Navitaire Employee Reviews about "navitaire"

Updated Oct 30, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 12 of over 89 reviews

4.1
87%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Navitaire CEO Dave Evans
Dave Evans
41 Ratings

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Technical Account Manager

Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

382

57 Comments

Tech

203.5K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/technology/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.com&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Navitaire~113948
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Reviews about "navitaire"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Project Manager

    Dec 22, 2017 - IT Project Manager in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Company events and parties just about every month. Benefits are at least industry standard. Paternity/Maternity leave. Diverse working atmosphere (compared to Utah) Competitive pay. Opportunities to advance. Access to key leadership. Moving to open office concept. Flexible working hours.

    Cons

    Amadeus owns Navitaire, which results in slow response to support tickets for internal items. Bit of politics in the C level positions, though this is marginal compared to other companies I have worked for.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Weak managers mar the experience

    Oct 30, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Navitaire can be an enjoyable job depending on where you find yourself in the company. There are some great people there.

    Cons

    Some incredibly weak managers thrive there as a result of their relationships with their superiors. Cronyism & Nepotism is the name of the game in some areas at Navitaire and those not in management take notice. If you find yourself in one of these pockets, Navitaire is not an enjoyable experience. If you find yourself working in other areas it is better, but regardless of where you are you'll take notice of people being rewarded for doing nothing and that gets old.

    4 people found this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Product Manager

    Jan 30, 2019 - Anonymous Employee in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Tech leader in the airline industry. The industry as a whole is quite dated when it comes to technology but Navitaire mostly bucks the trend with a relatively modern tech stack that isn't plagued with decades of technical debt. - Navitaire is a pretty agile organization. There is the usual red tape but its a lot smaller than similar organizations. The result is that if you have good ideas, there's a reasonable chance that you'll get to put those ideas into practice. - The airline industry is probably one of the most interesting I've ever worked with. The tech in the industry is unbelievably dated but the industry itself is probably one of the coolest you'll ever work in. - Low turnover to the point where it seems like no one ever leaves. People genuinely love working at Navitaire. There are so many people that were hired by Accenture straight out of undergrad that are now still working at Navitaire. That sort of continuity (in an incredibly competitive employment market in Minneapolis and Salt Lake City) speaks volumes. People like working there. - Developer centric culture. I can't stress this enough. Everyone is technical and a good portion of product management consists of former developers. Even the account managers and customer teams know the technical ins and outs of Navitaire products. Much of the leadership consists of former developers as well. This is in stark contrast with other companies in the industry that are stacked with huge quantities of product marketing people that can put on a good presentation but have zero knowledge of how the products work. And since everyone speaks the same language, the time to execution of a feature or a product is far lower than competitors. - Navitaire has the remote working process down very well. Teams operate well remotely and it makes it easy to work from home at any given moment. - Company leadership is excellent. They've done a great job with the company and its brand. Navitaire

    Cons

    - The pay is subpar. This is largely a product of the complete lack of turnover. People are just getting small raises from year to year while potentially waiting a decade for a reasonable jump in salary. But it is just frustrating to get stuck in a pay bracket. - In concert with the previous point, the low turnover means that getting promoted is really hard. Navitaire really only promotes when an opportunity is open. I've seen excellent business analysts wait close to a decade for a promotion. This behavior is almost encouraged as people simply don't leave the company so Navitaire can afford to wait to hand out promotions. - Benefits became noticeably worse when Amadeus bought the company. I know that Navitaire leadership did manage to preserve the generous 401k match and got paid family leave added but the health insurance situation is awful and some of the supplementary benefits that Accenture provided are gone as well.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  4. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 10 years

    A Great Place to Work... for some people...

    Apr 10, 2018 - Senior Business Analyst in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Key players are two very nice brothers based in Salt Lake City, UT Navitaire builds great products. I was so proud of the work I did during my many years at Navitaire. I was exceedingly well compensated. Great training programs for software developers located in all offices. Great camaraderie at Navitaire! Navitaire employees make music... check out the Navitunes Band. It's the best! The Navitaire Customer Conference is one of a kind! Navitaire offers great opportunities to travel. Their customers are some of the coolest people I've ever worked with. Navitaire offers great training programs for all Manila (Philippines) employees.

    Cons

    Very little opportunity for advancement, since it's a flat organization and the top positions are held by the brothers who essentially founded the firm. The politics is a bit weird. Certain directors fiercely protect their fiefdoms at the expense of the welfare of this wonderful company. From a diversity standpoint, Navitaire is improving the makeup of their US workforce. Ten years ago I could count on my fingers the number of non-white employees based in North America. The fact that their US locations (Salt Lake City and Minneapolis) are not especially diverse is a factor. However, Navitaire still could do better. Over the years, more and more of our employee work was "offshored" to our office in Manila Philippines. At first it was QA, then some developers, and later a large segment of the Product Management and Training Teams we located there. The impact is TERRIBLE work-life balance in many roles. In my case, I had no choice but to attend evening meetings almost every night, as a US employee. Similarly, my Manila counterparts had to attend almost daily early morning meetings. As a result, I often found myself working 11-12 hour days, since I also had required early morning meetings with East Coast US and European customers and partners. In time, I found the hours to be too exhausting. Employees are promised a $3,000 per year per employee budget for training. In my decade at Navitaire, I submitted one/more requests each year. At various times I requested professional training courses or university accredited courses, all applicable to my work as a senior business analyst. Not one of my training requests was ever granted. Based in Salt Lake City, Utah, Navitaire culture (which sadly, employees that I love dearly could not see) is often insensitive to women and people of color.

