Nespresso USA Reviews

Updated May 10, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
69%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Nespresso USA Chief Executive Officer Alfonso Gonzalez Loeschen
Alfonso Gonzalez Loeschen
17 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits and health insurance(in 22 reviews)

  • "free coffee credit and machines(in 16 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Sometimes work life balance is only for boutique managers and above(in 11 reviews)

  • "Work work work No work life balance(in 6 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year
      Featured Review

      Great place to work - strong culture, organizational pride.

      Sep 28, 2020 - Human Resources Learning and Talent Development in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Balance of corporate (Nestle/ Nespresso Global) and entrepreneurial culture. Company pride - commitment to quality and sustainability is role model.

      Cons

      From a corporate role perspective scheduling time with line employees sometimes challenging due to retail environment (typical retail challenge).

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Nespresso USA Response

      Nespresso Leadership

      Hello HR Employee, Thank you for recognizing Nespresso as a great place to work, we are very proud of our company culture and our commitment to sustainability. The days and working hours of our retail employees often differ from our corporate employees, and I would suggest working directly with the employee or their managers on how best to work around their schedules. We’ll continue striving to do our best to keep our employees like you engaged and full of passion for our brand. All the Best, Alfonso Gonzalez CEO, Nespresso North America

    2. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Great environment

      May 10, 2021 - Sales Associate in Denver, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible hours, great people, great training

      Cons

      Nothing to complain about. Very busy location.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Great company overall.

      May 6, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good overall company culture and benefits/perks

      Cons

      Retail in general is difficult, but lots of micromanaging. Long hours on your feet and dealing with the public.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      A company that's still evolving, good for them. But I'm not sure in which direction in the long run.

      May 7, 2021 - Senior Analyst - Finance in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Back in 2019 when I wrote a review and now when I go back and read it, it feels as if It was written by a different person. I can't stress this enough, this review is only about my journey and the changes in the culture which directly impacted me. I am neither qualified nor is it my place to provide an opinion on my peers. This is corporate culture, nothing substantial or sort of revelation going on here and this site is called "Glass Door". In that sense, this review is purely Objective. So let’s take a little peek through that glass. This section is called Pro's, But Pros about what? Benefits? Salary? This that and the other? Sure these are Pros but so does thousands of other companies out there provide these benefits. What I want to ask after 12 years in this organization is what is it so special about Nespresso that makes them so Idiosyncratic. Every three letter organization out there claims they "Value their employees". Nespresso claims the same thing but what does that even mean? Are there any inherent values that Nespresso stands for when it comes to its employees, irrespective of the changes in the upper management? Values which are so concrete that there is no subjectivity in any sense. Values which are purely based on Merit and historical data. Or does your clock rewind back to 0 every time these changes happen? From this perspective, I do not see any Pro's.

      Cons

      The cons part whoa! This is where I am supposed to state all those sob situations that I have been through. Instead I’d like to approach this in a roundabout way which I think would be more meaningful Are we perfect as humans, I say no. And neither is any organization. Because every organization is merely an extension of ourselves. Bunch of us working collaboratively towards a common goal. At least that's what the idea is on paper. But does that collaboration really exist? We are often told to be "yourself" and yet most often then not, the listener only listens to what fits in that frame of mind. We're told to speak the truth and yet that truth has to fit into that particular frame. This is the contradiction and I think it is this that has created the neurotic situation in us. always trying to be something that we are not in order to fit into that club, because its about our careers after all isn’t it? Nobody likes to admit it, but it is the fact and we all know it. We are expected to wear masks all the time. We are expected to be individuals, yet we are divisive within. Does HR Really stand for Human Resources or merely Management resources? Listens only to the management, and their main aim is to save the organization from any potential liability? Does my HR partner really care if I go with my long list of things to say that how I have been victimized, when in reality they might have been through ten different candidates right before me listening to their kindred complaints over and over and repeating this pattern day in and day out. Would I care if I was in their shoes? At some point I would stop too. It's monotonous. Do our titles and pay scales really define us as who we really are? A 'word', an image, and every time that word changes which we call a title, we try to fit into that image because that’s how society expects to see you. Does being a Manager really mean that we own people. Is that what we mean when we proudly say “I have a team of so an so number of people working under me”? Or is a Manager merely an orchestrator, a director and is not afraid to get down to their knees to help their fellow team mates because that word manager is merely a word and they don’t care. They are these true leaders who realize that they have a tremendous amount of responsibility on their shoulders and peoples futures depend on them. Do words and images behind those words actually define us, or is it our actions that truly define who we are? Is there such thing as an output and productivity that you put out there which clearly benefits the organization and you are recognized for it or productivity itself is so subjective that due to the hierarchical nature of an organization it has to be something what pleases the guys sitting at the top? Could it be so that we started with these structures in place with all the right intentions, but over time we are merely doing the right things for all the wrong reasons? We have to meet that KPI or performance goal or whatever. But not because we really mean it. Each individual is unique, born with unique qualities, not one finger print is the same, and not single leaf on a tree is identical in nature. And yet, why does it feel like we're merely turning into robots? Is it because the society which is not that different from organizations is only interested in creating individuals in an assembly line and maintaining that status quo while at the same time telling us to speak up and be “yourself”? Instead of pointing out the cons, I think these are the fundamental questions that we should be asking. I am questioning the very foundation of our cultural superstructure instead of focusing on its consequences. Being subjective here would lead to the same old you vs me frivolity. I do not have answers to all these questions myself. But it seems to me the very direction we are heading towards is wrong. Though, this seems generalized but all these questions are the ones I have come to ask myself after spending 12 years of my life with this organization. Each and every single aspect of what I am questioning above has directly impacted my career. I am not perfect in any sense. I'll be the first to admit it. But neither am I that deserving where I have been put on performance improvement plan after 10 years of my by the book service. Basically a warning for termination at the time when I was bed ridden for months with a completely dislocated limb and even though I still managed to work somehow with my leg hanging upside all the time. I have been demoted from a Manager to a “Senior Analyst” because according to the new Nestle "Structure" a Manager has to have people reporting under them. Someone who organizes with people and manages the most crucial components of financial reporting that impacts the entire organization are not considered managers according to them. I could care less about my title, they can call me what ever they want. I am a pragmatic person, I only care about getting fairly compensated for the services I provide. I don't care what title comes with that compensation. The corporations and other organizations do care much about the title, and so do the people looking at my resume when I apply for a job interview. "After 12 years, how did I go from this to that?" And that surely diminishes my market value tremendously. I would be asking the same question if I were them. These points are not completely generic, I have been fortunate enough to work under some of the best leaders in my corporate career at Nespresso. But sadly, I see the culture shifting, unfortunately those “great” leaders what we call are becoming a dying breed.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great people to work with.

