Nebraska Furniture Mart Reviews | Glassdoor

Nebraska Furniture Mart Reviews

Updated Aug 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 445 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
65%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Nebraska Furniture Mart CEO Irv Blumkin
Irv Blumkin
307 Ratings
  1. "It's a decent job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Pick Up Specialist in Kansas City, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nebraska Furniture Mart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Start out with reasonable pay. Opportunities to move up. Plenty of overtime available if desired.

    Cons

    Weekend work is required. As are days close to holidays.

    Advice to Management

    Consistently train your employees to ensure work is done properly.

    Nebraska Furniture Mart2019-07-08

    Nebraska Furniture Mart Response

    July 9, 2019Human Resources Director

    I appreciate your feedback - I agree that ongoing training is a key to happy, staff members and to an overall successful business. If you have specific suggestions, let your Department Managers or HR know.

  2. "Czar type atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Warehouse in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Nebraska Furniture Mart full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Discount on non electronic items

    Cons

    Cronyism. Promotion based on favoritism over experience reward system of items nobody wants Benefits could be way better.

    Advice to Management

    Separate the warehouse from the store as in the type of functions that go on Revamp the benefits to things warehouse employees actually need/want. Get rid of the refer a friend program that eventually promotes cronyism. Better pay by hiring only efficient employees

    Nebraska Furniture Mart2019-07-06

    Nebraska Furniture Mart Response

    July 9, 2019Human Resources Director

    Good news - the Warehouse Division has been a separate entity from the Retail Store Division since Jan 2019. We also have a new assessment to be used in the hiring process to help us select the best new workers for our open jobs.

  3. "It was great team work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Machine Operator in The Colony, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Nebraska Furniture Mart full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Coworkers were great we worked as a team

    Cons

    Supervisors would write you up even if you had a drs note. My wife and I went through a miscarriage that didn’t come out and had to go in and out of the er till they finally had to get it out so I had to stay with her since we have no family but each other and have a 2 year old and it was going to be hard after her surgery to be alone with the baby and I got fired for calling off to be with her even with drs notes saying...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Put hr in charge of absence and stop all the favoritism or you will loose a lot of hard working people just cause they called it to their attention

    Nebraska Furniture Mart2019-07-27

    Nebraska Furniture Mart Response

    August 6, 2019Human Resources Director

    I am sorry for you and your spouse regarding your family tragedy. If you want to talk with an HR Rep- please call the office. We are happy to discuss and review. Megan BB - HR Director

  4. Helpful (1)

    "Good part time job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Pick Up Specialist in The Colony, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Nebraska Furniture Mart part-time

    Pros

    Reasonable pay for a college student. Good hours.

    Cons

    Customer Service. Have to work weekends.

    Advice to Management

    Need to learn how to manage a group of people, or else people are gonna complain about the workload being contributed.

    Nebraska Furniture Mart2019-06-15

    Nebraska Furniture Mart Response

    June 17, 2019Human resources Director

    We appreciate your comments and will share with the local management team. And - good luck in college!!

  5. "Be careful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in The Colony, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Nebraska Furniture Mart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, training and break rooms along with discounts

    Cons

    Managers are very much two faced. Long hours on feet with a very difficult dress code.

    Advice to Management

    Don’t lie and take sides

    Nebraska Furniture Mart2019-07-13

    Nebraska Furniture Mart Response

    July 15, 2019Human Resources Director

    Sounds like you had a rough time- if you'd like to discuss, please visit the local HR office or call me - Megan BB.

  6. "Great company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Compensation Analyst in Omaha, NE
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nebraska Furniture Mart full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    My contribution to the organization is recognized. My manager is very supportive and I have met some really good people.

    Cons

    Retail hours may not be for everyone.

    Nebraska Furniture Mart2019-06-03

    Nebraska Furniture Mart Response

    June 4, 2019Human resources Director

    Working for an employer who recognizes your efforts and values your expertise (and you as a person) does make work a pretty great place. We are glad you like NFM!!

  7. "Furniture sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Salesperson in The Colony, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Nebraska Furniture Mart full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Open floor—no “Up System”. This allowed for aggressive sales

    Cons

    Salespeople taking your customers. Also, too much turnover in management. Micromanaging by sales managers that cannot sell themselves!! Lots of lies and name thrashing without investigation even though they have 900+ cameras in the store.

    Advice to Management

    Treat your best salespeople with respect and don’t always believe customers because they always want something for nothing. The same goes for certain salespeople—make sure you do a background check—they have done with criminal records

    Nebraska Furniture Mart2019-07-09

    Nebraska Furniture Mart Response

    August 6, 2019Human Resources Director

    Thanks for your review- NFM does do criminal background checks and evaluates each report individually. Good luck in your career!

  8. "No good employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Receiving in Kansas City, KS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nebraska Furniture Mart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good workout. Some good guys working there.

    Cons

    Too many people working there that constantly show up late, are slow to start, milk the clock, and repeatedly put others in danger because they don't care.

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of half of your staff, increase wages, and have better food available for purchase for people that don't want to go to jack in the box for lunch and only have a few bucks to their name.

    Nebraska Furniture Mart2019-06-07

    Nebraska Furniture Mart Response

    June 10, 2019Human resources Director

    Sorry to hear your frustration. At NFM we do care about attendance and strive to maintain a highly engaged and productive workforce. We also review wages each year and make adjustments as needed- in addition to the annual merit increases earned by our staff of up to 7%. I am happy ...

    Show More
  9. "Fantastic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bedroom Sales Associate in The Colony, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nebraska Furniture Mart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    1. You can literally suck at sales and still make honest paychecks as long as you put in the effort. 2. Nebraska does such a fantastic job of marketing that there is a constant flow of customers to earn commission off of. 3. Prices are nearly always beating competitors, giving sales people a much more trustworthy status within the store. 4. The Colony, Tx, and surrounding areas, are booming. Nebraska is filling these...

    Show More

    Cons

    There are very few. - The chain of command is pretty small, meaning that once you become a generic floor manager, it gets pretty difficult to move vertically. But the reality is that the average salesperson (according to 2018 NFM statistics), makes $55,000/year which is just above the normal starting rate of a floor manager at $53,000. I personally feel like I am just an average salesman that puts a little extra work...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Don’t power trip. And every once in a while, sales people actually are having beneficial conversations. So ask before jumping to conclusions and a bad attitude when it comes to grouping.

    Nebraska Furniture Mart2019-05-14
  10. "Over rated"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Clive, IA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Nebraska Furniture Mart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The social culture and what the company does socially for the employees is great!

    Cons

    There are way to many layers in place for selling special order items and expect them to be delivered on a timely basis.

    Advice to Management

    Simplify this process.

    Nebraska Furniture Mart2019-06-16

    Nebraska Furniture Mart Response

    June 18, 2019Human Resources Director

    Thanks for the feedback and for the positive comments. As you are aware, NFM is implementing a massive Supply Chain package that also includes new roles and functions at NFM. We are first working on date accuracy, which has improved 28% in the last 90 days. We are also doing ...

    Show More
Found 445 reviews