    Continue reading
    12 people found this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Very good company

    Nov 3, 2017 - Software Development Senior Analyst 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Navitaire is a very good company to work with. Work is very challenging and exciting. Product is mature and very well developed over the years. Company has good work culture and coworkers are very supportive and friendly.

    Cons

    Not really except pay could be little less but Navitaire is a very stable company to work with than other companies with higher pay.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Former Employee

    A good place to work.

    Feb 20, 2009 - Business Analyst in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Navitaire invests in their employees and helps them grow both personally and professionaly. There are a lot of employees who have been there for many years so if you do a good job they do recognize that and make it known. For the most part it is a very good place to work.

    Cons

    There was a lot of turn over when I worked there in management. When they would hire new management the transition was often times difficult for them to get up to speed and understand the business. In addition, they had a lot of employees over seas which made communication difficult for many reasons.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Nine years and counting

    Aug 25, 2017 - Software Developer in Manila, Manila
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good work environment due to the people and management. There is always opportunity to grow due to the demand in work.

    Cons

    Salary is barelt competitive if you compare with other companies in the same industrt. Most people opt to leave Navitaire for a higher salary.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Navitaire Experience

    Jun 20, 2017 - Software Developer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    For newly graduates, Navitaire is a great workplace to start your career. They offer different trainings to hone your skills as a developer. The working environment is one of the best because you will feel that your part of the company. Choosing this company as my first is one of the best decision I've had. They give real feedback to your output and gives tips on how to improve yourself.

    Cons

    I don't have any negative experience so far in my stay with Navitaire.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Mixed Bag

    Sep 4, 2012 - Business Analyst 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Navitaire has a great product and some very smart, talented & hard working people . There is a decent amount of PTO (Paid Time Off) and flexibility in terms of working from home. Benefits are pretty good. Compensation is all over the place. Tech gear is kept up to date.

    Cons

    Navitaire is owned by Accenture and the delineation between who does what is a bit of a dog's breakfast. Certain things are clear (i.e. performance management process is Accenture) but other areas of responsibility, particularly in the realm of HR & promotions, are not clear, and there is a lot of confusion and running around in circles. Even with other things, you'll hear that we are doing things one way, then something happens another way. This is a major pain in the neck for employees. In that regard, we worked much better as an independent entity, before we were swallowed up by Accenture. There was a certain element of consistency. Another Accenture level negative is the travel policy whereby some of us who do a LOT of long haul flying are forced to fly economy even though clients are happy to pay for business class airfares. On the other hand, Navitaire grew too fast for their small-company managers and executives, and mgmt simply didn't have the understanding of how to run a large scale multi hosted ASP. This is improving, in part to Accenture. Certain teams have better work/life balance than others, which like to work you to death. Promotions in certain offices are a mystery and there are interesting parallels between who is buddies with whom and who gets promoted. Another thing the company is missing is a feedback system for bosses. In previous roles, performance management also gave you the opportunity to rate and provide feedback to your manager. This is sorely needed here, because as in many tech companies, it's not always a good idea to put technical geniuses in charge of managing people.

    1 person found this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Not highest paying job but great on everything else

    Nov 17, 2010 - Team Lead in Manila, Manila
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    People is the heart of experience working for here in Navitaire. As a staff, there's an ambiance of family and a place to build long lasting friendship. As a lead, people are our inspiration to continue to strive to make this a good place to work for. As a developer as well, Navitaire provides good opportunities for growth with wide variety of work functions - from requirements, design, coding, testing, implementation support. There's definitely a lot of good experiences to obtain here. Navitaire as a product based company is also heavy on building subject matter experts on the Airline business. There is a high premium in building functional expertise along with technical expertise. There is a great sense of accomplishment being a sought after knowledge and an acknowledge "owner" somewhat of the product. In my experience, Navitaire also had been a place with trusted leaders who will tell the truth about you, the company or the situation. There are good role models in the company who you can aspire to become or models of success.

    Cons

    Pay wise being in our country and this industry - Navitaire is not the highest paying job out there in the market. Being part of the greater accenture team, while salaries are defined as above average anyone working within the organization in about 2-3 years timeframe can easily get higher paying jobs out there - in the Philippines or abroad such as Singapore and Australia.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 12 Reviews

Popular Careers with Navitaire Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Navitaire? Share Your Experiences

or