Nestlé Purina U.S. "pets to work" Reviews | Glassdoor

Nestlé Purina U.S. Employee Reviews about "pets to work"

Updated 17 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
82%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Nestlé Purina U.S. CEO Joseph R. Sivewright
Joseph R. Sivewright
331 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Could have a better Work - Life balance(in 89 reviews)

  • "Long hours sometimes they can force you to stay extra hours to cover(in 21 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "pets to work"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "ORM Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - ORM Associate in Edwardsville, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nestlé Purina U.S. full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I’ve been a part of the Purina Nestle team for two months now and I can say that I truly enjoy and love coming to work everyday! This company cherishes its employees—you can tell by the passion that the employees have for this company. Everyone is approachable and helpful. Wonderful benefits, flexible work schedules, bringing pets to work, health clinic on campus and volunteer opportunities are only a few of the... great benefits. This is definitely one of the best places to work!

    Show More

    Cons

    That I didn’t find this company sooner.

    Nestlé Purina U.S.2019-04-10
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - ORM Business Analyst in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nestlé Purina U.S. full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work/life balance Opportunities for growth and advancement Pets at work

    Cons

    Fair amount of nepotism, resulting in some less than qualified colleagues Large company standardization leading to some headaches (required to have too many pointless meetings, for example)

    Nestlé Purina U.S.2019-10-17
  3. "Opportunities to Lead, Contribute, Develop, and Have some Fun too!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nestlé Purina U.S. full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    * Key Focus on Health and Wellness of Pets * Commitment to Quality and Safety -- Never Compromise * Great opportunities to learn and develop in and across Purina and Nestle (including International) * Continues to focus on enhancing Diversity * Programs supporting working families * Continuous Improvement Approach * A place to build a career not just a job * Pets at Work! * Solid Benefits - Health, 401K, On Campus... Screenings, On Site Gym * Major efforts on Sustainability ex Water Conservation, Recycling/Zero Waste, Clean Energy * Great People with a passion for Pets!

    Show More

    Cons

    * Can, at times, be slow to make decisions - but making progress * Challenges in meeting short term targets with longer term strategies

    Advice to Management

    * Keep pressing for agility/speed * Clarity of Vision and Decision Rights * Balance of Short Term and Longer Term Planning

    Nestlé Purina U.S.2019-04-04
  4. "Nestle Purina R&D"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - R&D Manager in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nestlé Purina U.S. full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Nestle Purina and Nestle Purina R&D have the right focus on making lives better for pets and everyone who love and care for them. Research and Development has top-notch ethical scientists and nutritionists whose main goal is to bring the very best in nutrition to the pet food we produce. When I began my career years ago in R&D, I had no idea what was involved in making pet food. The passion and care given... by our scientists and nutritionists to be sure we make the very best product for our pets is simply what R&D does every day. R&D works closely with the business to understand what the consumer wants and then works to make that happen with at all times maintaining high quality nutritional pet food. I am proud of what R&D has accomplished and will continue to achieve in the coming years. For someone looking for a career, they have excellent pay and benefits, great perks (bring your pet to work) is just one of them, professional development, and a culture of collaboration, inclusiveness and teamwork. You will enjoy working here whether you choose NPP or NPP R&D!

    Show More

    Cons

    As with any large global corporation it is sometimes hard to change some of the ways we work to all associates quickly. NPP and R&D have made large strides in becoming more agile and as the pet food category continues to become more competitive, NPP will need to continue this focus in order to increase their wins in the market.

    Advice to Management

    First off, this is a great company and I enjoy working for NPP and in R&D. Please never forget your most loyal advocates for the company are the people who work here every day. Your associate base is changing with new generations coming into our organization while other generations are decreasing in numbers. Listening to your associates is the most important leadership trait to have and bestow to your team... members. We (this includes me) must continue to challenge ourselves in this area. Although you may not always agree with the feedback or suggestions from associates, it is important to listen and understand their point of view. Sometimes one voice actually represents the feelings of the larger organization.

    Show More
    Nestlé Purina U.S.2019-01-23
  5. Helpful (23)

    "People Leave Managers, Not Companies"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Nestlé Purina U.S. full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Overall, Purina has been a really great company to me and my family. The salary and benefits feel comparable to any other company in St. Louis. The campus is beautiful, you can bring your pets to work (and sometimes your kids in a pinch), there is a gym on site, and there is some flexibility with schedules and working from home to meet each person’s needs. As with most companies, the heart of it really comes down... to the people. Most everyone strongly believes in the products and the company. Over the years all of my direct teammates and support team members have been kind to one another, celebrating the victories and lifting each other up in more challenging times.

