Nederlandse Spoorwegen Reviews | Glassdoor

Nederlandse Spoorwegen Reviews

Updated Sep 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
84%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Nederlandse Spoorwegen CEO Roger van Boxtel
Roger van Boxtel
3 Ratings
Pros
  • "Zoveel mogelijkheden om te leren als je zelf wilt(in 9 reviews)

  • "Bij NS is de kans groot dat je een goede werk-priv(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "Als grote organisatie soms stroperig, en vanwege de grote zichtbaarheid in de maatschappij soms wat voorzichtig in denken en handelen(in 6 reviews)

  • "Politiek en uitkijken dat uit je niet in een gouden kooi beland(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work if you can do the job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Nederlandse Spoorwegen full-time

    Pros

    Great atmosphere, responsibilities and capabilities are well managed and the are good at giving credit where credit is due.

    Cons

    some of the external people you'l have to work with are sometimes not really up to their job.

    Nederlandse Spoorwegen2018-11-28
  2. "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Scientist in Utrecht
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Nederlandse Spoorwegen full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good secondary benefits, nice work environment and friendly colleagues

    Cons

    Limited R&D support and all procedures took very long if you need other software/hardware than standard.

    Nederlandse Spoorwegen2018-01-27
  3. "Good Company for Most Part"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Employee in Chelmsford, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nederlandse Spoorwegen part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fair Employers Pay not bad Staff members were nice Bosses were easy to get along with

    Cons

    Rude customers Very early morning openings Late closing times Freed hot drinks

    Nederlandse Spoorwegen2018-01-12
  4. "NS Stations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Utrecht

    I worked at Nederlandse Spoorwegen

    Pros

    Good salary, #3 biggest retail company in The Netherlands, Interesting and one of a kind special development projects.

    Cons

    Nederlandse Spoorwegen is a privatized former state owned company, now it's a private company with the state as single stockholder. State politics have a big influence on the direction of the company.

    Nederlandse Spoorwegen2016-05-31
  5. "Manager Operations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Utrecht
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Nederlandse Spoorwegen full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Result driven part of NS. NS is owned by the government, which makes it sometimes less result driven, but the NS Stations part is. Freedom - you are your own boss, but results are demanded

    Cons

    You work fot the government. It's a big, slow moving organization with parts of the company that does not want to work hard. Careermaking goes less fast than in other organizations.

    Advice to Management

    Evolve to a more result driven company. Close the gates at the stations and get rid of train drivers and train managers by automating trains.

    Nederlandse Spoorwegen2015-05-10
  6. "Retail"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Nederlandse Spoorwegen full-time

    Pros

    Stabiele organisatie prima arbeid voorwaarden

    Cons

    Logge organisatie, procedures duren lang

    Nederlandse Spoorwegen2018-07-02
  7. "Werken Bij Railcatering"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Steward Railcatering 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Nederlandse Spoorwegen part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Werken bij de Railcatering is goed omdat het erg flexibel is. Ik kan per week mijn beschikbaarheid aangeven. Tevens werk ik er met veel plezier omdat er veel jonge collega's zijn, waarbij er een goede, informele sfeer is.

    Cons

    Werken op basis van realistische verkooptargets. Dit vind ik zelf fijn werken, maar ik kan mij voorstellen dat dit niet voor iedereen geldt.

    Nederlandse Spoorwegen2017-09-26
  8. "Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nederlandse Spoorwegen

    Pros

    Hart stikke leuk werk wel moeilijk

    Cons

    Kan nooit achter uit rijden

    Nederlandse Spoorwegen2015-01-26
  9. "IT bij NS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Nederlandse Spoorwegen full-time

    Pros

    Veel verschillende carrièremogelijkheden, ook binnen IT

    Cons

    Flexibele werktijden zorgen soms voor langere doorlooptijden in samenwerking

    Nederlandse Spoorwegen2019-09-16
  10. "Goede werkgever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nederlandse Spoorwegen full-time

    Pros

    -houdt rekening met de behoeften van zijn werknemer -heeft speciale programma's om aan de gezondheid van de werknemer te werken zoals gratis fysio of toegang tot een volledige fitness ruimte voor Maar 7 euro per maand. -veel vakantie dagen

    Cons

    Die is er niet

    Nederlandse Spoorwegen2019-08-16
Found 73 reviews