Navigant Reviews | Glassdoor

Navigant Reviews

Updated April 20, 2017
447 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

447 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
  • Navigant does a pretty good job of creating a culture that supports a sustainable work-life balance, which isn't common in management consulting (in 57 reviews)

  • Good work-life balance, smart people (in 25 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

  1. "Decent"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Navigant full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Entrepreneurial environment. Great camaraderie. Good work life balance. Happy employees.

    Cons

    Not enough work projects. Demands on sales and billing. Certain leaders are not meritocracy based.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to hire well qualified people. Do not allow nepotism or legacy folk to remain in the company if they are not adding new value.


  2. Helpful (1)

    "Consultant"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Washington, DC
    Current Employee - Consultant in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Great mid-size consulting firm. Young co-workers and a good place to start your career in finance/consulting. Office is brand new and in a great location.

    Cons

    Work environment is a bit cold. Everyone mostly keeps to themselves throughout the day. Office politics like everywhere can be tense.

    Advice to Management

    Communication within project groups could be better.

    Navigant Response

    Sep 7, 2016 – Recruiting Manager

    Thank you for leaving a review about your experience at Navigant.


  3. Helpful (4)

    "Good quality of life, low salaries"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Boston, MA
    Current Employee - Consultant in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Navigant full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Really smart people, about half of whom are taking a pay cut to work on interesting projects and have a good work-life balance. These people are great to work with, smart, driven, and similar to those you'd see at another management consultancy.

    Cons

    Pay is low compared to peer companies, low level employees are only incentivised to meet utilization targets, not do great work.

    Advice to Management

    Restructure employee evaluation process. Provide more opportunities to do meaningful non billable work, and recognize good non billable work.

    Navigant Response

    Sep 7, 2016 – Recruiting Manager

    Thank you for leaving a review about your experience at Navigant. Feedback such as this is important in shaping the future of the company.


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "Consultant"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in Brooklyn, NY
    Former Employee - Consultant in Brooklyn, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Navigant full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Lots of intelligent team members

    Cons

    Not a lot of upward mobility

    Navigant Response

    Sep 7, 2016 – Recruiting Manager

    We appreciate your feedback!


  6. "Working in Navigant Co."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    Current Employee - IT Consultant in Oakton, VA
    Current Employee - IT Consultant in Oakton, VA

    I have been working at Navigant (More than a year)

    Pros

    It has very good benefits and amazing parties for employees.

    Cons

    Salary is lower than the average of other companies.

    Navigant Response

    Sep 7, 2016 – Recruiting Manager

    Thank you for your feedback.


  7. "Great!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Intern in Washington, DC
    Former Employee - Marketing Intern in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    I definitely learned a lot from everyone i worked with

    Cons

    I can not really think of any

    Navigant Response

    Sep 7, 2016 – Recruiting Manager

    Great to hear!


  8. "It was fun while it lasted"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Director in Watertown, MA
    Former Employee - Associate Director in Watertown, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Navigant full-time

    Pros

    Fast paced, very competent consultants

    Cons

    Hire-and-fire mentality, be prepared for the 80 h week

    Advice to Management

    Don't work your people to death

    Navigant Response

    Sep 7, 2016 – Recruiting Manager

    Thank you for leaving candid feedback. We are sorry that you did not have a great experience.


  9. Helpful (19)

    "Associate Director - Healthcare"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Both pros and cons will be somewhat dependent upon your practice and group. With that in mind, the biggest pros of the company / healthcare practice include:

    1. Sufficient size to reel in interesting projects. The healthcare practice wasn't necessarily doing eight-figure projects for top-5 health systems, but they were doing large engagements for recognizable regional and national brands. I believe they're still one of the top five healthcare practices in the country, measured in revenue.

    2. Reasonable billable hours targets. Targets for analysts/senior analysts were 80%+, MCs 75% and ADs 70%. If you did good work, and hit your targets you were rewarded with good reviews and timely promotions. This translated into average workweeks under 50 hours and little weekend work if you were smart about it.

    3. Work-life flexibility. Provided you were receiving good reviews, there were minimal face time expectations. My team and I basically worked until the work was done. It's consulting, so that's 12 hours some days. But it's also 5 hours some days, and nobody expected you to make it look like you were working 12 hours those days. Opportunity to work remotely as needed (MC and below) or permanently (AD and above).

    4. Great training ground with good exit opportunities. Other than one super-talented employee who I think sold himself short when he left, those who left our group took good jobs that were good career moves, myself included.

    5. Office culture can be a pro, can be a con. Varies significantly from group to group, practice to practice. When I started, I had a couple people who relayed cautionary tales about Navigant from different practices, and I'm glad I chose to ignore them. Once established I found it easy to positively influence the office culture for my group.

    6. Within my practice, travel was limited to 2-3 days a week for Directors, 1-2 days a week for ADs, ~1 day a week for MCs and <1 day a week for SCs. YMMV, but this can be a real perk in consulting.

    7. Other pros that are present in most consulting firms but no less true at Navigant, including working with smart people; learning analysis, project management, etc; fast paced environment; quality managers for whom you like to work and who will develop you (though not everybody); etc.

    Cons

    1. Compensation is reflective of the lower billable hour targets. It's consulting, so the pay is still good relative to other jobs, but probably lower than peer firms, especially after bonus. Makes barriers to exit relatively low.

    2. Nothing formalized for professional development. Employees receive an evaluator (or whatever the position has since been renamed) to whom they may have no working exposure over the course of a review period. No formal or prescribed one-on-one cadence. All but the best self starters run the risk of receiving insufficient guidance when starting out. Work was in process to improve this when I left, but it's still a deficiency. Also probably a step below MBB, Deloitte, etc. in terms of training rigor. If you want to be better at excel than your buddy at BAML, look elsewhere.

    3. Quality of life can vary group to group, practice to practice. Tough to tell before you start what type of group you'll find yourself in, but not every group adheres to the corporate billable hour targets or understands interests in your life beyond work.

    4. The healthcare practice was reorganized on a monthly basis. This was less a con than it was just plain annoying.

    5. Other cons that are present in other consulting firms but no less true at Navigant, including ebbs and flows to workload, including some weeks with long hours in crunch time; turnover of your favorite people (which, when embraced, can mean new favorite people); managers you don't like to work for (though not everybody)

    Advice to Management

    Formalize basic professional development processes, especially for newcomers. Otherwise, keep doing what you're doing. You've created a good environment for people who want to be in consulting and work hard on interesting projects, but want a few waking hours to pursue other interests.

    Navigant Response

    Sep 7, 2016 – Recruiting Manager

    We appreciate your detailed review of working at Navigant. We are happy that you had a great experience!


  10. Helpful (7)

    "stay a couple of years and then leave!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant in Washington, DC
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Navigant full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Decent firm to get your feet wet out of college.

    Cons

    Lack of leadership and management from the top down. Corporate strategy and focus is constantly changing. The company does not know how to grow organically and will not pay to retain in-house rising talent. The DC office is rampant with sexism and favoritism. Salary + bonus are low compared to competitors.


  11. Helpful (2)

    "Sr eDiscovery Analyst"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SENIOR EDISCOVERY ANALYST in Alexandria, VA
    Current Employee - SENIOR EDISCOVERY ANALYST in Alexandria, VA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Navigant (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Best thing about working at Navigant is, People. Great people.

    Cons

    Pay is random, not based on skill. Benefits for people who have good terms with management.



Showing 447 of 478 reviews
Reset Filters