      Apr 18, 2021 - Boutique Coffee Specialist in Costa Mesa, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      We would get a free machine annually

      Cons

      They are really focused on numbers. Very capitalistic company.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Good benefits and good company to work for

      Apr 12, 2021 - Marketing Manager in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good benefits and good company to work for

      Cons

      While having the perks of Nestle is great there is limited room for growth

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Good Company to work for but no many hrs offer to work, wish that on a part time t

      Mar 20, 2021 - Advisor in Miami, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      well pay good working environment

      Cons

      no much hrs only 4 hrs Sat and Sundays and some times you work in a week only 4 hrs

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Nespresso USA Response

      Nespresso Leadership

      Hello Advisor, Thank you for feedback, we are proud to offer employees a competitive benefits program and excellent perks. We also strive to cultivate a positive work environment and are glad to hear you enjoy working with Nespresso. I would suggest working with your manager to assess your scheduling concerns, noting that you are interested in more hours throughout the week. Thank you for the review, we appreciate it. All the Best, Alfonso Gonzalez CEO, Nespresso North America

    8. 1.0
      Former Employee

      okay

      May 5, 2021 - Team Leader in Skokie, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      decent pay and bonuses quarterly

      Cons

      managers suck the worst ever

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Nespresso

      Mar 23, 2021 - Coffee Specialist in San Diego, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Lots of benefits, always busy.

      Cons

      Not a whole lot of upward mobility.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Nespresso USA Response

      Nespresso Leadership

      Hello Coffee Specialist, Thank you for the feedback, we are proud to offer employees a competitive benefits program and excellent perks. Our market is growing at a fast pace and we appreciate our employees’ willingness to adapt and delight our customers with an outstanding experience. We strive to develop and promote our talent from within and are proud to be able to offer employees career advancement and mobility throughout the Nestle organization. I would encourage you to work directly with your manager to discuss your growth aspirations. Thank you for taking the time to share your review, we appreciate it. All the Best, Alfonso Gonzalez CEO, Nespresso North America

    10. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Good

      Mar 9, 2021 - Sales Associate in San Diego, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pay is decent so it’s an okay job

      Cons

      Hours are good but they want to work you a lot

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Nespresso USA Response

      Nespresso Leadership

      Hello Sales Associate, Thank you for the feedback, we are proud to offer employees a competitive benefits program and excellent perks. Although our retail locations are thriving and growing at a rapid pace, a work-life balance is l important at Nespresso. To resolve this concern, I would encourage you to work with your manager to assess your current schedule and determine if changes are possible. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback we appreciate it. All the Best, Alfonso Gonzalez CEO, Nespresso North America

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 166 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Nespresso USA Job Seekers

    B2B Marketing Manager
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Public Relations Assistant Manager
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Nespresso USA? Share Your Experiences

    Nespresso USA logo
    or