Nebraska Furniture Mart Reviews

Updated Mar 5, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
63%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
Nebraska Furniture Mart Chairman and CEO Irv Blumkin
Irv Blumkin
366 Ratings
  1. "Great company to work for"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front End Cashier 
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nebraska Furniture Mart part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great company to work for

    Cons

    No cons that i can think of.

    Nebraska Furniture Mart Response

    January 11, 2021Human Resources Director

    Thanks- have a great day!

  2. "Great People"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Infrastructure Engineer in Omaha, NE
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nebraska Furniture Mart full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Working with great people. Work is fun and challenging.

    Cons

    Benefits need to improve to keep up with other companies.

    Nebraska Furniture Mart Response

    January 11, 2021Human Resources Director

    Thanks for your feedback. Feel free to let the HR Team know your thoughts on benefits. You can use the new "Ask HR" contact center!


  3. "could be the best job ever"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in The Colony, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nebraska Furniture Mart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The store is well known so it brings in lots of customers

    Cons

    they don’t care who they’re letting go, or what the reasons are, too strict on their numbers

    Continue reading

    Nebraska Furniture Mart Response

    March 3, 2021Human Resources Director

    Thanks for the feedback. We do have high standards for our Sales Professionals - which is why so many of them earn six figure incomes. Best of luck in your future efforts. Megan BB - HR Director

  4. "Good money potential"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nebraska Furniture Mart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent commission rates Good PTO Good amount of holidays

    Cons

    Hard to advance if you don’t become friends with management. Can lose job over warranty sales Can get fired for customers having buyers remorse

    Continue reading

    Nebraska Furniture Mart Response

    December 28, 2020Human Resources Director

    Thanks for your comments. NFM does have great benefits and pay, and we do measure various KPIs for our professional sales team.

  5. "NFM Mentality"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Full Time Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nebraska Furniture Mart full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    the people who work at NFM are some of the best the company has a high (2-7%) annual income increase based on performance, 5% is typical

    Cons

    little opportunity for growth compensation is within market range, but barely they base everything on their feelings in Omaha, and don’t consider the other markets well lots of people who know someone or are related to the family get high-ranking roles they’re not qualified for not taking COVID seriously, just wanting to appear they are terrible work-life balance they send out an email to all employees to rank them 5 stars on glassdoor so they could get the ‘best places to work’ ranking and plaster it everywhere. this is not a true representation of how most employees feel. they don’t take negative feedback well

    Nebraska Furniture Mart Response

    March 3, 2021Human Resources Director

    Correct! Our annual merit increase structure is WAY above most other companies. Solid performers can earn 5-7% increases year over year. That compounding salary increase adds up! Megan BB - HR Director

  6. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent Organization"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Solution Center Supervisor in Omaha, NE
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nebraska Furniture Mart full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    They take care of their staff, great benefits and opportunities for growth

    Cons

    Insurance no longer covers one of the major health groups in Omaha.

    Nebraska Furniture Mart Response

    December 28, 2020Human Resources Director

    Thanks for the feedback. here's to a great 2021! Megan BB - HR Director

  7. "Great place to work for a while. I worked there for seven years and would probably go back. In time."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Merchandiser III in The Colony, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nebraska Furniture Mart full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    High pay and compensation Family-oriented, Care about culture and Employees Great benefits, 401k, PTO, and OMG that employee discount! Open Door policy Very Transparent about how the business is run, how things are going, and where they are headed. Equal opportunity for Age, Race, Gender and Sexual Orientation Mostly good people

    Cons

    Career opportunities abound if you go the sales track with lots of room for advancement. The same goes for the warehouse. However, that is it. If you are in any other field, you are stuck. There is a bit of a clash between the "Old School" tenured types and the more forward-thinking employees that has caused some real strain in the workplace since the transition in leadership. I think this will be resolved soon enough, but until it is, it can be a stressful environment. You have four different locations that have traditionally been used to doing things in four different ways. Recently there has been a push to unify systems and strategies, but it will be a while before that REALLY happens, particularly when Omaha, the home store, has some of the biggest offenders on "just do it the old way" mentality sticklers. Again, that sort of environment is stressful.

    Continue reading

    Nebraska Furniture Mart Response

    December 28, 2020Human Resources Director

    Thanks for the feedback. We hope to see you again one day!! Megan BB - HR Director

  8. "Your success Depends upon you"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Business Analyst in Coppell, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nebraska Furniture Mart full-time

    Pros

    Benefits Midwest feel Gives you goals to strive for CoWorkers are friendly

    Cons

    People are always looking for a deal.

    Nebraska Furniture Mart Response

    December 28, 2020Human Resources Director

    Thank for the feedback. Here's to a great 2021! Megan BB - HR Director

  9. "Unless you're an executive you're worthless to this company"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Nebraska Furniture Mart full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Currently allowing work from home for some positions.

    Cons

    They claim to be "improving people's lives" and " the number one place to work". But only if you are an executive. If you are an hourly worker, they truly do not care about you. They lie to you when they hire you about certain benefits, they chose the worst possible insurance coverage and you pay for most of it, they praise those that slack off and those that go above and beyond get mistreated and disrespected. The management teams are nothing but high school cliques that spread rumors and walk the line of discrimination. They will intentionally try and cause you to mess up so they can write you up. But if you're one of their "buddies" you get away with murder. They allow you to cussed at, threatened and harrassed and then turn around and blame you for it. The management team does not support the employees at all. They lie to you, ignore you and micromanage the dumbest things but wont address major issues. They only promote people that are as ignorant as they are. This is one of the worst companies I have ever worked for.

    Continue reading

    Nebraska Furniture Mart Response

    March 3, 2021Human Resources Director

    Based on our annual staff climate survey, your opinion is very isolated. NFM gets high marks for being a fun place to work and creating opportunities for staff to develop and grow. Our benefits are benchmarked against other businesses and we know they are high quality and fairly priced. I encourage you to speak with a local HR Rep who can help. Megan BB - HR Director

  10. COVID-19

    "Pretty Great Place to work, but..."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Specialist in The Colony, TX
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nebraska Furniture Mart full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They really want you to succeed, and will do everything they can to help you along your career.

    Cons

    Bad work/life balance, unwilling to bend on COVID-19 fears. Once the new president was hired, it feels like company culture is changing for the worse

    Nebraska Furniture Mart Response

    December 28, 2020Human Resources Director

    You are right, we really do want all members of the NFM Family to succeed, at work and in their personal lives. NFM developed rigorous safety protocols in dealing with the covid pandemic including closing our showrooms briefly for the first time in our 83+ year history. It was a hard decision, but we have implemented very thorough safety precautions and have no staff contracting the disease in the workplace. This happened under the leadership of Tony B - NFMs President and COO.

Viewing 11 - 20 of 541 English Reviews

Work at Nebraska Furniture Mart? Share Your Experiences

Nebraska Furniture Mart logo
or