Nebraska Furniture Mart Reviews

Updated May 22, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
67%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Nebraska Furniture Mart Chairman and CEO Irv Blumkin
Irv Blumkin
334 Ratings
Pros
  • "Not only does NFM take care of the customers, it takes care of its people(in 60 reviews)

  • "NFM is a big enough company that they offer great benefits, but small enough that they make you feel like a truly valued employee(in 39 reviews)

Cons
  • "But the reality is that the average salesperson (according to 2018 NFM statistics), makes(in 30 reviews)

  • "Retail hours may not be for everyone(in 16 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Outstanding Company to work for"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Warehouse Supervisor in Kansas City, KS
    Recommends

    I have been working at Nebraska Furniture Mart full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pay, benefits, culture, work life balance

    Cons

    nothing, great Company to work for

    Nebraska Furniture Mart2020-03-05

    Nebraska Furniture Mart Response

    March 10, 2020Human Resources Director

    We are glad you are part of the NFM Family! HR Director Megan BB

  2. "Family-Owned Company Turned into a Cash Machine"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Kansas City, KS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Nebraska Furniture Mart full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Uncapped Commission Christmas/Thanksgiving/Easter/4th of July Off Most of the sales staff is pretty great

    Cons

    You are constantly micromanaged and treated like a child They don't care about you as a person, you're just there to produce sales for them A lot of the managers are married creeps who date/sleep with employees

    Nebraska Furniture Mart2020-05-22
  3. Helpful (1)

    "No guidance"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager in Kansas City, KS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nebraska Furniture Mart full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    They are closed on holidays.

    Cons

    They do not pay best off the person experience or history. They don’t reward staff that go above and beyond for their company.

    Continue reading
    Nebraska Furniture Mart2020-05-11
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Toxic Culture, Management doesn’t listen or care on how they’ve destroyed this store."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Floor Manager 
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Nebraska Furniture Mart full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Steady paychecks Benefits Paid time off Team mates can be amazing

    Cons

    Long hours Poor work like balance They look for scape goats when they haven’t met a single company goal since they’ve built the Texas store. Financially unstable, they continue to cut benefits and fire people who challenge them. They blame a lot of their problems on tenure staff and think only new people who don’t get the culture of NFM will save them. If your not apart of the boys club they’ll look for ways to get rid of you.

    Continue reading
    Nebraska Furniture Mart2020-05-13
  5. "good company"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Professional in Omaha, NE
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Nebraska Furniture Mart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    the pay is really good and there is room for growth

    Cons

    feet hurt after a long day

    Nebraska Furniture Mart2020-04-30
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Don't work here"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nebraska Furniture Mart full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    You get two days off in a row. You do get an increase in pay yearly, but it is massively rated on if you are a managers/ supervisors favorite. I luckily have been one. You will get hired on for more money than the people who have worked there for years make. Those people are some of the best people I've ever met and deserve better treatment.

    Cons

    They raised the healthcare cost by a min of $100 and some paying close to $200 more a month. On top of that, you basically have a second job of reporting to them (on an app) what you do all day. This will get you a discount that still has you paying more for health insurance then you did before. They stopped paying military reserves for there time off and force you to use PTO instead. I witnessed a supervisor tell his employees that they are easily replaced at a Take 10. A Take 10 is daily briefing on everything going on in the company. I guess for some it's a point to tell employees they are useless. They will never hirer enough people to get the job done. You will struggle to get what needs to be done till the fourth quarter and then boom they hire anyone that walks in the door. So you have to train them and work ten times harder because it's the busiest time of the year. Those people (mostly form a temp company) never stay and at the start of the year you are back to square one with being heavily understaffed. They hired a guy who actively tried to fist fight everyone and he was allowed to stay for months. Also, in Texas a temp got beaten and knocked out by another guy working there. HR here doesnt care about you. It is absolutely useless to talk to them unless it's something massive like sexual harassment. If you go to HR over your manager you become target, and probably won't work for the company much longer. I have witnessed this many times. The company is a hostile environment. Everything changes daily and it always stacks more work on you. Taking over jobs from other understaffed departments and other regions. Lastly, no one in management is here to help you. They always take away necessary things add new rules/tasks for you to perform. Even doing your job 100% as asked conforming to all the changes nets you a punishment or a new rule.

    Continue reading
    Nebraska Furniture Mart2020-03-25

    Nebraska Furniture Mart Response

    April 9, 2020Human Resources Director

    NFM values those that serve and does not force Military Reservists or those serving to use PTO. If this occurred, please contact HR Director Megan Berry Barlow.

  7. Helpful (1)

    "Good company to work for"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Material Handler Team Lead in The Colony, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Nebraska Furniture Mart full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Ok pay and good people to work for

    Cons

    No enough pay and the managment sucks

    Continue reading
    Nebraska Furniture Mart2020-03-07

    Nebraska Furniture Mart Response

    March 10, 2020Human Resources Director

    I am sorry your work experience wasn't great but am open to specific feedback. I hope you took advantage of the in- person or online exit interview options. If not, feel free to contact me directly. HR Director Megan BB

  8. "Good experience"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Design Consultant in The Colony, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nebraska Furniture Mart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great organization and good sales opportunity which supported my passion of interior design

    Cons

    working weekends and holidays is a little rough

    Continue reading
    Nebraska Furniture Mart2020-02-20

    Nebraska Furniture Mart Response

    March 10, 2020Human Resources Director

    We are glad you are part of the NFM Family! I like the people here, too. HR Director Megan BB

  9. "Great company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Electronics Technician in The Colony, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nebraska Furniture Mart full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits and the culture of work place

    Cons

    Pay is to be desired

    Continue reading
    Nebraska Furniture Mart2020-02-20

    Nebraska Furniture Mart Response

    March 10, 2020Human Resources Director

    We are glad you are part of the NFM Family! HR Director Megan BB

  10. "job satisfaction"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in The Colony, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nebraska Furniture Mart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    excellent benefits and entry level pay grade

    Cons

    I cant sat anything bad about Nebraska Furniture

    Continue reading
    Nebraska Furniture Mart2020-02-14

    Nebraska Furniture Mart Response

    March 10, 2020Human Resources Director

    We are glad you are part of the NFM Family! HR Director Megan BB

Found 481 reviews