KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Nestlé Purina U.S.

Part of Nestlé
Engaged Employer

Nestlé Purina U.S.

Add a Review

Nestlé Purina U.S. Employee Reviews about "ets to work"

Updated Oct 6, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1,052 of over 1,743 reviews

3.9
74%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Nestlé Purina U.S. CEO Nina Leigh Krueger
Nina Leigh Krueger
132 Ratings
Pros
  • "This is a excellent place for work life balance - 4 day work week- AMAZING(in 271 reviews)

  • "There are so many positives but some of the highlights are the people, passion about pets, emphasis on quality, able to bring pets to work, the St(in 123 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Work life balance work ownership(in 99 reviews)

  • "Long hours, back stabbers, poor leadershkl(in 24 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Nestlé Purina U.S. and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "ets to work"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years
      Featured Review

      Here to stay!

      Mar 2, 2021 - Senior Manager in Saint Louis, MO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Strong business, strong culture, teamwork oriented

      Cons

      Somewhat set in old ways of working, but getting better in this space

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Nestlé Purina U.S. Response

      Human Resources

      Thank you for your feedback and congratulations on 10+ years of dedication to Nestlé Purina! Our "strong culture" is one of the most unique characteristics about us, and we're pleased to hear you find it to be one of our greatest qualities. We wouldn't be who we are today without the dedication of our employees, like you, and we can't thank you enough! As we continue to grow, and obtain feedback from our employees, changes can occur. However, please know that every change we put into place is done so with our employees top of mind. Again, thank you and congratulations on 10+ years!

    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Great Company

      Jul 8, 2021 - Senior Human Resources Business Partner in Saint Louis, MO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Stable company that has stood the test of time through the ups and down of the economy and through the pandemic. I see reviews complaining about the Return to Work rollout and if people have paid attention this did not come out of the blue. Many times the company said we were going to return and the message would come out in the summer and take effect after Labor Day. They value the traditions of Purina and encourage collaboration and not a step on each other approach and getting back on campus will only help improve this work.

      Cons

      Being away from campus for over a year with no interaction with my colleagues and business teams.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful

      Nestlé Purina U.S. Response

      Human Resources

      Thanks for your feedback, and we appreciate that you recognize our intentions and have a high passion for our culture. We look forward to seeing everyone on campus soon.

    3. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Eye is Off the Ball

      Jul 13, 2021 - Senior Manager, Operations in Saint Louis, MO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Purina always fostered a family-friendly environment, with an understanding that safety, personal and family well-being always came before work. They were well-rooted in a solid foundation of beliefs stemming from their founder, William Danforth. They celebrated successes, and lifted up the people that helped them achieve almost impossible goals. They were pragmatic in their approach, standing up to ideas or proposals that unintentionally put employees in harms way. Leaders were brave, and led people through inspiration - not fear.

      Cons

      The Company is afraid to lose their long-standing culture, but do not realize they've already lost it to some extent. The pandemic drastically changed the lives of employees and the response of the Company doesn't reflect the inspirational leadership the 5 Talls were founded on. You've allowed the pressures of Nestle to grind your people into the ground. Demands outweigh the ability for employees to hang on. The inflexibility of return to campus further pushes employees out & senior leaders are shrugging their shoulders as if to say "oh well." Problem is - your employees are what make you successful, so Purina will pay an unnecessary price.

      Continue reading
      63 people found this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      We've Adapted to Change, Purina Needs to Adapt Now

      Jul 13, 2021 - Senior Brand Manager in Saint Louis, MO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Collaborative environment, super-smart people, company trying to keep up with times in an agile age, beautiful campus, and dog friendly. I've truly enjoyed all my time at Purina and have never considered leaving until recently.

      Cons

      Purina did a great job quickly adapting and caring for employees during the pandemic, however, all of that work was quickly wasted with their new "WFH Policy". Even after declaring that it was one of the most productive and successful years in 2020, employees are now being asked to return to work full-time with the exception of Fridays, if schedules allow. While employees can still work from home as needed for appointments, but the company feels that they need to get back to having in-person collaboration. While I understand this, it is sorely misguided that we need to be in-person to be productive.

      Continue reading
      46 people found this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      They don’t trust you and if you don’t agree with leadership they encourage you to move on

      Jul 2, 2021 - Specialist in Saint Louis, MO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I used to be very proud to work for Purina due to their community involvement and initiatives, but they are now being highly hypocritical of their movement to be agile.

      Cons

      ORM asks more and more of you daily while people are moving on from the company and to different departments (and they don’t hire more people) and claim they recognize our effort, but they don’t. They haven’t given a 5 Talls award out until before the pandemic when many people have deserved them. I am thankful they let us WFH since the pandemic began, but they are now forcing us back into the office Mon-Thurs and taking all other flexibility away that we have had for over a year. They don’t care about anyone’s thoughts or feelings and don’t trust us. They claim it is a safe space to speak up, but then SR leadership tells you to move on if you aren’t happy. SR leadership doesn’t take feedback and Managers can’t speak up or support how their team feels. It is a very toxic culture and many people are listening to leadership and looking to move on.

