NerdWallet "catered lunches" Reviews | Glassdoor

NerdWallet Employee Reviews about "catered lunches"

Updated May 7, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
58%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
NerdWallet CEO Tim Chen
Tim Chen
95 Ratings
Pros
  • "The work life balance here is unparalleled - everyone gets their work done without needing to force anyone to work late(in 21 reviews)

  • "The perks are amazing too, from catered lunches to bootcamp classes to weekly happy hours(in 12 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "catered lunches"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NerdWallet full-time

    Pros

    - Great benefits - Catered lunches - On-site barista bar - Amazing culture

    Cons

    Morale from last year's layoffs, but don't let that impair your perception of the company. The company is still growing.

    Continue reading
    NerdWallet2018-05-08
  2. Helpful (14)

    "SEO dependent affiliate marketing company disguised as a personal finance tech company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at NerdWallet full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - comp package was decent, but you could do much better if you are an engineer - free drinks and snacks, catered lunch and dinner - some smart coworkers - some people there actually believed in the mission - shiny new office in the twitter building - decent benefits, but nothing exciting when you consider other tech companies benefits package

    Cons

    - huge dependency on Search Engine Optimization (SEO) for revenue. when google manually penalized the company's search results, revenue dropped significantly hence the recent layoffs. you don't want to join a company that suffers tremendously when google sneezes - no marketing competency. the current CMO (CEO's childhood friend) was universally reviled. interim CMO is competent and a skilled leader but not sure how long he is staying around - no accountability and ownership in an over-engineered matrix reporting structure - incompetent senior leadership from CEO downwards. senior leadership plays the blame game and favoritism runs rampant - lack of product strategy, vision, and traction. an uninspiring chief product officer from realtor.com and yahoo pushed people out and hired his old friends from realtor.com and yahoo - virtually no growth this year (think single digit %) - the company officially laid off 100 people this year (40 in april, 6 in july, and 53 in november), but likely more behind the scenes. just google nerdwallet techcrunch - the company got rid of its cash bonus and only financial incentive to perform is to be promoted for measly equity refreshers - morale is extremely low after multiple rounds of layoffs, stagnant revenue, and lack of product traction. everyone is looking for a new job and half the people are constantly on 'vacations' (read: interviewing)

    Continue reading
    NerdWallet2017-11-29
  3. Helpful (1)

    "LOVE IT HERE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NerdWallet full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The company culture is outstanding. I've never been happy to come to work, until now. There is absolutely no ego among colleagues, including the C-Suite. Everyone is so appreciative of one another, and calls each other out for successes. The benefits are stellar. From medical/vision/dental insurance, to phone stipend, to gym stipend, to catered lunches, and of course unlimited snacks. Not only does the company give back to their employees, there is a plethora of programs to give back to the community, including volunteer work, donations, etc. Lastly work life balance is unmatchable!

    Cons

    Some growing pains, but using them as learning opportunities.

    Continue reading
    NerdWallet2017-02-21

    NerdWallet Response

    February 22, 2017NerdWallet

    Thanks for taking the time to leave us with this review! We place great value in our Nerds and want to provide the best benefits possible, so it's wonderful to hear you agree! We appreciate the feedback, cheers!

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Still good, but gone are the good old days; culture trending downhill"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NerdWallet full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -smart. friendly employees and caring managers (depends on your team) -Catered lunch daily and dinner ordering, occasional breakfast and random treats -snacks & drinks -on-premise happy hour and alcohol -fun environment and people -profitable (maybe?), business is strong, recently received funding -401k matching (4%) & stock options, company-sponsored medical benefits -great place to learn and grow your career -unlimited PTO -nice office (for now) -does feel like we're being spoiled at times (but does feel less of this over time) -CEO seems like a cool guy

