Navient "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Navient Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated 24 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
61%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Navient CEO John (Jack) F. Remondi (no image)
John (Jack) F. Remondi
138 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Bonuses outside of the call center are very low(in 12 reviews)

  • "Very repetitive, no work life balance if you dont hit your numbers, moving up means harder numbers(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Compliance Analyst in Wilmington, DE
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Navient full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Working in the Wilmington site allows you to see the Senior Management of the company on a daily basis. They are all personable and many know your name which gives you a feeling of a small company. Additionally the flexibility to allow a good work life balance is always a top priority.

    Cons

    Living out of the Wilmington area creates a commuting problem at times. The future I95 project will make this even more of a daily nightmare.

    Advice to Management

    Our company allows for many employees to work from home which is a great benefit. Consider opening that up even more with the pending I95 project to begin in 2021.

    Navient2019-07-18
  2. "good job but high burnout"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Collector in Muncie, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Navient full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    great pay, bonuses, prizes for performance, unlimitedOT

    Cons

    Very repetitive, no work life balance if you dont hit your numbers, moving up means harder numbers

    Navient2019-09-25
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. Helpful (1)

    "Management needs help"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Healthcare Receivables Specialist in Hendersonville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Navient full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, casual office, food, and break room

    Cons

    Work-life balance, attendance policy is excruciating

    Navient2019-09-08
  5. "Management Trust and great work-life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Compliance Director in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Navient full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    At Navient, I have great autonomy in my job responsibilities and feel as though management trusts and values the input of staff members. My favorite thing about working for Navient is that work-life balance is encouraged through generous PTO accrual and a flexible work from home policy.

    Cons

    Over the last few years, there have been several rounds of layoffs and budget restrictions. While it looks like we are bouncing back from these adjustments, working through these changes has been challenging.

    Advice to Management

    Acknowledge the valued staff members that have survived the changes of the last few years with more professional development opportunities and promotions.

    Navient2019-09-08
  6. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Reston, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Navient full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great work life balance. Open door policy. Management is very approachable and open to new ideas.

    Cons

    Growth within a department can take years.

    Navient2019-05-27
  7. "Great company to work for a short or long-term career option"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Technical Architect in Fishers, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Navient full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good work/life balance Good opportunity for promotions Many areas working with cutting-edge technology

    Cons

    Too many IT projects are Priority #1

    Navient2019-03-08
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Too Much Stress"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Analyst in Fishers, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Navient full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Pay - Benefits - Navient does use some of the latest IT technology instead of waiting to upgrade 3+ years after release

    Cons

    - Work/Life Balance can be non-existent - Everyone is under a lot of stress 24/7 from daily application failures to management over-promising to over-worked employees

    Advice to Management

    Stop over-promising and trying to make your employees do the work of 3 people. They are already stretched thin as it is due to job/budget cuts.

    Navient2018-09-04
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Perfect job for someone who has no personal life!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Resolution Specialist in Wilkes-Barre, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Navient full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It's a nice office building, with a cafeteria and gym. Generally nice people as co workers there also.

    Cons

    HORRIBLE work/life balance!!! You need to LIVE there is order to hit goal. They dangle MYOS (make your own schedule) in front of your nose but once it is reached it doesn't matter because you still need to LIVE there to hit goal. Do not have any outside of work things happen because if you need to miss time from work you may as well start your new job search right then. Talking to supervisors or management about any... issues is a joke because they are ready and waiting to write you up for every little thing....for example, take too long in the bathroom gets you half an occurence... don't ever be late, not even 2 mins and never need to leave early because that could get you a full occurrence and once you hit a certain number of occurances, BYE BYE, they don't care and you are unemployed.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Realize that there is life outside of Navient because you are late from time to time because of things out of your control and you are human too and LIFE happens!! Stop being slave drivers!!

    Navient2017-11-17
  10. "I love my job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Talent Acquisition Recruiter in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Navient full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work life balance. Stability. Love my TA team!

    Cons

    No cons at the present moment

    Advice to Management

    NA

    Navient2017-09-29
  11. Helpful (2)

    "Decent Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Navient

    Pros

    Good work life balance, good job security

    Cons

    Work isn't that interesting, dated technology, they lowball new hires

    Navient2017-09-06
Found 26 reviews