      Continue reading
      38 people found this review helpful

      Nestlé Purina U.S. Response

      Human Resources

      Thank you for your feedback and know that we are listening. We also recognize the contributions ORM makes to our business, evident in the Five Talls awards you mention which are presented to the individual themselves, as well as department events like the one just held in February to publicly celebrate wins made last year. Associate feedback was also taken into consideration when communicating more flexibility in our plan to return to campus, and you might have heard those opinions expressed during the department meeting on this topic. We’ll continue similar efforts to over-communicate and remain transparent with our associates. Thank you!

    6. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Stable company but culture is outdated

      Jul 12, 2021 - Manager in Saint Louis, MO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people, great products and brands! Salary is competitive for the area, benefits are decent.

      Cons

      It’s a big company so politics and red tape often hinder productivity. Face time is highly valued and meetings can be excessive - to the point where it is difficult to get your actual work done. Purina also has a very old school way of thinking when it comes to being in the office. They have always promoted work-life balance, and pre-pandemic that was somewhat true. If you needed to leave early for an appointment or to pick up a kid from school it was typically ok. However, Purina just announced their plans to be back in the office 4 days a week which limits the flexibility that we have grown accustomed to over the past 1.5 years. Work-life balance means something different now than it did before 2020, and with remote work becoming more common in the market, Purina is falling behind. Unfortunately it seems like the “unrivaled culture” is dropping as morale is low and employees feel like they have no voice, even after working long hours and delivering great results during the pandemic.

      Continue reading
      39 people found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Wow! Continued to feel heard here.

      Sep 17, 2021 - Manager in Saint Louis, MO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I have been overwhelmed by the time, thought, and dedication to safety our leadership team has put into all of the decisions they have had to make during this unique time. After listening to the individuals in the company they have revised our return to work, gave us many options, as well as continue to allow wonderful flexibility once we get back to office. I can’t say enough great things about this company, will be here until retirement!

      Cons

      Leadership is working on it, but we need to move to “Dress for your Day”.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Nestlé Purina U.S. Response

      Human Resources

      We’re encouraged to know you feel heard. Both our associates' feedback, in addition to current local safety guidelines and business impact, are crucial in our return-to-work plan and we’ll continue to monitor and adjust as we have and as needed. We look forward to seeing you at Checkboard Square!

    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      The opportunity is in your hands

      Sep 14, 2021 - Coordinator in Madrid
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      This has been the best company I've worked for. This job has turned into my career and has made me passionate about what I love doing. Just like any other employer, it has it's downsides like a busy schedule and lots of overtime for some people but they definitely compensate for your work. They always have employee giveaways or events to show their appreciation. The best thing that I've learned is that the opportunity for advancement is endless. If you are truly ambitious and have the initiative to take on more, they offer you great opportunities for advancement and have a great tuition reimbursement program.

      Cons

      Lack of work-life balance because of so much overtime with some positions. Union environment which may create a toxic culture in some situations.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Nestlé Purina U.S. Response

      Human Resources

      We’re happy to hear your passion for what you do! You have so much to be proud of in Crete! Your perspective on advancement is right on the mark – if you’re looking for a new opportunity, we offer the resources, like tuition reimbursement, and more to help you get there. We hope this is just the start of a long career with us!

    9. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Stuck in the past

      Jul 7, 2021 - Marketing in Saint Louis, MO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Some great people work here. Purina products really are excellent.

      Cons

      There are many cons that come with working for a large company like Purina. The corporate politics, the “old boys’ club” mentality, and the resistance to change and new thinking to name a few. However, over my last five years here, the pros still outweighed the cons. This is no longer the case. With COVID, Purina had the opportunity to change course and put their stingy, dated ways behind them. Their response to the COVID pandemic was fantastic. They preached flexibility and showed care for each employee’s situation. As rumors circulated about the release of the “return to headquarters” plan, I was foolishly optimistic that they’d take the opportunity to evolve into a progressive company, where flexibility and diversity were the new norm. Instead, they failed spectacularly. While others are moving to a complete flex plan, Purina is mandating butts in the seats four or five days a week. They claim it’s “better for our mental health” to be in the office when results from numerous employee surveys this last year stated otherwise. Their tone deaf policy shows they care little about what is best for their employees and only about keeping up the facade that Purina’s campus creates a great culture. And because of this, they will continue to lose great, young talent.

      Continue reading
      33 people found this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Pay/ Work life balance

      Sep 28, 2021 - Forklift Operator in Allentown, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The pay it's great and the work is doable

      Cons

      NO WORK LIFE BALANCE whatsoever the mandates are off the charts even when theres no work. If you voice your opinion they find ways to retaliate and that's always guaranteed especially when they have an unlimited amount of overtime budget.The Union that we pay into does not benefit the employees whatsoever. Only the employers. The company doesn't follow policies so you need to be careful. You can work up to 7 days in a row of 12hr shifts. You'll get suspended if you happen to fall asleep on your lunch. This job is for single people without a family or kids grown. If you have family values think long and hard before working here

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Nestlé Purina U.S. Response

      Human Resources

      Thank you for your feedback. As our demand remains intense, we’re continuing to work closely with Union representatives on schedules that provide work-life balance to our associates. We’re also adding new positions and training new associates to help share the workload. Know your hard work does not go unnoticed. Thank you! —CJ, HR Manager-Allentown

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,052 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Nestlé Purina U.S. Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Nestlé Purina U.S.? Share Your Experiences

    or