Nazareth College Reviews | Glassdoor

Nazareth College Reviews

Updated Jun 1, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 30 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
81%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
Nazareth College CEO Daan Braveman
Daan Braveman
9 Ratings
  1. "Undergraduate Student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Nazareth College full-time

    Pros

    Small Class size, nice library.

    Cons

    I think it is good.

    Nazareth College2018-04-12
  2. "Worst college to work at on Rochester"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lecturer in Rochester, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Nazareth College full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice buildings and the campus is gorgeous.

    Cons

    Toxic politics, lack of diversity, tolerance for inappropriate conduct for politically connected people

    Advice to Management

    Insist on ethical conduct for people in management jobs. Get another set of eyes on complaints about harassment, racism and intolerance. Hold people to a high standard and have a zero tolerance policy for intolerance on campus.

    Nazareth College2019-06-01
  3. "Department Assistant Nazareth College"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Department Assistant in Rochester, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nazareth College full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Friendly staff & faculty Great Students Beautiful campus

    Cons

    Very poor training Slow management & administrative offices Out of date in terms of technology Bad parking

    Nazareth College2019-01-21
  4. "Visiting Assistant Professor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Nazareth College full-time

      Pros

      Little oversight. Good location and resources for some majors or departments.

      Cons

      Little oversight, which makes it difficult to know how you will be evaluated. A lot of politics, but not more than any other college.

      Nazareth College2018-12-02
    • Helpful (2)

      "Good workers are expected to pick up the slack for the squeaky wheels in the department."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Staff Member in Rochester, NY
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Nazareth College full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Challenging and engaging environment with a few celebrations throughout the year

      Cons

      Minimal salary increases no matter how good your review is for the year. Poor communication within your own department as well as outside. Working reactively vs proactively no matter how hard you try to avoid it.

      Advice to Management

      Value the staff as much as the faculty. We're the ones who keep the boat afloat. This is why you see the hard workers walking away.

      Nazareth College2018-04-21
    • "Best college to work for in Rochester area"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Nazareth College full-time

      Pros

      Good community feeling Sense of shared goals Positive work environment Pleasant students Good understanding of work-life balance

      Cons

      On the lower end of pay for private higher ed No career ladder/opportunities for advancement No standard among department for advancement Adding too many middle management positions to sustain in the future

      Nazareth College2018-04-04
    • "Office Assistant"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Nazareth College part-time

      Pros

      Most faculty & staff are incredibly committed to the work they do and believe in going above and beyond for students. Lots of pride on campus.

      Cons

      No union for faculty, political promotions and lateral movement drove/burned out some amazing staff.

      Nazareth College2018-03-02
    • Helpful (1)

      "Great place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Nazareth College full-time

      Pros

      Sense of community, opportunities to innovate

      Cons

      Salary (but typical w/in higher education)

      Nazareth College2018-02-08
    • "The perks of a SLAC"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Nazareth College full-time

      Pros

      Nazareth -- a small liberal arts college -- was a great place to work for my first full-time job after graduating from university. At least when I was there, I had lots of opportunities to learn from talented colleagues and mentors, relatively generous benefits (retirement, health insurance, vacation and sick time, tuition benefits for yourself and dependents), free parking, and the week between Christmas and New Year's...

      Show More

      Cons

      As is typical of a small-ish non-profit, you end up doing three jobs and being underpaid even for the official one. Similarly, because Nazareth doesn't have tons of money, they often give people fancy titles in lieu of adequate pay. As a result, you have a lot of "directors" who are more or less only directing themselves.

      Nazareth College2017-11-10
    • Helpful (1)

      "Wonderful Place/People, Horrible Pay."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Nazareth College full-time

      Pros

      Everyone at Nazareth is kind and friendly, its a welcoming atmosphere and you feel it everywhere you go. There are enough staff hired so that people are not completely swamped and overworked. Tons of cultural events and activities for students and faculty/staff. A place of learning and open dialouge.

      Cons

      Horrible pay, it is not competitive at all and when I worked there in a position that required a bachelors degree I was barely paid enough to afford my one bedroom apartment in the city (not pittsford). Ultimately this is also why I and many others left despite loving my job and the College. Raises are 3% every year but when you are making very little that barely equal 50 cents a year. Really the pay is the only con which...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Not sure how or where the money is allocated but pay your faculty/staff fair and competetive wages or you will continue to lose good people. Ultimately turn over is a bigger cost to the College than paying a competitive wage.

      Nazareth College2017-10-14
    Found 30 reviews