    Cons

    - no longer dog-friendly when we move to the new office; not sure why they choose an office that doesn't allow pets when they've been boasting to everyone that they're dog-friendly; new office may not be as good as the current one. -workplace ops practically non-existent, lack of company/office culture compared to other companies; looked good on the outside, but bland and stale after a while. -quality of snacks has gone downhill tremendously- budget issues circulating around the rumour mill -ever since we got funding, company became really stingy and more corporate -used to have monthly company activities and company-sponsored trips, but those were taken away due to budget reasons -depending on your manager, some take advantage of the reward perks and team outings, some just aren't good at rewarding their team for their dedication and hard work. -cut-throat at times: lots of employees came from Ivy Leagues and worked in consulting/ I-Banks so they've brought over their social habits that can rub you the wrong way -team inefficiencies: you have long timers adamant about changes and improving old processes and strategies that lag growth of the company; -under the impression that strategy is trying to get the company ready for IPO so management can cash out their options. may not be long-term focused/sustainable. -poor leaders/managers who are either not as dedicated to the success of the company because they've made millions when their last company when IPO or they just have no clue what they're doing because the current strategy roadmap is too challenging for them. -randomly quizzes employees about company's mission and strategic priorities, -priorities constantly shifting, wasting time and effort. feels like they're always experimenting with different strategies and then when it doesn't work out, it's back to square one- probably due immature industry experience which is why they bring in veterans as advisors.

    Continue reading
    NerdWallet2016-11-07

    NerdWallet Response

    November 22, 2016NerdWallet

    Thanks for your feedback. As NerdWallet continues to grow, we will continue to make adjustments to do what is in the best interest of the company, our teams and our employees to execute on NerdWallet’s mission. We are glad you've enjoyed the free lunches, occasional breakfasts and dinners. And it sounds like the pop up surprises and happy hours have been a great part of your experience as a Nerd. We have to really credit the WorkplaceOps team that do a lot behind the scenes to elevate our Nerds’ experience, company culture and employee perks such as these benefits. However, we are always looking for ways to improve in these areas as well, so we appreciate your feedback. With hyper growth comes change, and we strongly emphasize building a culture of talented individuals and leaders that are comfortable with change and adept at pivoting alongside the business. We realize change is hard and not for everyone. Thanks again for your feedback; we value our Nerds’ experience.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Awesome Company Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NerdWallet

    Pros

    Majority of the people are very friendly and welcoming, catered lunches, fun company trips, happy hours. They take care of us at NerdWallet!

    Cons

    There is disorganization with management

    Continue reading
    NerdWallet2014-05-08
  6. Helpful (18)

    "Go elsewhere for a real startup experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at NerdWallet

    Pros

    Catered lunch Nice office Dog friendly Free on-site gym classes Free snacks

    Cons

    Poor and inexperienced managers NOT a meritocracy Cut throat environment; coworkers will steal your ideas and then deny it when confronted CEO doesn't have understand how to prioritize strategic initiatives No mentorship or professional development/training Very disorganized, no HR Unclear strategic direction Management has zero accountability Zero transparency about financial performance or company's future Non managerial employees are paid below market rates Lots of putting out small fires that add little to the company's long-term profitability

    Continue reading
    NerdWallet2014-04-19
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Great collaborative environment; rapidly growing company with lots of opportunities for growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Analyst in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NerdWallet full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    NerdWallet really is a great place to work. The culture is very open and collaborative, and there's a lot of space for professional development and taking on more responsibility. You matter from day one. I remember being amazed that I was being asked for my opinion and expertise on my first day. There's also a lot of openness to experimentation, whether that's with new software or ideas for completely new projects. It is truly a place that is what you make of it. And personally for me, a huge positive is that the company has a great social mission of helping consumers. The employees are a great bunch. Everyone is different and the range of personalities will only expand as the company gets bigger, but what everyone has in common is ambition and a collaborative nature. Middle-level managers and upper management are also great with feeling your pulse on how stressed you are, how content you are, and what you'd like professionally. I'm comfortable telling my manager exactly what I'm thinking, even if we're in disagreement. This is unlike anything I've experienced before, and the company will actually take employee feedback and act on it. The perks are amazing too, from catered lunches to bootcamp classes to weekly happy hours. On the directly financial side, there's also free health insurance, a 401k matching program, and commuter benefits.

    Cons

    Like many jobs, sometimes the workload can be a bit much. Most of this is due to a lack of manpower, so a recruiter definitely needs to be found to help speed along the hiring process. The company is also expanding incredibly rapidly so there are various speedbumps along the way, including the firings that others have referenced (it happened once, not multiple rounds). Management is also relatively young so they have things to learn as well to help smoothly scale the company and to make sure all employees are happy professionally. But there have definitely been changes and lots of efforts to address these issues.

