Nerdery Reviews

Updated Mar 4, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.0
48%
Recommend to a Friend
36%
Approve of CEO
Nerdery Chief Executive Officer Adrian Slobin (no image)
Adrian Slobin
15 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work/life balance - Each and every one of us enjoys a great balance of work and life(in 13 reviews)

  • "Great culture, great people, great benefits(in 13 reviews)

Cons
  • "Previously was the best place in the world for nerds to work(in 9 reviews)

  • "0 vision from upper management and poor communication(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Smart, friendly, flexible, and fun."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Bloomington, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Nerdery full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    If you know what to expect from a dev shop, then you'll be very happy at Nerdery. - Very flexible, casual work environment. - Located across the street from a big indoor climbing wall. - Fun and quirky office with good food, beverages, and snacks. - Friendly, intelligent, geeky coworkers. I really appreciate that people play Magic and other games during lunch (even if I don't play myself). - Good benefits. - A fair degree of autonomy when it comes to architecting systems and a good mix of technologies, enough that developers have opportunities to learn new things, and not so much that everyone's running around with their hair on fire. I've worked in a variety of capacities and roles for a variety of startups, big enterprises, and small businesses over the course of my career. So far, this is the job I've enjoyed the most.

    Cons

    Nerdery's a dev shop, and the complaints you see here are the same complaints you'll see on the Glassdoor page of any dev shop: too much focus on sales, too much pandering to clients, clunky and boring enterprise projects, etc. I think the reality is that being in sales at a dev shop means stress, and being a developer at a dev shop means you don't necessarily get to work on as many discrete projects with interesting technologies as you might like. If you're early in your tech career, I can see why you might get frustrated and want something different.

    Continue reading
    Nerdery2020-01-28
  2. "Lots of opportunity to grow professionally"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technology Manager in Bloomington, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nerdery full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    1) A fair number of interesting opportunities to stretch my skills 2) Great colleagues who want to help 3) A real push to make the workforce diverse in an industry sector that typically isn't

    Cons

    1) Still a mix of "ordinary" work that can get tedious 2) A company in transition that still has some folks longing for the old days

    Continue reading
    Nerdery2020-03-04
  3. Helpful (7)

    "Mismanaged Overrated Boys Club Sweatshop"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Front End Developer in Bloomington, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Nerdery full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Some dogs allowed. High profile clients.

    Cons

    Poor management from the top through "pseudo" middle management. Chaos constantly. No individual support, inconsistent goal posts, low pay.

    Continue reading
    Nerdery2020-02-06
  4. Helpful (8)

    "Not the Nerdery you might have heard of in the past!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Minneapolis, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Nerdery full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The past 'pros' of working at Nerdery seem to be disappearing as fast as the past great employees and clients. I'm honestly not sure what 'pros' are left especially considering all of the other options in town.

    Cons

    The two main things that made me leave were how new nerdery treats their employees like numbers and the unethical behavior happening with clients and staff. Also, most of the leadership is seemingly narcissistic. They always point fingers and take no ownership of what has happened there in the past few years. Also, the director-level team is mostly made up of unqualified 'yes men/women.' Don't expect anything from them accept competing to get in line to kiss c-suite you know what. It's really a shame because a lot of really good people have come through those doors and the place used to be something special. The people made that place great and had a shared commitment to deliver good work and always get better. I feel bad for the good ones that are still left and I hope they can see there are lots of other great opportunities out there. Don't buy the internal 5-star posts and don't waste your time here with so many other good options in the area. Part of me feels bad for leaving a negative review but in my heart, I think it is the right thing to do because they don't deserve the good talent with how they treat people and clients.

    Continue reading
    Nerdery2020-02-13
  5. Helpful (8)

    "Such a disappointment"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Nerdery full-time

    Pros

    It's easy and expectations are low

    Cons

    Nerdery does mediocre work. Not because the people are bad, but because the organization is designed to squeeze billable hours out of clients and not to solve problems. It's painfully obvious that the powers that be want to grow it just enough to sell it. Unfortunately it is also a negative, fairly lazy and dysfunctional environment to work in.

