NerdWallet "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

NerdWallet Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Feb 6, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
58%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
NerdWallet CEO Tim Chen
Tim Chen
95 Ratings
Pros
  • "The work life balance here is unparalleled - everyone gets their work done without needing to force anyone to work late(in 21 reviews)

  • "The perks are amazing too, from catered lunches to bootcamp classes to weekly happy hours(in 12 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Honestly a Spectacular place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NerdWallet full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The work life balance here is unparalleled - everyone gets their work done without needing to force anyone to work late. Honestly, this is so rare!

    Cons

    It can sometimes take a while to get promoted.

    Continue reading
    NerdWallet2020-02-06

    NerdWallet Response

    February 6, 2020Talent

    Thank you so much for your thoughts! We’re so glad to hear that you’re enjoying your time at NerdWallet. If you ever have any other thoughts—positive or negative—about your NerdWallet experience, please reach out to your team’s HRBP or share them in NerdPS.

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Hard to feel safe at a place where the politics are running rampant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at NerdWallet full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great perks and work-life balance - Some incredibly smart and driven people - Overall mission

    Cons

    - Middle-upper management is a huge political game - I’ve never trusted an HR org less in my career - A lot of lip service and foul play - Little output due to shifting roadmap and lack of clear direction and initiative (from the top down) I worked at NerdWallet full-time for almost two years. It was full of great times, amazing parties, and life-long friendships. It was also full of anxiety, extreme politic-ing, and mismanagement of people. It was mentally, emotionally, and eventually physically draining to go into a place every morning where I did not feel protected. NerdWallet talks a big talk when it comes to HR efforts around diversity, feedback, and support. It became very clear to me that these efforts are just overcompensating for the huge gap and mistrust among NW employees when I pursued these resources consistently with no change or actual support. I time and time again reported concerns of nepotism and unfair treatment of both myself and other members that were being affected on my team. I first reported this to my HR business partner and manager’s manager. During the several months of recurring meetings with both of these parties (many of which were constantly pushed out and cancelled), I was met with the same banalities and trite responses without any plan of action or recourse. While NerdWallet is insistent that HR reports are taken seriously and escalated as necessary, I did not at all find this to be true in the 6 months I spent logging written complaints and meeting with my HR business partner and manager +1. Therefore, I left on my own accord after voicing my concerns for the good part of a year with no improvement in sight. I had been reviewed as a high/exceeding expectations performer for my two years there, and it’s an extremely sad realization that NW is willing to lose good people due to the egregious amt of politics that go on. Beyond myself, I had seen this happen several times. If you value security, belonging, and support- I recommend you steer clear of this place. If you are OK with politics and ambiguity, then you'll be fine. Aside from the abundance of HR mistrust at this place, it is generally well-staffed with smart people. There is the opportunity to learn and grow if you are not bogged down by the mid-upper level management that is constantly entangled in politics and frankly a bit incompetent in leadership and people management skills. There are, of course, a few gems in that layer but the majority are indecisive and worried about their own place at the company. The power struggle is apparent and REAL. At the end of the day, I want to feel valued, and more importantly HEARD. That is why I made the decision to leave NerdWallet.

    Continue reading
    NerdWallet2020-01-30

    NerdWallet Response

    February 6, 2020Talent

    We are sorry to hear that you felt your experience at NerdWallet was not what you wanted it to be. Our HRBPs work hard to be responsive and ensure employees have a space to voice concerns about their experience. It is our practice to evaluate issues that are brought to our attention and communicate with employees on next steps. We also use our pulse surveys where the HR team works with each leader to understand how their teams, and those individuals on the team are feeling and work to focus on acknowledging concerns and putting plans of action in place. Our commitment to this over the last few years has resulted in our high internal NPS scores for both the company and most teams. Thank you for sharing your perspective. NerdWallet is a place where employees have multiple channels to express concerns directly or anonymously and we want all Nerds to feel empowered and supported and will continue to ensure that moving forward.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (2)

