Navy Lodge Reviews | Glassdoor

Navy Lodge Reviews

Updated Sep 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 8 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
66%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "Great community, feels like a bit family."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front Desk Clerk in Newport, RI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Navy Lodge full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great coworkers, good pay, fantastic guests.

    Cons

    Manager had no idea what she was doing. Never charged guests if they ruined things. Let's them get away with unruly dogs and children running down the halls.

    Continue reading
    Navy Lodge2016-08-30
  2. "It’s alright if you need a job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Guest Service Representative in Solomons, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Navy Lodge part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Meeting new people, good temp job if you don’t plan to work there for long.

    Cons

    The pay and hours are horrible.

    Continue reading
    Navy Lodge2019-09-11
  3. "Front Desk Navy Lodge Great lakes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front Desk Navy Lodge Great Lakes 

    I worked at Navy Lodge part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Working with the girls are easy most of them are sweet and nice,but the lady initial only:) MR working 2nd shift is pain in the butt.she love to write every little mistake we made.she’so perfectionist.everytime I come to work. She always have a comment of every little thing she see.first I thought its ok. Part of her Job.but later ON it bacame annoying.she cannot make any correction with out writing it.like someone forgot to pull out the paper, or forgot to wipe the counter,Holy cow, when you read the logbook theres like a story of everything she Did,it felt like shes the only one working hard.its amazing How the other girl survive working with her.its ok to correct somebody. But to make everything complicated🤣🤣girl.. IM glad IM no longer working with you.but if shes gone ill be Happy to Go back to work .

    Cons

    Salary to low but benefits ok.

    Continue reading
    Navy Lodge2019-08-09
  4. "Can't wait to leave"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Navy Lodge full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Job security, awesome coworkers, benefits

    Cons

    Bad management, upper level management never checks on employees, the pay is horrible - can't support yourself on this pay alone.

    Navy Lodge2019-05-14
  5. "Decent Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Former Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Navy Lodge full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Truly a hospitable place. Great management. Laid back atmosphere. Serving those who serve. Better than the Navy Exchange. They fall under the same company and I worked at both places.

    Cons

    The pay is low. Old facilities.

    Continue reading
    Navy Lodge2019-03-29
  6. "Front Desk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front Desk Clerk in Groton, CT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Navy Lodge full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They train you inside out and back wards! Lots of answering the phone and dealing with guest. If your a people person this is the place to work. Unlike other hotels the Navy Lodge does not have lots of room prices. It's one price and tax free! You become part of the family and earn vacation time, paid holidays and sick time. (as long as you are full or part time)

    Cons

    Keep in mind it is a hotel so they are open 24/7 365 days a year! You will work holidays and night shifts. If you set your goals to be a manager you will have to relocate, you will have to intern at another lodge and than will be placed in another lodge as a manager.

    Continue reading
    Navy Lodge2012-09-25
  7. "Great Team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Navy Lodge full-time

    Pros

    The Navy lodge Team was incredibly tight and easy to work with

    Cons

    Guests at the navy lodge are mostly PCS inbound sailors who can be very demanding

    Navy Lodge2018-06-05
  8. Helpful (1)

    "You Can't Make Much"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Desk Clerk in
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Navy Lodge

    Pros

    I had very friendly, helpful and hardworking co-workers. It was a stress free environment for me and I enjoyed working there.

    Cons

    Most of the employees are flex position with no benefits and there are very limited opening for full-time and part-time with benefits. Since the pay is so low, you wanna work full time 40 hrs a week but you only get around 32 hrs a week. Young clerks are just come and go because they can find better pay job somewhere else. The reason I had to quit was I couldn't make enough money to put my kids in daycare while I'm at work. I was actually losing money working there.

    Continue reading
    Navy Lodge2010-08-17
Found 8 reviews