    Continue reading
    Nerdery2020-01-17
  6. Helpful (9)

    "Pass on this company"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Minneapolis, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Nerdery full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great support staff. Good work from home policy.

    Cons

    Over the last several years I've watched the Nerdery unravel. Leadership has lost any connection to the employees working beneath them, and they've abandoned all of their core values, most notably any sense of integrity. I've watched the VP have temper tantrums, that would shame his family. Even the five star reviews posted here are clearly staged. Still not sure, look no further than their ridiculously high turnover rate.

    Continue reading
    Nerdery2020-01-13
  7. Helpful (7)

    "Stepping stone at best"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - .NET Software Engineer in Bloomington, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Nerdery full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The developers that work here are really good.

    Cons

    Not sure how to articulate my feelings. I feel like the company generally doesn't care. I just want someone to care... is that asking too much?

    Nerdery2020-01-15
  8. "Best Company I Worked For"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Java Software Engineer in Chicago, IL
    Recommends

    I worked at Nerdery full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people and culture are some of the best things about Nerdery. I was in the Chicago office and everybody there is great. Nobody is hard to work with. Everybody is striving to do their best and to help others. Even if you're not on the same project, people will help you. I've never felt as welcomed at a company as I did at Nerdery. It's definitely a great place to meet great coworkers, learn, and to grow professionally. Working here motivated me to become a greater engineer. Also there's beer on tap, cold brew on tap, super cool office (plus dog friendly).

    Cons

    None. If you don't like consulting and/or traveling to client's sites that might be a possible con.

    Nerdery2019-10-18

    Nerdery Response

    October 24, 2019CEO

    Thank you, I’m glad to hear that you had a great experience during your time with us! Whether working at a client’s office, from one of our locations or from home, we aim for a positive and consistent experience all around. If you have ideas for improvement, please don’t hesitate to contact me.

  9. Helpful (13)

    "Do Not Recommend"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Nerdery full-time

    Pros

    - Many of the people working at the Nerdery are smart and committed to their craft and clients. - The schedule is flexible. WFH is allowed, generally no questions asked. - Some managers/leads genuinely care about their teams and try to shield them from the dysfunctions of the larger company culture.

    Cons

    - Project teams are set up to fail. Scopes and timelines are unrealistic or rely on inexperienced resources. The company wants to move into more strategic partnerships with larger clients, but project teams haven't been trained on what that means and business development is still selling custom development projects. Leads spend their time complaining about the customer rather than actively working to guide and develop client-side resources. - The company is dominated by white males, and this is evident in the daily working environment and company culture. The leadership team pays lip service to the diversity and inclusion group, yet excludes D&I initiatives from their OKRs or core values. At company-wide town hall meetings, the CEO and VPs/directors (many of whom have worked together at a previous company) openly bristle when asked why there are no female development architects, if they are considering D&I in their leadership hiring searches, etc. Employees who behave inappropriately or offensively receive, at most, a verbal warning. Women and POC are marginalized in both day-to-day interactions and hiring/promotion opportunities. - There's an expectation that employees are solely responsible for their own career development. While this is touted as a "control your own destiny opportunity, in practicality it means that leadership hasn't invested any actual time into identifying or creating career paths. The ability to get professional development or conference requests approved varies wildly based on your manager and team. When you don't advance, you're told that you're not raising your hand enough. Getting opportunities to work on innovative client projects or get involved in organizational initiatives depends largely on internal networking and is always expected to be handled with overtime. - Much of the middle management team is made up of old-timers without extensive experience outside of the Nerdery. They are not equipped to be people managers or provide professional mentorship. If the company wants to transform into a consulting firm, they need new perspectives from people who have built out practices and offerings in other organizations. - Layoffs have been increasing in frequency. The company claims this is due to a change in direction or underutilization, but fully resourced people have been included in the cuts. Team leads and managers are often unaware that their people are going to be let go until after the fact. Most of the people at the organization are actively interviewing for other jobs. - Pay varies wildly from team to team. Pay bands are not made public and a promotion does not necessarily translate into a raise. Seniority level, years of experience, background, etc. do not correlate to higher salary levels.