    "NerdWallet is a company filled with fantastic people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NerdWallet full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There's so many things I love about NerdWallet, but the best part is the people. You get a really great blend of people who are easy to work with, want to help you out, want to see the company and team succeed. I've worked at the company a while and haven't see any yelling, any scandals, people just genuinely care for each other here. I also really love the support parents get here. The salary and the work life balance are amazing too. The CEO is super cool, really down to earth and is also a quality person. This is really a place to grow your career and be a kind person. I obviously can't mention any of the revenue numbers, but things are going really well internally. There's a lot of opportunity for growth not just for the company, but for you as a person. Would really love to get more friends to work here to be honest. For engineering, the interviews aren't too difficult if you know what you're doing. I've observed NerdWallet cares more whether you're a nice person with a good attitude than if you can code bubble sort on a whiteboard from memory. No white board problems either!

    Cons

    I would also echo a concern that other reviewers wrote: the product doesn't have the greatest of direction. It's really tough to figure out how the product is going to grow when you're creating something for the consumer that's doing something new but I want to see more value add beyond SEO'ing static pages and moving around components. It's apparently coming. Will update the review in a year.

    Continue reading
    NerdWallet2019-09-27

    NerdWallet Response

    October 22, 2019Talent

    Hi, we're so glad to hear that you are enjoying your time here so far! If you ever have any other thoughts-positive or negative-about your experience, please reach out to your team's HRBP or share them in NerdPS. We'd love to keep the conversation going.

    Continue reading
  4. "Solid company, kind people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Operations in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NerdWallet full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Everyone is nice, professional development is a priority for managers, good work is rewarded more than hard work so success comes from finding ways to be valuable, work life balance is real

    Cons

    Although I think the world is better off with NerdWallet in it, I am not actually motivated day-to-day by the mission. This is not a problem with the company but something you should be aware of if joining a mission driven company is really valuable to you.

    NerdWallet2019-09-09

    NerdWallet Response

    September 17, 2019Talent

    Hi, thank you so much for sharing your thoughts! We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your time at NerdWallet and would love to keep this conversation going. Feel free to share any other thoughts about your NerdWallet experience to your team's HRBP or in NerdPS. Please also reach out concerning any questions around our mission, we're really excited about what we do and would love to share!

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (8)

    "Comfortable place to work, but so much wasted potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Operations 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at NerdWallet full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    NW takes care of its employees compensation and benefits-wise and is generally a good place to work if you can stand the lack of direction and forward progress. Work life balance is generally respected and encouraged, which is great since in reality not a lot of ambitious or roadmap work happens. People are generally smart and mission driven. There is a lot of lip service to inclusion and belonging. It's overall a nice place to work with good compensation and comfortable work environment in most of the orgs. Always has glimmerings of what might --- good vision and mission.

    Cons

    Woefully incompetent senior leadership. There are a few good senior leaders, but several terrible ones that aren't handled. There is a lack of direction in product or even an understanding of how product is developed. Every attempt at forward progress is met by indecision, lack of deciders (or it coming down to Tim since he serves as ceo/cpo/coo) and lack of basic communication and coordination. Ultimately, a lot of the issues originate with the founder/CEO so they're hard to move past until he can mature or hire (and retain) a leader who has what he lacks.

    Continue reading
    NerdWallet2019-08-26

    NerdWallet Response

    September 17, 2019Talent

    Hi, thank you for sharing your positive feedback along with your concerns. Our leaders are always open to feedback so we have brought this review up for further discussion by the applicable teams. We wish you the best for your career.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Not for true professionals"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at NerdWallet full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Perks, Nice people, work-life balance

    Cons

    Leadership, lack of career growth, lack of direction, underlying culture. Ultimately experienced capable leadership is severely lacking (There are a tiny handful who are good). CEO is very nice, but like many startups, failed to build a company with experienced leaders. HR is a mess and lacks true HR professionals who know how to strategically help the company - HR “leaders” don’t have any relevant HR experience and are more likely to bury issues. Culture is great on the surface, but if you look deeper it’s a culture of fear and no accountability. Employees are constantly asked for their feedback but then the outspoken ones suddenly leave or disappear. It’s a place of “don’t rock the boat” and certainly don’t speak truths too loudly. The more experience/acumen you have, the harder it will be to integrate. The company is bleeding talent and many I’ve spoken to would not recommend their network to work here. This isn’t a company for those who want a real career. It is good for those with little to no work experience to get their feet wet.

