Nelnet Reviews | Glassdoor

Nelnet Reviews

Updated May 26, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 297 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
56%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Nelnet CEO Mike Dunlap
Mike Dunlap
152 Ratings
  1. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Nelnet full-time

      Pros

      Good benefits, adequate vacation, growth opportunities

      Cons

      Primarily a Call center environment

      Nelnet2019-05-27
    • "Great place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Loan Verification Specialist (Non- Department of Executive Director ) in Lincoln, NE
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Nelnet full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Performance and health incentives in place. Benefits and ETO/PTO start on day 1 of employment! Employer will pay all health premiums for the first calendar year of employment; and will pay premiums for all consecutive years in which you continuously meet quarterly health goals (such as BMI, non-smoker, etc). They let you remove attendance "occurrences" if you work makeup hours for missed work. Leadership & HR seem...

      Show More

      Cons

      Frankly, I can't think of many... Parking garage costs are only partially subsidized.

      Nelnet2019-05-16
    • "A good call center position and entry level."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Advisor in Lincoln, NE
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Nelnet full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      A great way to learn about student loans, hone customer service, and develop organizational skills.

      Cons

      Call Center environment limits schedule flexibility and becomes cumbersome.

      Nelnet2019-03-25
    • "Great job"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Representative II in Lincoln, NE

      I have been working at Nelnet full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      Flexible schedule, no micro management if performing well.

      Cons

      can be repetitive, boring after a bit

      Nelnet2019-03-06
    • "amazing people"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Nelnet full-time

        Pros

        I enjoy my job, but the people are second to none.

        Cons

        Struggle to find work/life balance.

        Nelnet2019-02-21
      • Helpful (2)

        "Love it"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Marketing Specialist in Lincoln, NE
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Nelnet full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Great people, great pay, great opportunities for growth, fun projects, AWESOME work-life balance. The leaders couldn't be better.

        Cons

        None that I can think og

        Nelnet2019-01-28
      • "I would never consider leaving!"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - IT Software Engineer in Remote, OR
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Nelnet full-time for more than 10 years

        Pros

        Good people, decent benefits, fair salary. Did I mention good people?

        Cons

        Not much in the way of advancement opportunity, so don't come expecting promotions. Nelnet isn't big on titles, which you could argue is a good thing, since office politics is minimal.

        Advice to Management

        Keep doing what you are doing, and keep valuing your number one asset, your employees.

        Nelnet2019-01-19
      • "great job"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Advisor in Lincoln, NE
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Nelnet for less than a year

        Pros

        people are great benefits are great

        Cons

        there is alot of training

        Nelnet2019-01-04
      • "Advisor 1"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Advisor I in Omaha, NE
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Nelnet full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        The people I work with are fantastic. I was a truck Driver for 28 years, the doctor said I had to find something that was easier on my body. I've never worked in an office. They have been very patient with my lack of experience. I enjoy working here. I hope to make this my last job.

        Cons

        I can't think of any at this time.

        Advice to Management

        Management is very hands on and are always willing to help.

        Nelnet2018-12-22
      • "Great place to work!"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Omaha, NE
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Nelnet full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Great culture and terrific people to work with at all levels. Felt included and heard by leadership team and executives.

        Cons

        Insurance program could be better.

        Nelnet2018-11-16
      Found 297 reviews