Navis LLC Reviews | Glassdoor

Navis LLC Reviews

Updated Feb 10, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
82%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Navis LLC President Benoit de la Tour (no image)
Benoit de la Tour
28 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "work/life balance too poor, traveling most of the time(in 3 reviews)

  • "No cons that are worth to mention(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Clear direction and focus"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Oakland, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Navis LLC full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Interesting problem space Renewed focus Lots of positive changes

    Cons

    Still a lot to improve

    Continue reading
    Navis LLC2019-05-07

    Navis LLC Response

    May 20, 2019Director, Total Rewards and People Operations

    Thank you so much for your review and being part of the team! We know there is always room for progress, so we appreciate your comments in helping Navis become the best workplace.

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Not unlike other places, your experience will depend on your role/function. Truly a mixed bag."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Oakland, CA
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Navis LLC full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Global business, opportunities to travel around the world, Increased investment in people and talent.

    Cons

    Too much politics and fiefdoms. A very top heavy organization where there are many more directors than needs be. Too many people fight over few opportunities and manage up very well. As a consequence customer value sufferts.

    Continue reading
    Navis LLC2019-09-25

    Navis LLC Response

    November 19, 2019

    Thanks for posting a positive review. We truly value your opinion! As you mentioned, our investment in people and talent is a priority and we strive to make growth opportunities available for all. We would love to hear about your ideas for living up to our full potential as a company and as an employer. Please feel free to come to me directly or anyone in our People Success team with your suggestions!

    Continue reading
  3. "Great company, renewed people focus, amazing opportunity to impact the industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Oakland, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Navis LLC full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    My manager rocks. The executive team provides great focus and leadership. Good, positive changes to management, that will accelerate our growth

    Cons

    Drive industry change with more agility

    Navis LLC2019-01-31
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Interesting domain, no innovation."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Navis LLC full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - some of the engineers have ideas for growth - travel to customer sites

    Cons

    - layoffs in December before the holidays and before bonuses - executive product leadership have little to no vision - old tech stack that breaks all the time (critical failures in top yards) - doesn't invest much in recruiting good talent - high number of executive turnover - not a great office location in Jack London Square

    Navis LLC2019-02-11

    Navis LLC Response

    December 18, 2019

    Thank you for your feedback. We take it very seriously. We are confident that you have seen positive changes this past year in product leadership and vision and we continue to move down this path.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Software Engineers : you could do better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - A Senior Level Software Engineer (4+ Years At Navis) in Oakland, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Navis LLC full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - interesting problem domain - knowledgeable domain experts & co-workers - if you get to travel to customer sites, unique opportunities to see software in action at scale

    Cons

    - aging software stack - no coherent engineering management strategy due to 'rotating door' of engineering execs of the last 3-4 years - 'agile', but subverted by upper management who introduced lots of 'red tape' to the process - 'brain drain' of senior engineers in the past few years leaving a massive code-base with lots of intricacies that only a handful know intimately. - a misguided recent focus on hiring fresh grads & laying off older engineers with valuable domain experience - rotating holiday layoffs over the past few years leading to poor morale - little career upward mobility opportunities

    Continue reading
    Navis LLC2019-02-04

    Navis LLC Response

    December 18, 2019

    We are very focussed on career development and career growth - and have introduced several new programs to assist in that journey over the past few years - strengths, development day/s, customer exchange programs, job rotations - and many more. Please visit the People Success site for more information. Thank you so much for your feedback!

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Not A good fit for long term employment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Oakland, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Navis LLC full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    1. nice location. 2. the biggest company in their space. 3. A good temporary, until you find a better job.

    Cons

    1. Expect layoffs and termination right around the holiday season. 2. Bad work and life balance not great(used to be but not anymore). 3. Very narrow field, your experience may be of no use to you in other field.

    Navis LLC2019-01-30
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Good product, odd culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Success Manager in Oakland, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Navis LLC full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Beautiful location in Jack London Square. Market leader in their space.

    Cons

    Seemed like quite a high turnover. The culture lends itself to cliqueyness. They let people go right before bonus reimbursement, so beware!

    Continue reading
    Navis LLC2019-01-23
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Great Idea, Bad Execution"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Oakland, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Navis LLC full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people to work with The actual idea of what the software is trying to accomplish is very interesting

    Cons

    Over promising new features to customers. Only responding to customer emergencies instead of trying to make the newer versions of the software better. Yearly layoffs around Holiday time. Most Executive Management only lasts a few years. Too many meetings outside of normal work hours causing inability to have a good work/life balance.

    Navis LLC2018-12-28
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company, Opportunity to Grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President in Oakland, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Navis LLC full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Navis has a great small company feel while being owned by a larger European/Finnish company. Navis serves a tremendously interesting market - the maritime shipping and terminals industry - with high value software and services. The clear leaders in the shipping and marine terminals business use Navis software for their mission critical operations. Opportunities to travel and engage with clients and industry. Jack London Square is a good location with Ferry access and growing urban community.

    Cons

    Would be nice if the BART station was a little closer.

    Continue reading
    Navis LLC2018-05-16
  10. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     in Oakland, CA

    I worked at Navis LLC for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good TOS for terminal operation

    Cons

    Not really have much to say

    Navis LLC2018-04-23

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 76 reviews