    Continue reading
    NerdWallet2019-06-08

    NerdWallet Response

    July 11, 2019Talent

    Thank you for sharing your feedback and for your time at NerdWallet. We've shared this with the PeopleOps and management teams for further discussions as we take all feedback seriously, especially with regard to our culture and employee support. Best wishes for your career.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Great Company with great perks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NerdWallet full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Tons of incredibly smart people who are passionate about making personal finance better for people - Great overall culture with routine happy hours, team events outside of the office, etc. The People Ops team really goes above and beyond to help make everyone included, and even organize week long events around holidays like Valentines Day - The perks are awesome. Free food and snacks (it probably saves me hundreds of dollars per month), transportation stipend, phone stipend, gym stipend, etc. My past companies offer very little in terms of perks and NerdWallet is very generous - Very good work life balance and the ability to work from home when needed

    Cons

    - There were some stumbles last year in terms of the company's direction, but I believe the management team is very focused and has a clear path forward. I'm confident the company will accelerate even faster this year

    NerdWallet2018-05-10
  8. Helpful (14)

    "Not what I expected"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at NerdWallet full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Really great perks (unlimited PTO, free lunch, good benefits, great work life balance)

    Cons

    -Multiple rounds of layoffs have made it seem like they don't want to be there or are looking for their next roles. The atmosphere is also really cliquey, people don't really go outside of their comfort zones to talk to people not on their team. Lots of politics in play. - They talk a lot about being transparent, but I never got that sense. They let rumors go on and on all over blind and within the company and waited days before the layoffs, making everyone feel like they were on the chopping block. - Multiple people talk about certain leaders that are only there because they are friends with the CEO. It's almost a known thing that isn't dealt with

    Continue reading
    NerdWallet2018-03-19
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Don't believe the hatorade"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NerdWallet full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - NerdWallet shares many great qualities as other top tech companies: great perks, surrounded by really smart colleagues, healthy work/life balance, good pay, emphasis on results and little bureaucracy, etc - Mission-driven company that has really healthy debates about the consumer, and always puts consumer first - Meritocratic - still a small enough company where exceptional performance can get noticed and rewarded - Really healthy business model (won't elaborate further)

    Cons

    - Company has largely completed transition from being operational-led to being product-led. Large changes in strategy are always painful for functions de-emphasized in this new operating model

    Continue reading
    NerdWallet2018-01-21
  10. Helpful (31)

    "Shaky year, with another rough year ahead"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at NerdWallet full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work-life balance is good, salary is higher than most companies in SF. Depending what team you're on, unlimited PTO can mean up to 4-5 weeks. Mission-driven company, with a decent ability to take ownership and have impact. Especially if you're willing to play the political game to assert yourself. CEO really does want to do good in the world. New CFO seems determined to bring back a sense of stability and thoughtfulness to the company.

    Cons

    - Three rounds of layoffs this year has crashed the company morale. People come in by 10, leave by 5, and generally eat at their desks. Everyone outside of leadership is in survival mode and needs to constantly prove their worth to make sure they're not the next one gone. This makes it really difficult to focus on the mission. - Leadership seems content to keep telling white lies, like leading employees to believe the org changes will be permanent, that there aren't likely to be more reorgs in the future. This is never true in the tech scene, but it's the flippant attitude of leadership that makes this concerning. In truth, the reorgs were all rash decisions made overnight by a few key people in power. - Politics are rampant. Everything at NerdWallet is about who you know, who will speak up for you, and who can help protect your position. - PMs are entirely new and inexperienced. They were shuffled from other parts of the business when the first reorg happened this year. While they are capable and dedicated, there is still a learning curve when the 40 people running a product org are new to the role. - Super cliquey. If you go to happy hour, you'll see teams drinking with their immediate team members, and ignoring everyone else. Lunch is the same. - Office tends to look like a war zone. Everyone who is a manager level or higher is in meetings all day, so they're never at their desks. Everyone else seems to be on vacation, in hiding, or maybe interviewing for their next role. Desks are empty on every floor.

    Continue reading
    NerdWallet2017-12-12

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 21 reviews