Nelson Schmidt Reviews | Glassdoor

Nelson Schmidt Reviews

Updated Feb 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 10 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
52%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "Great Place To Call Home"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Media Strategist in Milwaukee, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Nelson Schmidt full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work Life Balance Open Door Policy Collaboration Career Growth

    Cons

    Unpredictable building conditions, but working remote is an option

    Nelson Schmidt2018-10-02
  2. "Stressed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Madison, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Nelson Schmidt full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice office, nice administrative assistant

    Cons

    Stressed out, turnover too high

    Advice to Management

    Manage better

    Nelson Schmidt2019-02-19
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Terribly mismanaged and behind the times"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Nelson Schmidt full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They attempt a work/life balance, but pretty much fail. They like to say there is an "open door policy" but when people speak up they are punished. A few people hold all of the decision making power and others are forced to oblige.

    Cons

    No loyalty. No maternity leave. Gross building to work in. Terrible management.

    Nelson Schmidt2019-02-19
  4. "Marketing Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Intern Marketing in Milwaukee, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Nelson Schmidt for less than a year

    Pros

    Within the first month of my internship I was given responsibilities that allowed me to make a real impact at the company. Before I even started, the firm took me out for a get-to-know the agency boat ride. Looking forward to continuing my professional learning with these smart and friendly people.

    Cons

    the air conditioner broke for one day. It was a rough day having to work outside in Milwaukee's summer breeze.

    Nelson Schmidt2018-09-04
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Creative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Milwaukee, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Nelson Schmidt full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Steady job that was somewhat predictable. The younger coworkers were very friendly and created a great atmosphere.

    Cons

    Creative leadership is completely non existent, there is a lack of vision and a great deal of time ends up being spent on mediocre ideas. The couple times someone with excellent talent was hired they quickly left. There was one manager in particular who was very abrasive and rude. That type of behavior seems to go completely unchecked and is totally acceptable. The account team when I was there tended to mismanage projects...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Hire people with better attitudes and a higher talent level. Invest more time into nurturing creativity instead of churning out work as fast as possible.

    Nelson Schmidt2018-01-09
  6. Helpful (4)

    "PR Account Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Milwaukee, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Nelson Schmidt full-time

    Pros

    I worked with the best of the best here. My co-workers were incredibly talented, driven go-getters. I gained some valuable experience doing media relations and pitching stories on a national platform. When I left the organization, I was a better communications consultant and became more detail-oriented in everything I produced. This place was very organized, which I liked. Great learning experience as far as being exposed...

    Show More

    Cons

    My supervisor was extremely abrasive and failed to provide me with constructive feedback to help me improve. In fact, I was told I should never be a writer, I don't have what it takes to succeed and "my skin isn't thick enough for the industry." Prior to joining the agency, I had very little media relations experience and my supervisor wasn't supportive/helpful when I came with questions. Over time, things got worse,...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Provide more guidance and direction to staff, and communicate expectations early on. Yelling at staff and insulting them with no constructive feedback isn't helpful.

    Nelson Schmidt2017-05-13
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Account Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Nelson Schmidt full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Smart people. Interesting work. Parking paid for. Closed the week between xmas and new years which means you don't have to use vacation days.

    Cons

    Terrible health benefits. It's an agency.....so you are always swinging around at the end of the whip. High burn-out rate. Poor work/life balance.

    Advice to Management

    More mentoring for employees. You lose people because they are burned out and don't get a lot of relief or acknowledgement from management.

    Nelson Schmidt2015-12-11
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Could of been better..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Nelson Schmidt for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice computers, spacious cubical, nice people, very chill and laid back environment and pay was decent for a internship

    Cons

    I was intern there and it wasn't the best experience , I sat at my desk half of the time. No one gave me nothing to do hardly ever and I learned absolutely nothing. Everyone is in meetings half the day, so I wasn't able to prove what I could do because nothing was never given to me...and when I did get stuff to do it was stuff no one else wanted to do..

    Nelson Schmidt2015-12-17
  9. "Great Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern in Milwaukee, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Nelson Schmidt for more than a year

    Pros

    Nelson Schmidt was my first marketing job. They provided a great opportunity to jump start my career

    Cons

    None -- I really appreciate my experiences with them. I was young and they gave me a shot

    Advice to Management

    None -- my manager at the time is no longer there, but he was a good guy

    Nelson Schmidt2015-05-08
  10. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Nelson Schmidt

    Pros

    Lots of opportunity for employees to grow and learn

    Cons

    Work load is heavy and often results in late nights at the office

    Advice to Management

    Hire more people on each team so the work load on a single member isn't so heavy

    Nelson Schmidt2015-04-01
Found 10 reviews