Nelson Staffing Reviews | Glassdoor

Nelson Staffing Reviews

Updated May 28, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 99 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
72%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Nelson Staffing CEO Joe Madigan
Joe Madigan
3 Ratings
Pros
  • "Friendly staff, respond fairly quick to questions/emails, medical & dental benefits available, public restrooms, free parking(in 5 reviews)

  • "I have some great co-workers who have become great friends(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "Low pay, no benefits (that one could speak of)(in 5 reviews)

  • "Full time positions are harder to come by and sometimes there are communication issues between the place you work at and staffers(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Stafing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accounts Payable Specialist in Fairfield, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nelson Staffing full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Recruiters are great at seeking employment opportunities that meet my qualifications.

    Cons

    Sometimes there is a long period of time in between assignments

    Advice to Management

    None

    Nelson Staffing2019-03-22
  2. "Small, but yet extremely disconnected"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager (@ Google) in Mountain View, CA
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Nelson Staffing full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    small, so relatively easy to communicate

    Cons

    completely disconnected from projects happening on site, only hear from them when there is a problem

    Nelson Staffing2019-05-28
  3. "No structure but nice culture/environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiter 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nelson Staffing full-time

    Pros

    Co-workers have a lot of personality, honestly it’s not very professional but it’s a fun environment. Management has an open-door feel to them. Uncapped commission in addition to base pay. Some flexibility

    Cons

    No clear room for growth; high turnover in certain offices and including turnover in management, no training basically, no structure, average health insurance, no free lunches, average or below average vacation time when comparing to the rest of the Bay Area. Some teams are understaffed and some co-workers/managers come off as unprofessional

    Advice to Management

    Needs more structured room for growth and perks might have to come on par with the rest of the Bay Area companies otherwise employees migut wander to companies with better benefits

    Nelson Staffing2019-05-27
  4. "Lack of experienced management/ manager."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Orange, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nelson Staffing full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    office is in a nice Irvine building.

    Cons

    There was a change of direction with new leadership which lead the company culture to change for the worst. A lot of wonderful employees ended up leaving. As the saying goes, “bad stay good go”. The situation is unfortunate and I hope the leadership issues get addressed. I personally wouldn’t recommend a friend to work here. I wouldn’t want to have a good person subjected to an unprofessional, unethical, hassle work...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Before you start making drastic changes, have a plan it place. You are throwing things against the wall hoping it will stick. Not a good way to run a business especially at the sake of your employees

    Nelson Staffing2019-03-30
  5. "Micromanaging"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nelson Staffing full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great CEO and Great co-workers! Easy to approach, collaborative.

    Cons

    Extremely judgemental manager. Micromanagement needs to stop. My manager would assume a lot. Favoritism.

    Advice to Management

    Stop micromanaging! You are not motivating anyone.

    Nelson Staffing2019-03-09
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place To work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Brand Ambassador 

      I worked at Nelson Staffing part-time

      Pros

      Being paid every week is a plus.

      Cons

      Nothing in particular, but if anything logging your expenses here is differently more tedious than it should be.

      Advice to Management

      Keep it up

      Nelson Staffing2019-02-13
    • "google fiber - sales rep"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Google Fiber - Sales Representative 

        I worked at Nelson Staffing full-time

        Pros

        good benefit, but different by states (where you are working)

        Cons

        no performance review, no rewarding experiences

        Nelson Staffing2019-02-10
      • Helpful (1)

        "Admin"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook

        I have been working at Nelson Staffing full-time

        Pros

        Solid training, great benefits and tenurship among the staff

        Cons

        More work from home opportunities

        Nelson Staffing2018-09-24
      • Helpful (1)

        "Good for temp work"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Data Entry 
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Nelson Staffing part-time for less than a year

        Pros

        I had no job experience and had just came right out high school. They hired me for temporary data entry work for a national bank. Straightforward hiring process, no interview and the work was easy. At that time, the hourly wage they paid wasn't bad at all, 1/3 more than minimum wage. The management staff at the location was wonderful.

        Cons

        My department supervisor wasn't really that nice otherwise it was fine.

        Nelson Staffing2018-09-12
      • Helpful (1)

        "Temporary"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends

        I worked at Nelson Staffing full-time

        Pros

        Very quick to put me to work and friendly staff!

        Cons

        None. They were incredibly good with their placement matching.

        Nelson Staffing2018-08-14
      Found 99 reviews