NeoGenomics Reviews | Glassdoor

NeoGenomics Reviews

Updated Oct 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
83%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
NeoGenomics CEO Douglas M. VanOort
Douglas M. VanOort
101 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Culture, Quality, Patients!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NeoGenomics full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Company culture, quality of testing, and patient care are of utmost importance to NeoGenomics.

    Cons

    Cons are few and far between.

    Advice to Management

    Keep an open mind .

    NeoGenomics2019-03-26
  2. "Great company, constantly growing!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NeoGenomics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    NeoGenomics has one of the best cultures I have ever experienced.

    Cons

    With the constant change and ever growing comes a workload that is hard to keep up with.

    NeoGenomics2019-03-14
  3. "Neo, a company who values its employees."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dedicated Professional in Fort Myers, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NeoGenomics full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Neo is a company who strives to give-back to its employees through recognition programs, training and development, career paths, events, annual bonus potential, and merit increases for those who work hard and live out the Core Values.

    Cons

    One needs to be open to change, collaboration, and teamwork. If that's not you, then you won't be successful at Neo.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to listen to your employees and keep the annual bonus a top priority. I love it and count on it - thank you!

    NeoGenomics2019-03-14
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Growing too fast. Feel undervalued."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lab Assistant in Fort Myers, FL
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NeoGenomics full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good pay. Tuition reimbursement. Stock Options. 401k. Helping cancer patients.

    Cons

    Feeling undervalued, never shown appreciation from leads or supervisors. Keeping new employees past their 90 days that aren't fit for the job in order to fill a headcount, but then come to the ones who know what they're doing and ask why a task isn't complete. After 3 years, I found out the base pay of my previous position went up, and now after 3 years, I make the same amount as someone just starting out.

    Advice to Management

    Actually care about your employees. Don't just come to them with problems, or with only what they did wrong. Everyone can see through any type of "morale booster get together" as a way of saying, 'I don't know how to show gratitude for your work, so here's some food as a half-hearted way of trying to make you forget." I cannot count the number of times I've spent hours on a project, and I was notified of the one... error I committed (non-patient related).

    Show More
    NeoGenomics2019-02-20
  5. Helpful (1)

    "IT member for over 2 years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NeoGenomics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Solid infrastructure built by core IT group. Growth and opportunities abound. Seems no shortage of money or fear of spending it to make the best infrastructure from servers to networks to databases. The lights are always on across an international distributed lab system. Things work so well and are so stable the business is spoiled. They don't know what it is to lose services around here because everything... always works. Kudos! Employees are appreciated at multiple levels stating at the top. Many programs are available to help employees. Most departments run well considering the growth and high volumes but not without normal stress related issues. Regardless, some will not thrive just because the company is growing so fast.

    Show More

    Cons

    Supersonic growth is stressing ability to keep up without staffing up. Normal company growing pains trying to hold onto original culture so an evolving culture is needed.

    Advice to Management

    The company is growing and now is the time to empower middle managers with more control, with oversight of course. Older reliable software systems might be at a breaking point or at least potentially hold back growth without excessive effort and time. Newer modular software designs managed by an overall architect model is needed rather than just gluing on more appendages. Time for more Project managers, something... a smaller company did not need.

    Show More
    NeoGenomics2018-12-18

    NeoGenomics Response

    February 11, 2019Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback. Neo's growth is explosive which is creating many opportunities for us all - employees, clients, and our patients. We strongly encourage all our employees to provide suggestions for improvement and innovation directly to their manager during their NeoConnections. It sounds like you have a lot of good ideas, we hope you are sharing them so we can continue to improve and grow.

    Show Less
  6. Helpful (1)

    "We were bought out, but ok."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at NeoGenomics full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits, friendly employees, nice lab.

    Cons

    Night shift is rough and procedures are slow to change. You may have overtime. Tues-Sat isn't ideal.

    Advice to Management

    Being both professional and personable is appreciated.

    NeoGenomics2018-12-14
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Billing department was very unorganized"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Revenue Cycle Management in Aliso Viejo, CA

    I worked at NeoGenomics full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Early work hours was convenient

    Cons

    Too much gossip in the billing department

    NeoGenomics2018-11-06
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Excellent Lab to Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Histotechnician II in Aliso Viejo, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NeoGenomics full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Open lines of communication between staff and management; great leads & supervisors; lots of OT available; solid benefit package; Christmas bonuses based on performance; employee stock-purchase program; in-house CLS training program; excellent coworkers with years of experience; clean environment.

    Cons

    Not as much room to grow/learn new skills as compared with smaller labs; high volume can be stressful for some.

    Advice to Management

    Continue promoting from within, and keep doing what you're already doing! Kudos to you all.

    NeoGenomics2018-09-23
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Lab Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at NeoGenomics full-time

    Pros

    Everyone is very friendly and there is a lot of room for improvement.

    Cons

    There is nothing to complain about.

    NeoGenomics2018-09-11
  10. Helpful (5)

    "FISH CLS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - FISH CLS in Aliso, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at NeoGenomics full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Lots of work available. Plenty of overtime.

    Cons

    Archaic system of management. You won’t move up anytime soon. Kinda feel exploited based on how low of pay they start everyone.

    Advice to Management

    Read new books on tribal/ community leadership.

    NeoGenomics2018-09-19
Found 136 reviews