    Continue reading
    Nerdery2019-11-11

    Nerdery Response

    April 2, 2020CEO

    Over the past several years we’ve strategically pivoted and expanded the type of work we do, moving from our roots as a development shop to a digital business consultancy. We are proud of this effort and the recognition we’ve received validating this shift. That said, change such as this comes with growing pains. We are acutely aware of these and worked hard to ensure transparency with our partners, clients, staff and board. Additionally, we’ve used this change to focus on how, as we bring in new talent, Nerdery can focus on building a team that has diverse experiences, backgrounds and perspectives while also ensuring everyone can bring their whole selves to Nerdery. We understand we have work to do to increase diversity, equity and inclusion (DEI) at all levels of the company. This is why we’ve re-launched our brand and challenged our long-standing vision, putting this work at the heart of our priorities as a company. We’ve made strides in our hiring efforts and continue to work toward equity in this area. In 2019, 40 percent of our new hires were women, including female architects. Continuing these efforts, we’re working with a DEI consultancy, to help us assess areas for improvement, build and implement inclusion strategies and create lasting mindset shifts.

  10. Helpful (12)

    "Not the same company."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Nerd 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nerdery full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The Nerdery started their growth with a business model of working with agencies. They focused on agencies that didn't have the in-house talent to build out the website part of rebranding or marketing initiatives. Somewhere along the way, mobile apps and other services became part of the offerings, but websites were always the bread and butter. They figured out they could make more money by helping companies do "digital transformation". Hired a new CEO and tried to turn on a dime to go after relatively huge clients. As a result, the business model is almost completely changed. There's much less website work. The remaining work is also different, so there's turnover/layoffs. The sales cycle takes longer. Not doing smaller projects means there's less ability to simply get the foot in the door and eventually scale up to large transformation projects. There is potential here for the company to make money. No idea what it's going to be like for developers. Biggest pro for the company is work/life balance. This hasn't changed - if you make sure your work is taken care of, you have flexibility (time off or work from home) to do what you need .

    Cons

    The high point of the Nerdery was always the people. Passionate developers that care about their work. This is becoming less and less true. Some people are being let go. Others are leaving because they don't feel as secure or engaged. No idea how much this will continue. I've seen people laid off that I consider to be top notch, first class nerds. The sales people I've talked to have been really alienated as well. There seems to be less opportunity for real engagement with the work. Bottlecap - the Friday end of week party used to be an opportunity for socializing. It helped knit the company's culture. Now it's been moved to noon, and there's less socializing.

    Continue reading
    Nerdery2019-07-16

    Nerdery Response

    July 23, 2019CEO

    Thank you for spending more than five years of your career here and for sharing your insights with us. You are absolutely right that our business model has shifted away from primarily supporting agencies and creating marketing sites towards long-term partnerships with our clients who are facing a wide range of digital challenges. The primary reason for continuing to evolve our business model is that we are an organization that was founded on the premise of being a part of the changing technology landscape, which allows for a dynamic career opportunities for our people and for Nerdery to remain relevant in the market. Whether or not you agree, we believe the work that Nerdery was doing 5 years ago is increasingly commoditized, which means a limited market for us and limited advancement opportunities for our people. Regarding the Bottlecap knowledge-sharing and social events, we shifted the events to take place at noon on Fridays vs. 4 p.m. so that more Nerds could participate. In fact, I’ve heard a lot of positive feedback about the change and the higher attendance is also great validation. While we have had some folks leave over the last few years, I’m really proud of the strong team that we have as well as our recent hires. They continually push us to be a better Nerdery — internally as a team and as we serve our clients.

Found 177 reviews