    Continue reading
    NerdWallet2014-02-13
  8. Helpful (12)

    "Management does not care about employee development. If you're looking to work here, think twice."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at NerdWallet full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Perks: Catered Lunches Exercise classes at night Company outings Lenient vacation policy Snacks everywhere Dog friendly environment People are fun to talk to. You meet many hard working, passionate employees. If you want to take on more responsibility, you can make it happen easily.

    Cons

    Job stability is at an all time low. Throughout the young life of NerdWallet, there have been "purges" of whole teams and select individuals. There was one recently in December, several days after the holiday party. These announcements are sudden and those employees are gone in that day. If you decide to work here, you better understand who to be buddies with and whose team to work on to get credit for anything or any opportunities. "No professional development" has been feedback consistently provided to upper management, however nothing has been done to address this. For the most part, this environment will provide very little direction and provide very little resources to help with employee development. If you're looking to have that mentorship or guidance, this is absolutely not the place for it. There is a lack of transparency from upper management. There are many instances where decisions to change course or strategy within the company were not projected to the rest of the company. Further, reasons for mass firings, which teams are being grown and why are not clearly explained. A lot of decision making is made at the upper level of management that is not clearly explained down the hierarchy. The process to get anything done around NerdWallet is muddled. Who to contact to get to get things fixed, to get resources and how long those things will take are not clear at all. Resource appropriation mostly based on politics. * Advice to those evaluating whether to work here or not: try to talk to former employees before moving forward or several current employees if you can. I know the opportunity sounds great on paper, but do your due diligence.

    Continue reading
    NerdWallet2014-02-09
  9. Helpful (13)

    "It's hard to be excited about working here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at NerdWallet full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Great benefits like free catered lunches, 401(k) matching, flexible hours and untracked vacation. -The people are amazing. They're smart, curious, passionate and true team players. -Much more diverse than your typical startup. -Lots of different projects going on at any given time.

    Cons

    -Management is disconnected from the rest of the company -Because so much of the company (particularly management) came from a finance background, the culture can be unnecessarily competitive and people without that background can struggle to speak their language. It can sometimes feel like you're expected to have finance training, no matter your history. -While some amount of shift is normal (and healthy) in startups, management goes beyond pivoting strategy/tactics and changes standards, accountability and even culture/values on a dime. -As other reviewers have mentioned, the company has fired entire teams multiple times, leading to low morale and high insecurity among the employees who remain. -People who are vocal about their accomplishments are awarded, while people who help other teams aren't valued as much.

    Continue reading
    NerdWallet2014-01-12
  10. Helpful (3)

    "A great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director of Content Strategy and Development in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NerdWallet full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots of smart, driven, focused co-workers. Leaders who give you the freedom to do what you know, as well as stretch beyond what you already know. LOTS of sharing of knowledge across the whole company. If you can make a logical case for an idea, you'll probably be green-lighted; it doesn't matter who comes up with the idea. NerdWallet is great for people who want to take ownership, who want to always push for smarter ideas, but are willing to fail while doing that. Our bosses encourage that kind of thinking and want us to learn even from failed attempts. They're not crazy enough to think that you can succeed 100% if you're always pushing to do things better or differently. Plus, great benefits and perks. For example: 100% paid premiums for medical, dental and vision for us, our spouses and kids. Generous allowances for learning and training. Free catered lunches daily. I don't come to work for free lunch, haha, but it's just one of the many ways that we're treated well at NerdWallet. It's also a fun place to work -- weekly happy hours, quarterly trips to places like Napa or Tahoe, etc. There also are in-house exercise classes, but they're never going to get me to do those!

    Cons

    This is not a place for people who need hand-holding or a lot of structure. I worked at many big companies before this, and I think many of my former co-workers would struggle in this environment, because they just want to turn up and do what they already know. This is not a good place for people who just want to do their time and go home. People here are driven, so you have to earn your place. We could use more coordination -- stuff that is someone's job at big companies, but is still being built here as we keep growing. When I first got here from big-company tradition, it took me time to adjust mentally and culturally. I was sort of like a dog who'd lived behind an electric fence for so long that I needed to realize that there was no more fencing keeping me inside.

    Continue reading
    NerdWallet2013-11-22

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 12 reviews