Nelson Labs Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Nelson Labs Reviews

Updated Sep 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 104 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
53%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Nelson Labs CEO Jeffery Nelson (no image)
Jeffery Nelson
66 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexible schedules, good benefits, competitive PTO and other benefits(in 7 reviews)

  • "Great culture, approachable upper management, dedication to quality, well organized employee training(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "Low Pay, benefits aren’t that great for a company that’s based on healthcare(in 13 reviews)

  • "Upper management could care less about the section, and no other sections in the company are willing to work alongside Reporting(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Invest in Employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Nelson Labs full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    On-site classes and learning opportunities.

    Cons

    Smell when burning certain organisms.

    Nelson Labs2018-11-02
  2. "Pretty Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lab Technician 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nelson Labs full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, great team atmosphere, friendly coworkers

    Cons

    Low Pay, benefits aren’t that great for a company that’s based on healthcare.

    Nelson Labs2019-09-16
  3. "Overall pretty great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lab Technician in Taylorsville, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nelson Labs full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They were really flexible with my schedule.

    Cons

    They didn’t seem to work too hard to promote internally.

    Nelson Labs2019-07-11
  4. "Great company, pay not commensurate with industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Packaging Engineer in Round Rock, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nelson Labs full-time

    Pros

    Great president, knowledgeable staff, lots to learn

    Cons

    Poor pay, lots of growing pains

    Advice to Management

    NA

    Nelson Labs2019-06-25
  5. Helpful (1)

    "You can do better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Support Specialist in Murray, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nelson Labs full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It was close to my house. Average benefits.

    Cons

    Sub-par pay and co-workers insisted on everyone being friends outside of work, but it a really intrusive way (constant calls and texts before and after work, asking overly personal questions). Maybe I'm a stick in the mud, but I'm not 20 and I don't need 10 new friends to juggle along with my new job. On top of the that the founder is an anti-vaxer which for a microbiology company is just straight up insane,... even if they sold out to someone else. Just crazy.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You're not listening, so no point in pointing anything here.

    Nelson Labs2019-06-04
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Good entry level for lab tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Laboratory Analyst in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Nelson Labs full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Depend on the department you land in. Can be flexible with student.

    Cons

    Some micromanage which is bad for the souls.

    Advice to Management

    less micromanage and trust in your employee.

    Nelson Labs2019-05-28
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Terrible place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lab Technician in Itasca, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Nelson Labs full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The job itself is easy to do as long as you have attention to detail.

    Cons

    The management plays favorites with employees, and will call out their mistakes publicaly as opposed to in a private conversation. Even so far as talking about them/making fun of them openly. Really makes the place a bit untolerable.

    Advice to Management

    Should maintain a degree of professionalism when dealing with employees and not play favorites.

    Nelson Labs2019-05-15
  8. "Good Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Study Director II in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nelson Labs full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I always feel busy and that there is work to be completed. For me that is a definite motivator. I love everyone I work with and that definitely makes the job more enjoyable.

    Cons

    Health benefits seem expensive, but this is my first year signing up.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    Nelson Labs2019-03-14
  9. Helpful (8)

    "Sad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Taylorsville, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Nelson Labs full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good people as co-workers Good facility compared to industry Good place to start and learn, not good for a career.

    Cons

    Management has changed for the worse. HR is non existent for the employees, they are too busy with protecting the company from ex-employees, that they don't take care of existing ones. Most managers are being overworked so they do not have interactions with their people, asked to be over numerous projects in their sections to squeeze every bit of production out of the already overworked analysts.

    Advice to Management

    Focus has changed from employees and quality, to money, profits and company protection. Yearly evaluations and goals meant something, it is now busy work to show value for HR staff. All decisions seem to be money related to an accounting team that knows nothing about our business. HR and Accounting used to have people local that could help us with benefits and with payroll issues, if employees were... important this would be available locally, it is not even available on different shifts. Morale continues to dive even though in the end of the year we increased in parties, and employee gifts. It is the culture that has changed, it is what made us different when we were in the round building. We worked hard and we worked together, and we were valued. We understand this is a different company and climate. But when we hear that males should "shut up" if they expect anything from the company, and that comes from the president in a company meeting, that isn't fair to anyone no matter their sex, or orientation. This box is for advice, and I am not sure what could be given, many mistakes have been made that we cannot come back from. People don't leave bad managers as much as they leave bad cultures, and with bad cultures, loyalty and trust wane.

    Show More
    Nelson Labs2019-01-05
  10. Helpful (5)

    "The downward spiral is real"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Nelson Labs full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    1- Free popcorn 2- Free fruit and drinks 3- Some nice company activities 4- Great place to start a career

    Cons

    1- Terrible place to stay - I don't recommend anyone stay longer than 3-4 years 2- Clueless upper management that is terrified of their ridiculous CEO 3- Outright nepotism from some members of management for friends 4- Low pay 5- A dark and cynical culture is starting to embed itself - starting from upper management 6- A culture that focuses on blame and scapegoating, rather than finding root causes to failures. ... This is actually worse from the upper managers.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I have none, they honestly should clear out all of the old guard and replace with new VPs/president that isn't terrified of their heavy-handed and dismissive CEO. They should either sell the company or get a new CEO, who understands service side industries

    Nelson Labs2019-02-09
Found 104 reviews