    Show More

    Cons

    Purina is in a state of flux, budgets are continually being cut in an attempt to course correct from not keeping up with industry trends. Lack of direction has become the norm. While new teams have formed to be more agile, the result has been chaos. Purina’s executive and senior management are out of touch with average employee. They tend to manage to their own agenda, often to advance their own career or to... push meaningless corporate initiatives, rather than practicing true leadership. Good leaders inspire, are uplifting, support their team’s success and are able to get the most out of their staff without even asking or applying some initiative that should already be regular practice….because they’re that good! Frequently, employees are moved into leadership/management positions they’re not qualified to hold. I’ve been lucky to have some great leadership during my time at Purina, but most recently that was not the case. For context on my specific situation, the managing director on my team is disengaged from the overall team, rather focusing her attention on the part of the team that provides her the greatest exposure with senior leadership. She often inserted herself at the 11th hour of a project, quite frequently resulting in criticism and rework, but not leading the work to a better place. There is zero morale on the team, people are burned out, and there is no respect for the managing director. It has been a struggle to recruit new senior team members, because they don’t want any part of working with her and her track record. In the past four years, three people intentionally transitioned off the team through available internal positions, and nine (of roughly 20) people have left the company. Three of those people left without another job!! The most frustrating part of all of this? HR is aware of the situation. Anyone who is brave enough to bring up their challenges and frustrations are met with “I know, but there is nothing I can do”. Most recently, I was assigned to a new middle manager. She came with a reputation for being difficult, aggressive and insecure. She held four positions within Purina in five years, which is not the typical career progression at Purina, but a sign that leadership knows there is an issue and they’re passing it along for someone else to handle. In a matter of months, she turned a successful small team into a toxic wasteland, fostering an environment of distrust and fear of retaliation if speaking out. She systematically pushed out one team member before setting her sites on me. She proceeded to reduce my successful fifteen-year career at Purina into a meaningless pile of rubble. All the while, complaints across the team were piling up with her manager and HR regarding her inability to collaborate, overstepping her position, and lack of flexibility. Nothing was done. This past year, I was blindsided with documentation which included false claims regarding my work ethic and defamation of character. When I provided pages of documentation to counter the accusations, HR’s response was “well that’s what your manager said” or “well this is what they really mean”. I was not supported by HR or the management team, and HR did not remain neutral. The truth, backed by other’s accounts on this manager’s behavior, was unimportant. HR and management were only interested in silencing a person with a point of view, who was not afraid to speak up. I wholeheartedly believed my track record would speak for itself, shame on me for giving Purina that kind of credit.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Leadership at the company seems completely uninterested in why top talent is leaving. In times of change and course correction, it seems imperative to have the best talent on your team. Perhaps a completely confidential, company-wide survey evaluating people leaders with associate’s input is in order. I think it could be very eye-opening and may provide an avenue for making management adjustments before more... talented individuals jump ship. Additionally, the company continues to pile unrealistic expectations on their teams, while resources continue to be cut. While I understand times are tight this has resulted in some embarrassing and potentially reputation ruining situations, one of which involved asking an industry leading nonprofit for a refund due to poor planning. It’s about time executive leadership took responsibility and became accountable for upholding a positive work environment across all departments of the company which would, in turn, result in unified, successful company outcomes. Take a hard look at who you have leading, and weed out those who can’t deliver or who have a negative impact. Believe in your associates, they’re probably still believing in you.

    Show More
    Nestlé Purina U.S.2018-12-13
  6. "One of the best places to work in St. Louis"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nestlé Purina U.S. full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Continuous improvement mindset, always trying to be more agile - Culture with employee perks and conveniences (employee store, bring pets to work, nurse's office, gym, daycare) - Being surrounded by pet lovers and experts in pet nutrition

    Cons

    - Like other big companies with conservative cultures, changes can take time - Historical tendency not to hire senior leaders from the outside, resulting in more narrow experiences to draw from in different specialties (but I think that's changing with time and retirements) - Diversity and female leadership could be increased (which could also be interpreted as an opportunity for diverse talent, so please apply) -... Job security isn't what it once was with a tough business environment, changes at Purina and the always looming possibility of changes driven by Nestle

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep fighting the good fight to focus on priorities and be more agile. Stop what's not helping, improve what is and help the teams reach for new heights.

    Nestlé Purina U.S.2018-12-11
  7. "Great blend of passion, science and ethics!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Research Scientist in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nestlé Purina U.S. full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Research and Development is full of amazing, ethical scientists who are passionate about improving the lives of pets. While rapid implementation of new product innovations is encouraged, we do not take short cuts that threaten the scientific credibility of the products. Management is supportive of the researchers and allow us the freedom to be creative. The scientists get credit and recognition for their... innovations. Employees can create their own career path if they advocate for themselves and take advantage of the many training opportunities that are available. Bringing well-behaved pets to work is a huge perk! There is also the option to work from home (with your manager’s approval) if there is bad weather or other extenuating circumstances. Most managers are extremely flexible and encourage a good work/life balance. On top of everything else, the people are very nice and truly care about each other!

    Show More

    Cons

    A large company can sometimes be risk averse and slow moving. Nestle is taking steps to change this.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to encourage creativity

    Nestlé Purina U.S.2018-11-30
  8. Helpful (15)

    "GREAT Team and Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nestlé Purina U.S. full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Purina is a great place to work! Employees are provided with a variety of training and development opportunities and the company really cares about your career aspirations and encourages you to stretch yourself, grow and move into other roles if you desire to do so. Teams are collaborative and fun and while it is amazing to be able to bring pets to work, it is the people who really make this a great place to work.... Feedback is provided freely, management listens and encourages involvement by all. We are all being challenged to clearly understand our decision rights and do our part to make a difference. So glad to be a part of this team and company!

    Show More

    Cons

    Sometimes the Nestle world headquarters can be very slow, process heavy and a bit too focused on standardization through NBE.

    Advice to Management

    Really appreciate the strong focus on "Agility" and the many ways Management communicates with employees to maintain alignment!

    Nestlé Purina U.S.2018-05-09
  9. "Great place going through change!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Business Partner in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nestlé Purina U.S. full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Benefits, career growth created by change in the business, safety first mentality, pets at work and a great industry to work in

    Cons

    Slow to react at times, but they realize it and definitely see the improvement. Not everyone is open to ideas from new associates until they first prove themselves.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to keep a pulse on the culture, respect employees and have a plan and communicate it effectively

    Nestlé Purina U.S.2018-05-01
  10. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nestlé Purina U.S. full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Bringing pets to work - Schedule flexibility - Taking vacation time is encouraged

    Cons

    - Not a clear path for advancement - Some conflict between teams for clear responsibilities

    Nestlé Purina U.S.2018-03-24
Found 85 reviews