours, good pay, responsive to work with, great team, and they are very diligent about being fair to their customers

    Cons

    I've had a great experience working with Navient,

    Navient2019-10-09
Found 280 reviews